Next Avenue - Most Recent An RSS feed of the most recent articles from Next Avenue. http://www.nextavenue.org/ en http://www.nextavenue.org/wp-content/themes/nextavenue/assets/img/rss-na-logo.png http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml Housing Discrimination: The Next Hurdle for LGBT Couples http://www.nextavenue.org/housing-discrimination-the-next-hurdle-for-lgbt-couples/ LGBT couples can now marry in all 50 states, thanks to last week’s Supreme Court ruling, but they can still face housing discrimination — legally — when they try to buy or rent homes in much of the country. The federal Fair Housing Act doesn’t include sexual orientation or gender identity as protected classes. Only … Continued Richard Eisenberg Thinkstock July 1, 2015, 11:27 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml 11 Best Apps for Retirement Planning http://www.nextavenue.org/11-best-apps-for-retirement-planning/ (This article previously appeared on GoBankingRates.com.) Many people might wind up with a vast and varied array of financial pieces scattered across their lives once they enter retirement. IRAs, savings or checking accounts, investments, Social Security, pensions, inheritances, real estate holdings and insurance benefits are just a few of the pieces of the retirement puzzle. … Continued Andrew Lisa Thinkstock July 1, 2015, 5:00 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml How to Remodel Your Bathroom for Now and the Future http://www.nextavenue.org/how-to-remodel-your-bathroom-for-now-and-the-future/ You’re planning a bathroom remodel. Exciting! It’s time to talk about flooring and finishes, light fixtures and storage space. Oh, yeah, and walkers, slips and broken hips! Wait. What?! We know, we know, that’s not you. It may never be you. But the truth is: Thinking about some of the challenges of aging as you … Continued Heidi Raschke Courtesy of Moen July 1, 2015, 5:00 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml The Grateful Dead’s Last Tour http://www.nextavenue.org/the-grateful-deads-last-tour/ What do Tony Blair, Ann Coulter, Steve Jobs, Phil Jackson, Bill Clinton, Walter Cronkite, Whoopi Goldberg and Bill Walton have in common? Would you believe The Grateful Dead? While it’s hard to imagine our beloved “Uncle Walter” of CBS Evening News fame flashing the peace sign and eating a veggie burrito at a Grateful Dead … Continued Doug Bradley Author's children, Summer (15) and Ian (10), attend Grateful Dead concert, 1995 July 1, 2015, 5:00 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml Delirium: A Surprising Side Effect of Hospital Stays http://www.nextavenue.org/delirium-a-surprising-side-effect-of-hospital-stays/ (This article originally appeared on KaiserHealthNews.org.) When B. Paul Turpin was admitted to a Tennessee hospital in January, the biggest concern was whether the 69-year-old endocrinologist would survive. But as he battled a life-threatening infection, Turpin developed terrifying hallucinations, including one in which he was performing on a stage soaked with blood. Doctors tried to … Continued Sandra G. Boodman Kaiser Health News / Illustration by Olimpia Zagnoli July 1, 2015, 5:00 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml Joni Mitchell Had an Aneurysm: Are You at Risk? http://www.nextavenue.org/joni-mitchell-had-an-aneurysm-are-you-at-risk/ The news this week confirming an aneurysm as the cause of singer Joni Mitchell’s recent hospitalization has us thinking about this frightening condition, which is most likely to strike as we get older. Mitchell, 71, was hospitalized March 31 after being found unconscious in her Southern California home, The New York Times reported. Her official … Continued Emily Gurnon June 30, 2015, 5:29 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml Boomer Helicopter Parents Now Hover in Home Buying http://www.nextavenue.org/boomer-helicopter-parents-now-hover-in-home-buying/ You’ve probably heard about the helicopter boomer parents accompanying their Millennial kids on their first job interviews. Maybe you’re guilty of this. Well, now that the young adults are buying homes, helicopter parents are hovering over house hunts, too. That can wind up being a bad idea for moms and dads as well as their … Continued Leah Ingram Thinkstock June 30, 2015, 12:37 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml Why You Get Migraines and What to Do About Them http://www.nextavenue.org/why-you-get-migraines-and-what-to-do-about-them/ If you’ve ever experienced the throbbing pain of a migraine, you know how difficult it can be to carry on with your normal routine — especially if you’re one of the 14 million people who experience chronic daily headaches. More than 90 percent of sufferers are unable to work or function well during these headaches. … Continued Sheryl Kraft Thinkstock June 30, 2015, 5:00 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml What?! My (Adult) Child Is Having Sex? http://www.nextavenue.org/what-my-adult-child-is-having-sex/ My wife, Sue, and I tend to keep pretty good track of our occasional medical expenses, so we aren’t taken by surprise when the insurance company’s explanation of benefits (EOB) comes in the mail. But a few weeks back, we received an EOB regarding our daughter. She was away at college and never notified us … Continued Kevin Kusinitz Thinkstock June 30, 2015, 5:00 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml 5 Ways Caffeine Can Make Your Life Better http://www.nextavenue.org/5-ways-caffeine-can-make-your-life-better/ How your daily cup of joe can protect you from some serious health issues → Sara Schwartz Thinkstock June 30, 2015, 5:00 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml How to Plan for an Unexpected