Next Avenue - Most Recent An RSS feed of the most recent articles from Next Avenue. http://www.nextavenue.org/ en http://www.nextavenue.org/wp-content/themes/nextavenue/assets/img/rss-na-logo.png http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml Tips for Exploring Your Sexuality at Midlife and Beyond http://www.nextavenue.org/tips-for-exploring-your-sexuality-at-midlife-and-beyond/ When it comes to aging and sex, aware of it or not, like it or not, we have become our own pioneers. While some of us look into the mirror and see a facsimile of our parents or grandparents, others look quite different from those generations before us. Maybe because of ever increasing cosmetic procedures, … Continued Dr. Dorree Lynn Thinkstock July 31, 2015, 9:47 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml Use This 14-Point Checklist to Review Your Estate Plan http://www.nextavenue.org/use-this-14-point-checklist-to-review-your-estate-plan/ Many Americans have estate plans in place — but unfortunately, many are incomplete and the most important subjects aren’t even addressed. I compiled this  14-point checklist to help create a sound estate plan, but first, if you don’t have an attorney who specializes in elder law, I strongly recommend that you get one. Start by visiting … Continued Art Koff Thinkstock July 31, 2015, 5:00 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml The First Thing to Do With Your Social Security Check http://www.nextavenue.org/the-first-thing-to-do-with-your-social-security-check/ (This article previously appeared on GOBankingRates.com.) Social Security is often seen as pretty simple and straightforward: Kick back, relax and collect that check, right? But for new retirees, even those who have been diligent about retirement planning, it might come as a surprise that the process of collecting Social Security is actually fairly complex. It’s … Continued Paul Sisolak Thinkstock July 31, 2015, 5:00 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml Too Few Aging Adults Getting Vaccines, Study Says http://www.nextavenue.org/too-few-aging-adults-getting-vaccinations-study-shows/ The underuse of vaccines by older adults leads to millions of cases of pneumonia, influenza and other diseases each year, some causing severe illness and death, according to a report issued July 29. Those 65 and older are more likely than younger adults to get sick from such diseases and more likely to be hospitalized … Continued Emily Gurnon Thinkstock July 30, 2015, 2:25 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml Expat Retirees Reveal How Life Has Turned Out http://www.nextavenue.org/expat-retirees-reveal-how-life-has-turned-out/ Ever dreamed of retiring abroad? The lower cost of living…the relaxed lifestyle…the gorgeous weather… Well, that’s what it’s supposed to be like. But how does that all square with reality? A new survey has the answers. The Best Places in the World to Retire site just polled 389 expats from the United States and Canada … Continued Richard Eisenberg Thinkstock July 30, 2015, 5:00 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml An Early Adopter Gives the Apple Watch a Whirl http://www.nextavenue.org/an-early-adopter-gives-the-apple-watch-a-whirl/ When it comes to technology, I am an “early adopter.” I had a Commodore 64.  I had a Palm Pilot (several of them, in fact). And now, I have an Apple Watch. There’s been a lot written in the three months since Apple’s high-end gadget first hit the wrists of folks like me – a lot … Continued Terry O'Reilly Apple July 30, 2015, 5:00 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml The Women Who Covered Vietnam http://www.nextavenue.org/the-women-who-covered-vietnam/ When Laura Palmer entered Oberlin College in the fall of 1968, she deeply opposed the war in Vietnam. Four years later, she’d be on her way there — the last place she expected to go. Denby Fawcett felt bored on her party/gardening/cooking beat at her Honolulu, Hawaii newspaper. She was so low in the pecking … Continued Richard Harris Maria Bryk From left to right: Denby Fawcett, Jurate Kazickas, Laura Palmer, Edith Lederer July 30, 2015, 5:00 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml How Medicare Shortchanges Women http://www.nextavenue.org/how-medicare-shortchanges-women/ (This is adapted from an article in the Summer 2015 issue of Generations, American Society on Aging’s quarterly journal.) For 50 years, Medicare has played a critical role in promoting economic security for older women in the United States. (July 30, 2015 is the 50th anniversary of the day President Lyndon Johnson signed Medicare into … Continued Alina Salganicoff Thinkstock July 30, 2015, 5:00 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml 6 Surprising Foods That Make You Tired http://www.nextavenue.org/6-surprising-foods-that-make-you-tired/ (This article previously appeared on Grandparents.com.) We’ve all eaten a big meal and then felt exhausted afterwards, but what about the times that you thought you were eating something good for you and still got tired? Turns out there are some foods we wouldn’t normally think of that can cause us to feel fatigued. We … Continued Ellen Breslau Thinkstock July 30, 2015, 5:00 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml Is It Time to Abolish Mandatory Retirement? http://www.nextavenue.org/is-it-time-to-abolish-mandatory-retirement/ A few weeks ago I was at a dinner for the kick-off to a three-day program in New York City I attended called Age Boom Academy, whose theme was Global Aging: Danger Ahead? Our dinner speaker was John Beard, director of the World Health Organization (an arm of the United Nations) Department of Ageing and … Continued Kerry Hannon