Next Avenue - Most Recent An RSS feed of the most recent articles from Next Avenue. http://www.nextavenue.org/ en http://www.nextavenue.org/wp-content/themes/nextavenue/assets/img/rss-na-logo.png http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml How to Lend Money to Family or Friends (If You Must) http://www.nextavenue.org/how-to-lend-money-to-family-or-friends-if-you-must/ Some personal finance gurus like Suze Orman say you should never lend money to family or friends. Others, like Clark Howard, caution against it but acknowledge it’s not so easy to just say no. If you decide to become a lender to loved ones, because you feel you must, follow these six rules to make the … Continued Stephen L. Antczak Thinkstock August 29, 2015, 8:00 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml ‘I Have a Dream': Music From That Memorable Day http://www.nextavenue.org/i-have-a-dream-music-from-that-memorable-day/ Fifty-two years ago, on Aug. 28, 1963, Martin Luther King, Jr. delivered his “I Have a Dream” speech, which became a turning point in making illegal the racial discrimination policies in the South. King practiced and preached nonviolent protest. Those who marched with him often sang as they walked — an act that brought forth … Continued Sue Campbell New York Daily News Peter, Paul and Mary singing at the March on Washington for Jobs and Freedom in 1963. August 28, 2015, 1:42 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml Now Are You Ready to Hire a Financial Adviser? http://www.nextavenue.org/now-are-you-ready-to-hire-a-financial-adviser/ It’s not only the stock market’s recent terrifying drop, followed by dramatic twists and turns. It’s the headlines screaming: “The sky is falling!” And your sitting glued to CNBC, antacid in hand, worrying what the market turmoil means for your 401(k) balance. Maybe these moments of market madness are making you second-guess your ability to … Continued Pam Krueger Thinkstock August 28, 2015, 11:00 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml Smart Cane May Help the Blind Navigate Better http://www.nextavenue.org/smart-cane-may-help-the-blind-navigate-better/ (This article appeared previously on PBS NewsHour.) A high-tech upgrade to the traditional white cane may help blind and visually impaired people be more confident about navigating the world independently. The NewsHour’s April Brown reports from France. APRIL BROWN: Lysiane Perney doesn’t see the world the way most people do. In fact, she doesn’t see … Continued PBS NewsHour August 28, 2015, 11:00 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml Are Women More Motivated By a Chubby Fitness Trainer? http://www.nextavenue.org/are-women-more-motivated-by-a-chubby-fitness-trainer/ (This article appeared previously on GetBetterHealth.com.) I was taken aback by a recent conversation I had with a gym owner. She was interested in encouraging middle-aged women to come to the gym for beginner-level fitness classes and was planning a strategy meeting for her staff and key clients. I asked if I could join, and … Continued Val Jones, M.D. Thinkstock August 28, 2015, 8:00 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml 10 Money Tips for Retired Women on Fixed Incomes http://www.nextavenue.org/10-money-tips-for-retired-women-on-fixed-incomes/ (This article previously appeared on Sixtyandme.com.) Women reaching retirement age today are under huge financial pressure. Since, on average, we will live longer than any previous generation, our savings will need to last decades. In addition, many of us find ourselves in the position of looking after our aging parents. If we are going to … Continued Margaret Manning Thinkstock August 28, 2015, 7:30 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml How Much Forgetfulness Is Normal? http://www.nextavenue.org/how-much-forgetfulness-is-normal/ (This article previously appeared on Grandparents.com.) Do you forget where you put your keys? Are you confounded when you see your neighbor’s youngest son and can’t remember his name? And where are your reading glasses? How much forgetfulness is normal — and when should you be concerned? Becoming more forgetful is a natural part of … Continued Andrea Atkins Thinkstock August 28, 2015, 7:00 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml Am I Too Old for a Kitten? http://www.nextavenue.org/am-i-too-old-for-a-kitten/ (This article originally appeared in The Pocono Record.) My friend up the block came home one night to find that someone had left a cardboard box with a mama cat and four tiny kittens inside on her back porch. The person or persons had lined the box with a soft towel and placed it out … Continued Jacqueline Damian Courtesy of Jacqueline Damian August 27, 2015, 1:00 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml Writer Jonathan Kozol on Losing His Dad To Dementia http://www.nextavenue.org/writer-jonathan-kozol-on-losing-his-dad-to-dementia/ “Take me home.” How many caregivers have heard this plaintive refrain from an elderly parent in a nursing home who feels displaced and longs to leave? Jonathan Kozol, a National Book Award-winning author who writes about injustice and education, took it seriously when his father began voicing this plea repeatedly. Harry Kozol had been a … Continued Judith Graham Courtesy of Jonathan Kozol Dr. Harry Kozol circa 1950 (left) and Jonathan Kozol (right) August 27, 2015, 11:00 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml 8 Great Apps for Our Elders http://www.nextavenue.org/8-great-apps-for-our-elders/ Every day for the last 24 years, I’ve worked with the elderly and, by extension, with their families. As the founder of Caring Senior Service, a non-medical in-home care provider, my goal is to ensure that people can age with dignity in their own homes and to reassure families that their loved ones are safe and … Continued Jeff Salter August 27, 2015, 9:00 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml Job Hunters: Overcoming 3 Employer Prejudices http://www.nextavenue.org/job-hunters-overcoming-3-employer-prejudices/ (This article is adapted from the new book, What Color Is Your Parachute? 