Early Retirement http://www.nextavenue.org/how-to-plan-for-an-unexpected-early-retirement/ Imagine this: you’ve been working hard for decades and are starting to feel comfortable with your financial future. All of sudden, a major life event forces you to retire five to 10 years earlier than planned. Now what? Perhaps a serious medical issue emerges. Or you lose your job in your late 50s or early … Continued Marilyn Timbers, Voya Retirement Coach Thinkstock June 30, 2015, 5:00 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml What’s on Tap at the White House Aging Conference http://www.nextavenue.org/what-to-expect-from-the-white-house-conference-on-aging/ After much speculation on whether, when and how the White House Conference on Aging (WHCOA) would take place,  details on the July 13 event are finally starting to emerge. It will be an invitation-only affair at the White House for up to 200 people, more like a small-group summit than the multi-day conferences with hundreds of delegates … Continued Liza Kaufman Hogan Thinkstock June 29, 2015, 4:54 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml Rewards of Dancing as You Age http://www.nextavenue.org/rewards-of-dancing-as-you-age/ A few months ago, our friend Carlos posted a note about his birthday on Facebook: “Seventy-one and ready for fun,” was his jubilant message. A few weeks later, our friend Pam also posted on Facebook: “This is what 71 looks like!” She illustrated her post with two photos. The first one depicted a gray-haired, jeans-clad … Continued Ellen Hoffman Courtesy of Ellen Hoffman Ellen Hoffman and Riccardo Accurso in Duluth, Minn. The couple loves to dance. June 29, 2015, 5:00 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml Let’s Hear It for Aunts http://www.nextavenue.org/lets-hear-it-for-aunts/ (This article previously appeared in The Pocono Record.) Two or three years ago, I was ordering bouquets for Mother’s Day and chose identical arrangements of iris and tulips for my mother and my aunt — my mother’s younger sister, who is also my godmother. Aunts don’t get as much respect as they deserve. The drugstore … Continued Jacqueline Damian Courtesy of Jackie Damian The author with her aunt, Olga Grenier. June 29, 2015, 5:00 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml Men’s Earnings Peak in Their Early-to-Mid 50s http://www.nextavenue.org/mens-earnings-peak-in-their-early-to-mid-50s/ (This article appeared previously on Marketwatch.) We tend to think of midlife workers as in their career prime. Folks in their 40s and 50s have plenty of professional responsibility to show for their decades in the workforce. And by his mid-50s, the median male worker is making about 127 percent more than he did when he was … Continued Elizabeth O'Brien Thinkstock June 29, 2015, 5:00 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml How Diet and Exercise Improve Your Quality of Life http://www.nextavenue.org/how-diet-and-exercise-improve-your-quality-of-life/ You know that eating right and exercising regularly can reduce your risk for certain diseases and help you maintain a healthy weight. But did you also know that those healthy habits can improve your overall quality of life? A wide range of recent studies has found that a healthy diet and exercise contribute to improved … Continued Rashelle Brown Thinkstock June 29, 2015, 5:00 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml What I Told Senators About the Need for Older Workers http://www.nextavenue.org/what-i-told-senators-about-the-need-for-older-workers/ When I was invited by the Senate Special Committee on Aging and its Chairman, Senator Susan M. Collins (R-Maine), and Ranking Member, Claire McCaskill (D-Mo.), to testify at its June 24th hearing, Work in Retirement: Career Reinventions and the New Retirement Workscape, I was honored, and admittedly, a little thrilled. The specific request: “We would … Continued Kerry Hannon Kerry Hannon testifying at Senate Aging Committee June 26, 2015, 5:54 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml How to Manage Your Parents’ Finances When They Can’t http://www.nextavenue.org/how-to-manage-your-parents-finances-when-they-cant/ Stepping in to help your aging, or declining, parents with their finances takes time, patience and persistence. There are financial documents to find and organize, checkbooks to balance and monthly bills to be paid. Plus, you need to make an overall assessment about whether their finances will be able to support them and for how … Continued Lucy Lazarony Thinkstock June 26, 2015, 2:01 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml Money Advice for Same-Sex Couples After Court Ruling http://www.nextavenue.org/money-advice-for-same-sex-couples-after-the-supreme-court/ Today’s Supreme Court ruling making same-sex marriages legal in all 50 states — Obergefell v. Hodges — has major financial implications for LGBT couples. The Court held that same-sex married couples are entitled to equal protection under the laws and that their marriages must be recognized nationwide. Here are the most significant impacts for same-sex … Continued Matthew T. McClintock Thinkstock June 26, 2015, 12:11 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml Your Guide to Healthy Eating at Fast-Food Restaurants http://www.nextavenue.org/your-guide-to-healthy-eating-at-fast-food-restaurants/ When you think about healthy eating, fast food doesn’t typically come to mind. And with good reason. Decked-out burgers, French fries, milkshakes and other offerings can quickly add up to a day’s worth of calories and saturated fat in a single meal. But new, healthier options and a greater awareness of food preparation and ingredients … Continued Linda Melone, CSCS Tim Boyle/Getty Images