Thinkstock July 29, 2015, 5:57 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml When Physicians Should Ignore the Test Results http://www.nextavenue.org/when-physicians-should-ignore-the-test-results/ (This article appeared previously on GetBetterHealth.com.) I met my newly admitted patient in the quiet of his private room. He was frail, elderly and coughing up gobs of green phlegm. His nasal tube had stepped its way across his cheek during his paroxysms [spasms] and was pointed at his right eye. Although the room was … Continued Val Jones, M.D. Thinkstock July 29, 2015, 11:09 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml Prepare Your Finances for When You Can’t Manage Them http://www.nextavenue.org/prepare-your-finances-for-when-you-cant-manage-them/ Taking care of your immediate needs while keeping an eye on the future is challenging enough. But the risk of adverse consequences begins to compound when cognitive impairment enters the picture. That’s why you need to take a few critical steps now to protect your finances in case you become cognitively impaired when you’re older. … Continued Renée Kwok July 29, 2015, 10:15 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml Why Summer May Be a Great Time for Spa Discounts http://www.nextavenue.org/why-summer-may-be-a-great-time-for-spa-discounts/ Want a facial? Aching for a massage? Hankering for an all-over body scrub that promises rejuvenating benefits to your skin? Summer is a great time to satisfy those yearnings because summer is when many spas are also craving something: customers. The Greater Miami Convention and Visitors Bureau, for instance, sponsors Miami Spa Month where many … Continued Andrea Atkins Thinkstock July 29, 2015, 5:00 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml Book: Medicare Harms Patients and Impairs Doctors http://www.nextavenue.org/author-says-medicare-harms-patients-and-impairs-physicians/ Medicare turns 50 on Thursday July 30, providing health coverage to 54 million Americans (mostly over 65). The vast majority of Americans like the program — in a new Kaiser Family Foundation poll, 60 percent say Medicare’s working well for most seniors. There’ll even be Medicare birthday parties over the next two weeks; on Thursday, … Continued Richard Eisenberg Thinkstock July 28, 2015, 2:22 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml The Kids Have Left, So Why Haven’t Our Steep Grocery Bills? http://www.nextavenue.org/the-kids-have-left-so-why-havent-our-steep-grocery-bills/ While raising our two children, now 25 and 30, my husband and I used to fantasize about all the money we’d save when we only had to cook for two adults. For some reason, I thought that not having to cater to two extra finicky palates would just naturally give us several hundred extra dollars … Continued Andrea King Collier Thinkstock July 28, 2015, 1:58 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml Aging Boomers Face Big Threat From Alzheimer’s http://www.nextavenue.org/aging-boomers-face-big-threat-from-alzheimers/ (This article appeared previously on Kaiser Health News.) As the baby boomers age, the increasing number of patients with Alzheimer’s disease will take a serious toll on caregivers and families, and the costs associated with that care are expected to weigh heavily on the nation’s health care system. A new study projects that the disease … Continued Lisa Gillespie Thinkstock July 28, 2015, 5:00 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml 10 Things You Should Know About Joint Replacement http://www.nextavenue.org/10-things-you-should-know-about-joint-replacement/ (This article previously appeared on Grandparents.com.) Doctors share inside information on what it’s really like to get joint replacement surgery. 1. Arthritis is the most common cause of chronic joint pain. Thirty percent of Americans aged 45 to 64 have arthritis that’s been diagnosed by a doctor. For people aged 65 or older, that number … Continued Sara Schwartz Thinkstock July 28, 2015, 5:00 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml How Adding Riskier Investments Can Make Your Portfolio Less Risky http://www.nextavenue.org/how-adding-riskier-investments-can-make-your-portfolio-less-risky/ It is quite common for individual investors to apply the traditional 60/40 investing formula: Put 60 percent of your money in U.S. stocks — for growth opportunity — and 40 percent in U.S. bonds — for income and stability. After all, a well-diversified portfolio of stocks and bonds is critical to the potential for long-term … Continued Dan Keady Thinkstock July 27, 2015, 2:30 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml 5 ‘Sesame Street’ Lessons We Need Again As Adults http://www.nextavenue.org/5-sesame-street-lessons-we-need-again-as-adults/ This fall, Sesame Street — the critically acclaimed and much-loved PBS children’s series — enters its 46th season. While the program’s purpose is to teach children basic literacy and emotional skills, Sesame’s lessons aren’t only applicable to the young. To honor the show’s new season, we offer up five memorable clips and extrapolate sage advice … Continued Bryce Kirchoff July 27, 2015, 11:25 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml For Retirement Planning Help, Try These Weekend Workshops http://www.nextavenue.org/for-retirement-planning-help-try-these-weekend-workshops/ Traditionally, retirement planning has been synonymous with financial planning. Yet a financial plan, no matter how comprehensive, is not a life plan. And with retirements now often lasting 20 to 30 years or longer, it’s essential to incorporate lifestyle issues — like where you want to live and what you want to do — into … Continued Nancy Collamer Courtesy of Osher Lifelong Learning Institute in Asheville, N.C OLLI workshops in Asheville, NC July 27, 2015, 10:58 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml Even in My Dad’s Final Weeks, I Was Still in Denial http://www.nextavenue.org/even-in-my-dads-final-weeks-i-was-still-in-denial/ Editor’s note: This is the fourth installment of cartoonist Jack Ohman’s series “The Care Package,” for PBS NewsHour.  