Next Avenue - Most Recent An RSS feed of the most recent articles from Next Avenue. http://www.nextavenue.org/ en http://www.nextavenue.org/wp-content/themes/nextavenue/assets/img/rss-na-logo.png http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml Living an Intimate Life http://www.nextavenue.org/living-an-intimate-life/ If you’re looking for more intimacy, forget self-help books with gimmicky suggestions. Instead, practice mindfulness. Why? Because mindfulness is all about building awareness, and awareness and intimacy are inextricably linked. Intimacy helps us feel connected to ourselves and to everything else. It is the gateway through which we develop a sense of belonging to the … Continued Ed Merck Thinkstock May 29, 2015, 6:00 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml Being Old Is Full of Beautiful Surprises http://www.nextavenue.org/being-old-is-full-of-beautiful-surprises/ It seems as though everyone I know is talking about death. We are also talking about how, to our surprise, death seems more like the houseguest who won’t leave than the grim reaper. That’s the big difference about being over 70. Death is more of a presence — an active presence — and less of … Continued Suzanne Braun Levine Thinkstock May 29, 2015, 6:00 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml Work-From-Home In Retirement: One Win-Win Solution http://www.nextavenue.org/work-from-home-in-retirement-one-win-win-solution/ Working part-time in retirement is an appealing proposition for many people and doing it from home can sound even more enticing. Insurance industry entrepreneur Sharon Emek has come up with a clever way to get some retirees legitimate work-from-home jobs and help employers simultaneously. (In a minute, I’ll offer some tips on how to avoid … Continued Chris Farrell Courtesy of Sharon Emek Sharon Emek, President & CEO of Work at Home Vintage Employees May 29, 2015, 6:00 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml Where Older Workers are Valued and Honored http://www.nextavenue.org/where-older-workers-are-valued-and-honored/ Although it’s common to hear of older workers being laid off or pushed into retirement, there is also one type of place where older people are valued and sought-after: museums, art institutions, zoos and other venues that rely on unpaid docent volunteers in their 60s, 70s and 80s. I speak as someone who has found … Continued Kathryn Lance Kathryn Lance Ann Nierenberg, docent at the Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum May 28, 2015, 8:11 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml 6 Things Caregivers Must Do While There’s Still Time http://www.nextavenue.org/6-things-caregivers-must-do-while-theres-still-time/ Despite the fact that millions of Americans are facing elder care challenges and struggles, there are not a lot of supportive and informative resources that can prepare families for what to expect. Getting access to information, demystifying the role of elder care, and learning what is ahead can lighten the load for those just beginning … Continued Stuart Furman Thinkstock May 28, 2015, 6:00 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml Fonda and Tomlin Tackle Life Changes in New Sitcom http://www.nextavenue.org/fonda-and-tomlin-tackle-life-changes-in-new-sitcom/ Grace and Frankie is as traditional a sitcom as its Laverne and Shirley-esque title suggests, but one thing about it is revolutionary: The show’s four main characters are all over 70. The Netflix series, which has just been renewed for a second season, sets out to explore what happens after the title characters (Jane Fonda … Continued Chris Hewitt Melissa Moseley © 2015 Netflix Jane Fonda and Lily Tomlin in "Grace and Frankie" May 27, 2015, 1:31 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml 7 Reasons to Keep Up Your Job Search This Summer http://www.nextavenue.org/7-reasons-to-keep-up-your-job-search-this-summer/ Like it or not, the perception that companies cut back hiring during the summer is a myth. In fact, they fill positions at the same — if not an increased — pace during the hottest months of the year. Job hunting during the summer can be tricky though, and it’s important to avoid two particular … Continued Patty Coffey Thinkstock May 27, 2015, 1:14 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml When Students Stopped a War http://www.nextavenue.org/when-students-stopped-a-war/ What do you do when you’re against a war that your government’s fighting? In 1965, as the first U. S. Marines landed at Da Nang, South Vietnam, 3,000 University of Michigan students gathered in Ann Arbor for two days of intense conversations and debate about America’s intervention. Faculty members invited U.S. State Department members so … Continued Doug Bradley Robert Hall/Flickr Students protesting at the University of California-Berkeley, May 21, 1965 May 27, 2015, 9:07 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml How to Buy a Home in Retirement http://www.nextavenue.org/how-to-buy-a-home-in-retirement/ (This article previously appeared on HSH.com.) Mortgage lenders qualify borrowers for a mortgage based on their credit and income, which used to make it difficult for retired borrowers due to their lack of income. However, Freddie Mac recently introduced a rule to allow