2016: A Practical Manual for Job-Hunters and Career-Changers by Richard N. Bolles.) If you got a job interview and got turned down, you may be thinking there is some handicap — hidden or obvious — that is keeping you from getting hired. … Continued Richard N. Bolles Thinkstock August 27, 2015, 7:30 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml Gen X: Sleeping Through the Retirement Wake-Up Call http://www.nextavenue.org/gen-x-sleeping-through-their-retirement-wake-up-call/ In spite of a warnin’ voice that comes in the night And repeats, repeats in my ear: Don’t you know, little fool, you never can win? Use your mentality, wake up to reality.   These Cole Porter lyrics from I’ve Got You Under My Skin could be a callout to Generation X about retirement. A … Continued Richard Eisenberg Thinkstock August 27, 2015, 7:00 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml Mass Shootings and Gun Violence Inspired This Play http://www.nextavenue.org/mass-shootings-and-gun-violence-inspired-this-timely-play/ As I sat writing this story this morning, a bulletin flashed on my computer: a  Virginia TV reporter and her cameraman were shot to death on live television, apparently by a disgruntled ex-employee (the suspect then shot and killed himself) . There are an estimated 300 million guns in circulation in this country — nearly … Continued Richard Harris Image Source August 26, 2015, 11:42 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml Phone Frustration: Look at Me When I’m Talking to You http://www.nextavenue.org/phone-frustration-look-at-me-when-im-talking-to-you/ A lot of people are applauding actress Patti LuPone these days — and not just for her dramatic skills. Rather, it was how she recently handled the rude behavior of an audience member. It happened during a performance of Shows for Days at New York’s Lincoln Center. The patron, sitting close to the arena-style stage … Continued Deborah Quilter Thinkstock August 26, 2015, 11:00 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml 6 Ways to Pay Yourself in Retirement http://www.nextavenue.org/6-ways-to-pay-yourself-in-retirement/ (This article appeared previously on MarketWatch.) Many retired investors — and those approaching retirement — are confused about how to pay themselves from their portfolios. They generally want three things: enough retirement income to live comfortably, safety from market meltdowns, and the assurance that they won’t run out of money. The first item is mostly … Continued Paul Merriman Thinkstock August 26, 2015, 9:00 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml What an Executor of an Estate Needs to Do http://www.nextavenue.org/what-an-executor-of-an-estate-needs-to-do/ (This article is adapted from the new book 5@55: The 5 Essential Legal Documents You Need by Age 55.) One of the most important things someone can do to best ensure their estate is handled without a hitch is to appoint the right person as the estate’s executor, sometimes called a representative. So what do … Continued Judith D. Grimaldi and Joanne Seminara Thinkstock August 26, 2015, 7:00 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml Talking About Death Won’t Kill You http://www.nextavenue.org/talking-about-death-wont-kill-you/ Long before she died, my mother gave me a gift that would shape both my future and her remaining years: A frank conversation about her wishes for the end of her life. Thanks to this, many years later when congestive heart failure and emphysema threatened my mother’s life, I knew beyond a shadow of doubt … Continued Virginia A. Simpson Thinkstock August 26, 2015, 7:00 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml 7 Things That Make Your Smartphone Battery Die http://www.nextavenue.org/7-things-that-make-your-smartphone-battery-die/ (This article previously appeared on Grandparents.com.) Dreading the “low battery” alert? Find out what makes your smartphone battery die, and how you can make it last longer.   Jessica Dysart Thinkstock August 25, 2015, 11:00 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml Why Your Grown Kid Should Have a Health Savings Account http://www.nextavenue.org/why-your-grown-kid-should-have-a-health-savings-account/ (This article previously appeared on YoungAdultMoney.com where it was written for people in their 20s and 30s. If you’re the parent of one, pass this piece along.) If your health insurance has a Health Savings Account — otherwise known as an HSA —count yourself lucky. There are many reasons to contribute to an HSA, including … Continued David Carlson Thinkstock August 25, 2015, 10:52 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml Why I Became a Care Coordinator for My Mom http://www.nextavenue.org/why-i-became-a-care-coordinator-for-my-mom/ I didn’t have a care coordination provider in 2009 when my daughter and I started caring for my mom, Margaret. It was difficult. I was working; my daughter was in college. There