June 26, 2015, 5:00 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml Healing Couples’ Relationships With a New Therapy http://www.nextavenue.org/healing-couples-relationships-with-a-new-therapy/ In my early years of practice as a psychotherapist, I worked primarily with individuals diagnosed with personality disorders. I was especially interested in how these disorders might be prevented. These days, there is a fair amount of discussion about prevention of psychological disorders — including some arguably debatable genetic interventions — but back then there … Continued Stan Tatkin Thinkstock June 26, 2015, 5:00 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml How to Find Work/Life Bliss, Not Work/Life Balance http://www.nextavenue.org/how-to-find-worklife-bliss-not-worklife-balance/ How’s that work/life balance working out for you? Chances are, not so well. The April 2015 Employee Job Satisfaction and Engagement survey from the Society for Human Resource Management found that 55 percent of employees say work/life balance is very important to their job satisfaction (up from 45 percent in 2013). But about a third … Continued Richard Eisenberg Thinkstock June 25, 2015, 5:32 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml Aging Populations Are Good for the Old and the Young http://www.nextavenue.org/aging-populations-are-good-for-both-the-old-and-the-young/ You can’t escape talk of rising intergenerational conflict between aging boomers and young Millennials. Among the more powerful beliefs in Washington, D.C., is that thanks to Social Security and other old-age programs, boomers will absorb more scarce economic and government resources, starving programs that benefit the young. The tug-of-war extends deep into the workplace, too. … Continued Chris Farrell Courtesy of Columbia University The World Bank's Maurizio Bussolo at Age Boom Academy June 25, 2015, 3:40 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml Camp Isn’t Just for Kids: 5 for Grown-Ups http://www.nextavenue.org/camp-isnt-just-for-kids-5-for-grown-ups/ Did you love summer camp as a child? The sing-alongs. The campfires. Color War. And how can you top the camaraderie of being with peers 24/7? If you thought that grown-ups don’t get to do such things, think again. In the last few years, adult camps have sprung up around the country; some are offered … Continued Andrea Atkins June 25, 2015, 5:00 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml Best Ways to Cut Your Waiting Time at the Doctor http://www.nextavenue.org/best-ways-to-cut-your-waiting-time-at-the-doctor/ (This article previously appeared on Grandparents.com.) It’s 11:43 a.m. and you’ve been stuck in your doctor’s waiting room for exactly 73 minutes. Take heart, gentle patient. You’re not alone. For various reasons — lateness, medical emergencies, poor scheduling and pure economics — wait times have always been, and always will be, an issue. “Unfortunately, wait … Continued Kristen Sturt Thinkstock June 25, 2015, 5:00 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml Women: Take a New Look at Hormone Therapy http://www.nextavenue.org/why-women-should-take-a-new-look-at-hormone-therapy/ Let’s talk about hormone therapy for menopause. It’s not always easy to do that. Consider, for instance, my cardiologist’s reaction when I asked if my heart would benefit from the estrogen therapy I had begun a year earlier. He couldn’t say. Despite years of studies that explore the link between cardiovascular health and menopausal hormone … Continued Gayle Golden Thinkstock June 25, 2015, 5:00 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml Are You At Risk for Kidney Disease? http://www.nextavenue.org/are-you-at-risk-for-kidney-disease/ Kidney disease has an infamous reputation for sneaking up on us with very little warning. Twenty-six million American adults have kidney disease and most of them don’t know it. In its early stages, the disease has no symptoms. I was fortunate enough to get my kidney disease diagnosed early, which is the first step in … Continued Catherine DeCenzo June 25, 2015, 5:00 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml 6 Essential Estate Planning Steps for You and Your Parents http://www.nextavenue.org/6-essential-estate-planning-steps-for-you-and-your-parents/ (This article is based on the new book, A Legacy Undone by Terrie and Jon Hull). We’d been married for more than 30 years and were very close with Terrie’s mother “Jean,” spending every holiday and Sunday together (her name has been changed here for privacy reasons). But our happiness turned into a nightmare in … Continued Terrie and Jon Hull Thinkstock June 24, 2015, 1:17 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml How to Care for Your Pet Without Going Broke http://www.nextavenue.org/how-to-care-for-your-pet-without-going-broke/ As I look over my appointment schedule for the day, I mentally note that I’m set up for two patients to be dropped off for CT scans, one of whom will hopefully be immediately transported to an operating room, so surgery can be done to remove a large tumor pressing against the ribs. There are … Continued Joanne Intile Thinkstock June 24, 2015, 5:00 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml Doctors Taking Years Off Find Returning Can Be Tough http://www.nextavenue.org/doctors-taking-years-off-find-returning-can-be-tough/ (This article appeared previously on Kaiser Health News.) After taking a 10-year break from practicing medicine to raise four sons, Kate Gibson was ready to go back to work. The family practitioner had been reading about a shortage of primary care doctors and knew she could help. But when Gibson, 51, applied to work at … Continued Anna Gorman June 24, 2015, 5:00 am