It originally appeared on PBSNewsHour.org. When editorial cartoonist Jack Ohman’s father only had days left to live, he still wrote checks to pay his bills and recorded his blood pressure readings. Meanwhile, everything with his dad’s health … Continued Jack Ohman July 27, 2015, 9:35 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml The Key to Finding Job Happiness http://www.nextavenue.org/the-key-to-finding-job-happiness/ (This article is adapted from the new book Doing Good Better: How Effective Altruism Can Help You Make a Difference by William MacAskill) Career advice is commonly built around slogans like “follow your heart” or “follow your passion.” A popular YouTube video, What If Money Was No Object?, narrated by British writer Alan Watts, suggests … Continued William MacAskill Thinkstock July 24, 2015, 5:00 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml How to Convince a Parent to Attend an Adult Day Center http://www.nextavenue.org/how-to-convince-a-parent-to-attend-an-adult-day-center/ Having a place where your parent is able to go during the day for care, rehab services or just socializing can be a godsend for caregiving families. But you may find that your loved one is reluctant to try it out. We offer seven tips on how to encourage your mom or dad below. What … Continued Lucy Lazarony Thinkstock July 24, 2015, 5:00 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml Bring on the Candles: Owning My (Milestone) Age http://www.nextavenue.org/bring-on-the-candles-owning-my-milestone-age/ To lie or not to lie. This, says a recent New York Times article, is an “age-old dilemma” for women when it comes to discussion of age. The working assumption in the piece is that women feel such “shame” about their age that to state a true number is nothing short of a “feminist issue,” … Continued Jill Smolowe Thinkstock July 24, 2015, 5:00 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml The 7 Biggest Mistakes Buying a Retirement Dream Home http://www.nextavenue.org/the-7-biggest-mistakes-buying-a-retirement-dream-home/ (This article appeared previously on Marketwatch.) Buying that dream retirement home after all those years of dreaming is one of the biggest — and potentially one of the most difficult — decisions you can make. There’s a lot to consider. And you have to do it correctly. “So many people I meet haven’t talked about … Continued Rodney Brooks Thinkstock July 24, 2015, 5:00 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml Wanted: Incentives to Get Boomers to Keep Working http://www.nextavenue.org/wanted-incentives-to-get-boomers-to-keep-working/ Whether you call the trend by the name Unretirement, your Next Avenue, encore careers or third age, there is no question more boomers — now age 51 to 69 — want, and often need, to earn a paycheck well into the traditional retirement years, through part-time jobs, contract work, temp assignments or by starting a … Continued Chris Farrell Thinkstock July 23, 2015, 2:44 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml 7 Tips for Travelers With Disabilities http://www.nextavenue.org/7-tips-for-travelers-with-disabilities/ Jackie Witt always feels a little anxious before she travels. The 31-year-old can barely climb steps, finds walking long distances difficult, and can’t lift more than five pounds. Witt, who has visited France and Ireland, has central core disease, which causes muscle weakness. “Because of my disability, I want to know everything I’m going to … Continued Barbara and Jim Twardowski Thinkstock July 23, 2015, 5:00 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml The World’s Best Places to Retire http://www.nextavenue.org/the-worlds-best-places-to-retire/ Typically, when you hear about the top places to retire abroad, South and Central America spots lead the way; for instance, International Living recently called Ecuador the No. 1 “World’s Best Retirement Destination.” But European locales take three of the top spots in the new Retire Overseas Index list from the Live and Invest Overseas … Continued Richard Eisenberg Thinkstock July 23, 2015, 5:00 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml Who Will Provide Care for Childless Boomers? http://www.nextavenue.org/who-will-provide-care-for-childless-boomers/ The last piece of real estate Pam and Bruce Boyer purchased together was more than 20 years ago: adjoining plots in the cemetery across the street from their home in historic Bethlehem, Pa. “We chose a place we really like. We walk there – it’s like a park in London,” says Pam Boyer, 68, a … Continued Denise Foley Thinkstock July 23, 2015, 12:00 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml The Time to Invest in Alzheimer’s Research Is Now http://www.nextavenue.org/the-time-to-invest-in-alzheimers-research-is-now/ You’ve been hearing the warnings for years and they’re dire. Without an effective treatment or cure, Alzheimer’s will become so pervasive it will overwhelm the health care system and wreak havoc on the economy. Left unchecked, the footprint of the disease will only expand as the boomers age. We have the imagery down pat. Just … Continued Richard Harris Kristoffer Tripplaar for The Atlantic Sen. Susan Collins (R-Maine), is a leading proponent of increasing funding for Alzheimer's disease. July 22, 2015, 5:15 pm