may have been something called “care coordination,” but at that time, many of the care coordination services were in early stages of development … Continued Maureen Hewitt Thinkstock August 25, 2015, 8:51 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml How to Quit Without a Plan B and Find Happiness http://www.nextavenue.org/how-to-quit-your-job-without-a-plan-b-and-find-happiness/ If you’ve been working for more than a few decades, odds are that at least once you’ve been so unhappy you were ready to quit without a new job lined up. In 2012, in her early 40s, Tess Vigeland did just that. Here’s the thing: At the time, Vigeland was the peppy, sassy, supersmart host … Continued Richard Eisenberg Thinkstock August 25, 2015, 7:30 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml Using Business Principles to Downsize a Home http://www.nextavenue.org/using-business-principles-to-downsize-a-home/ After my wife passed away, there were five of us left sharing our family home: me, my two sons and a pair of dogs who had come to believe that they were in charge of the house. In the two years that have gone by, life has assumed a new normal. And in that time, … Continued Terry O'Reilly Courtesy of Terry O'Reilly August 25, 2015, 7:00 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml Startup Tips From a ‘Make Me a Millionaire Inventor’ Expert http://www.nextavenue.org/startup-tips-from-a-make-me-a-millionaire-inventor-expert/ I was recently invited to be an expert adviser on CNBC’s new series, Make Me a Millionaire Inventor. The six-episode show (airing Wednesdays at 10 pm ET) features aspiring inventors who believe they have gangbusters ideas — many are eager to launch their second acts. If you’d like to turn your invention into a successful … Continued Pat Pattison Diane Dumbadse Glo-Blades featured on CNBC's 'Make Me a Millionaire Inventor' August 24, 2015, 12:00 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml Surprising Signs of Heart Disease http://www.nextavenue.org/6-surprising-signs-of-heart-disease/ (This article previously appeared on Grandparents.com.) Did you know that 400,000 Americans still die every year of heart disease? “We are improving but it is still a common problem,” says Dr. Gerald Fletcher, American Heart Association spokesperson and professor of medicine – Cardiovascular Diseases, Mayo Clinic College of Medicine, Mayo Clinic, Jacksonville, Fla. Part of … Continued Beth Levine Thinkstock August 24, 2015, 9:00 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml How Geriatrics Can Help You – Even If You’re Not Yet “Old-Old” http://www.nextavenue.org/why-you-may-need-a-geriatrician-even-if-youre-not-old/ If you’re a boomer, I am guessing you haven’t yet thought much about how geriatrics can help you. But it can. Contrary to popular opinion, geriatrics is not just for people who are very old or very frail or have Alzheimer’s disease or live in nursing homes. It is for anyone who would benefit from … Continued Leslie Kernisan, MD Thinkstock August 24, 2015, 8:01 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml What to Do When the Stock Market Crashes http://www.nextavenue.org/what-do-when-stock-market-crashes/ The answer, says this expert, depends on whether you're 10 or more years from retirement or not. William Cowie Thinkstock August 24, 2015, 7:35 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml 8 Ways to Beat Work Distractions and Be More Productive http://www.nextavenue.org/8-ways-to-beat-work-distractions-and-be-more-productive/ Like most people, I find it increasingly difficult to focus at work these days. The endless flow of e-mail, text messages and social media plays havoc with my productivity more often than I care to admit. And I’m one of the lucky ones. As a self-employed home-based worker, I don’t have to deal with the … Continued Nancy Collamer Thinkstock August 24, 2015, 7:00 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml 10 Life Lessons We Learn Too Late http://www.nextavenue.org/10-life-lessons-we-learn-too-late/ Editor’s Note: Earlier this week, a user on the crowdsourced question-and-answer website Quora.com asked, “What are the lessons people most often learn too late in life?” Jay Bazzinotti wrote the following response. What lesson(s) would you add to his list? Comment below, or email us.   What Are the Lessons People Often Learn Too Late … Continued Jay Bazzinotti Ingram Publishing August 23, 2015, 7:00 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml Jimmy Carter, Brain Cancer and You http://www.nextavenue.org/jimmy-carter-brain-cancer-and-you/ With the news that former President Jimmy Carter has been diagnosed with melanoma, and that it has spread to his brain, Next Avenue thought it would be a good time to seek some answers about brain cancer. Carter, 90, announced Aug. 20 that a PET scan confirmed the cancer in his liver had metastasized. “At … Continued Emily Gurnon Thinkstock August 21, 2015, 5:36 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml What Japan Can Teach Us About Long-Term Care http://www.nextavenue.org/what-japan-can-teach-us-about-long-term-care/ Here’s a sobering calculation: The odds that Americans turning 65 today will eventually need assistance with bathing, dressing and other personal activities are about 50/50. And those who’ll need long-term care can expect to incur costs of $138,000, on average, estimate Melissa Favreault of the Urban Institute and Judith Dey of the U.S. Department of Health … Continued Chris Farrell Thinkstock August 21, 2015, 1:26 pm