retirement assets to be used to qualify for a mortgage loan. “Lenders … Continued Michele Lerner Thinkstock May 27, 2015, 8:57 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml 8 Unexpected Allergy Triggers That Can Worsen Your Symptoms http://www.nextavenue.org/8-unexpected-allergy-triggers-that-can-worsen-your-symptoms/ (This article previously appeared on Grandparents.com) Thirty percent of adults have a seasonal or year-round nasal allergy (rhinitis) to pollen, dust, dust mites, mold and other allergens, according to the American College of Allergy, Asthma and Immunology (ACAAI). And if you suffer from rhinitis, your itching and sneezing is likely at an all-time, unbearable high … Continued Sara Schwartz Thinkstock May 27, 2015, 6:00 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml Parents’ Do’s and Don’ts for the Digital Age http://www.nextavenue.org/parents-dos-and-donts-for-the-digital-age/ Whether technology is a blessing, a curse or a mix of both, it’s surely the newest frontier — and possible battleground — between parents and their twentysomethings. Today, kids have buds stuck in their ears and fingers attached to their touchpads. Tomorrow we all might have neural chips embedded in our brains. But however the … Continued Elizabeth Fishel and Jeffrey Arnett Thinkstock May 27, 2015, 6:00 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml Is Social Security Phasing Out Its Offices? http://www.nextavenue.org/is-social-security-phasing-out-its-offices/ Will you be able to go to a Social Security office 10 years from now for help claiming your benefits? Probably — but a new report from the Social Security Administration (SSA) outlining its vision for future service delivery has some critics worried about the future of the agency’s face-to-face customer services. A report issued … Continued Mark Miller Thinkstock May 26, 2015, 5:10 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml What You Can Do to Curb Elder Financial Abuse http://www.nextavenue.org/what-you-can-do-to-curb-elder-financial-abuse/ There’s no way to guarantee your aging parents won’t fall victim to elder financial abuse, but there is one thing you can do to help cut the odds: Be sure they’re discussing their finances with someone they (and you) can trust. That’s the upshot of the recent Allianz Life study, Safeguarding Our Seniors. When surveying … Continued Richard Eisenberg Thinkstock May 26, 2015, 5:01 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml How to Avoid Letting Your Clothes Make You Old http://www.nextavenue.org/how-to-avoid-letting-your-clothes-make-you-old/ Very often, when we hit our middle years, we feel as if we suddenly have to dress the part. Guys buy ghastly “dad dungarees,” which only come in one size: Big And Ugly. Or they give up altogether and buy those dreaded pajama jeans, which were only invented to make the dad dungarees look better. … Continued Peter Gerstenzang Thinkstock May 26, 2015, 4:55 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml We Give Money to Kids, Help to Parents, Report Says http://www.nextavenue.org/we-give-money-to-kids-help-to-parents-report-says/ Americans are more likely to provide financial help to adult children than to aging parents, but we give “sweat equity” to the older generation, according to a new report that looks at Americans’ attitudes about coping with our swiftly aging population. Helping our aging parents with everything from errands and housework to dressing and bathing … Continued Emily Gurnon Thinkstock May 26, 2015, 4:41 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml My Parents Moved to a Retirement Community – Then Moved Out http://www.nextavenue.org/my-parents-moved-to-a-retirement-community-then-moved-out/ The decision to move into a retirement community is a huge one. And it’s not for everyone. But when my nearly 80-year-old parents packed up 30 years worth of furniture and memories and hoofed it all the way from New York to California to enter a continuous care community (which provides various levels of care, … Continued Linda Melone, CSCS Thinkstock May 26, 2015, 2:22 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml A Memorial Day Promise to My Family http://www.nextavenue.org/memorial-day-promise-my-family/ When her father died, the author made a promise to tend the family graves every Memorial Day. Here's how she's done it and how she thinks the tradition will change for her children. Diana Reese Thinkstock May 24, 2015, 6:00 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml 9 Quotes That Capture the Meaning of Memorial Day http://www.nextavenue.org/9-quotes-capture-real-meaning-memorial-day/ Amid barbecues, the start of summer vacations and sales, it's easy to overlook the true meaning of this holiday. Next Avenue May 24, 2015, 6:00 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml War Poetry’s Power: Indelible Images http://www.nextavenue.org/war-poetrys-power-indelible-images/ Veterans seek to share their stories and heal through poetry. Here's a look at a select body of work. Doug Bradley Thinkstock May 23, 2015, 6:00 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml A Top-Rated Nursing Home Can Be Hard to Find http://www.nextavenue.org/a-top-rated-nursing-home-can-be-hard-to-find/ (This article appeared previously on Kaiser Health News.) The call from the nursing home came just before dawn, jolting Martha Sherwood awake. During the night, fire ants had swarmed over her 85-year-old mother, injecting their stinging venom into Natalie Sealy’s face, arms, hands and chest. “She was just lying there being eaten alive,” said daughter … Continued Julie Appleby Billie Pender Natalie Sealy, resident of Texas nursing home who was attacked by fire ants May 22, 2015, 4:33 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml My Home Was Burglarized: Here’s What You Can Learn http://www.nextavenue.org/my-home-was-burglarized-heres-what-you-can-learn/ After her home was burglarized, she learned five lessons about taking proper safety and insurance precautions. Bonnie Kirchner Thinkstock May 22, 2015, 3:09 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml Early Onset Dementia Patients and Caregivers Need Support http://www.nextavenue.org/early-onset-dementia-patients-and-caregivers-need-support/ A year after his wife died at age 53 of frontotemporal dementia, Dan Browning spoke at a national conference and urged greater support for caregivers and patients. Dan Browning Dan Browning Liz Cummings May 22, 2015, 1:43 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml 7 Things You Should Be Doing for Your Bones Now http://www.nextavenue.org/7-things-you-should-be-doing-for-your-bones-now/ When registered dietitian Toby Smithson gave presentations on bone health, she’d bring three bags of flour, each with a different amount. One bag represented osteoporosis. Another bag represented osteopenia, or bone whose density is lower than normal but not enough to be classified as osteoporosis. The third bag represented normal bone. “You could see the … Continued Rhoda Fukushima Thinkstock May 22, 2015, 11:09 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml 4 Ways to Avoid Outliving Your Nest Egg http://www.nextavenue.org/4-ways-to-avoid-outliving-your-nest-egg/ Retirement expert Walter Updegrave, of RealDealRetirement.com, offers four ways to avoid outliving your money. Walter Updegrave Thinkstock May 22, 2015, 10:30 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml What a Vietnam Vet Learned from World War II Vets http://www.nextavenue.org/what-a-vietnam-vet-learned-from-world-war-ii-vets/ The inner-city neighborhood where I grew up during the 1950s was crammed with World War II veterans. My dad, all my uncles, my best friend’s dad — it seemed that every kid on the block had a father who served in World War II. Stands to reason, since more than 16 million members of the … Continued Doug Bradley Thinkstock May 22, 2015, 6:00 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml Kick Off Summer With a Memorial Day Feast http://www.nextavenue.org/kick-summer-memorable-memorial-day-feast/ Memorial Day is a bittersweet holiday. We’ve been honoring our fallen soldiers on this day for 145 years, and many towns commemorate the occasion with parades or marches, and a lot of people pay a visit to a loved one’s grave or just fly the flag. But since it’s a national holiday and the first … Continued Suzanne Gerber Thinkstock May 22, 2015, 6:00 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml The 2 Job Interview Traits That Hurt Your Chances Most http://www.nextavenue.org/the-2-job-interview-traits-that-hurt-your-chances-most/ It’s natural to be nervous going into a job interview, especially now that the government says the number of job openings has been falling. But a new study says there are two anxiety cues that could really hurt your chances: low assertiveness and talking s-l-o-w-l-y. By contrast, don’t worry too much about other tics that … Continued Richard Eisenberg Thinkstock May 21, 2015, 5:03 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml Intergenerational Summit Aims to Deepen Conversation on Aging http://www.nextavenue.org/intergenerational-summit-aims-to-deepen-conversation-on-aging/ The lead-up to the White House Conference on Aging continues with an ambitious live event, webcast and online discussion Thursday, May 28. Billed as an “Intergenerational Summit on Aging,” the event will be based in Philadelphia, Pa. and take place in multiple online and offline locations  intended to engage participants of all ages. The event and related discussions titled “Deepening … Continued Liza Kaufman Hogan Marko Mrdjenovič/Flickr May 21, 2015, 3:16 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml Getting Your 50+ Body Ready for Summer http://www.nextavenue.org/getting-your-50-body-ready-for-summer/ It’s springtime, and with the natural theme of birth and renewal all around us, spring cleaning is practically an annual rite of passage. Not only is this a great time to rid your home of grime and clutter, but you can also apply that same out-with-the-old, in-with-the-new mentality to your body by focusing intently on … Continued Rashelle Brown Thinkstock May 21, 2015, 11:12 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml How a Spender and a Saver Found Retirement Bliss http://www.nextavenue.org/how-a-spender-and-a-saver-found-retirement-bliss/ This is how a spender and a saver have found bliss together in retirement. Richard Eisenberg Photo courtesy of Carolyn Bushong and Alan Errickson Snowbirds Alan Errickson and Carolyn Bushong May 21, 2015, 10:07 am