Next Avenue - Most Recent An RSS feed of the most recent articles from Next Avenue. http://www.nextavenue.org/ en http://www.nextavenue.org/sites/all/themes/nextavenue/images/rss-na-logo.png http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml How to Deal with a Neighbor From Hell http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-10/how-deal-neighbor-hell From dog poop to all-night parties, neighbor disputes can make life impossible. Here are seven ways to handle disputes and prevent them from making life unbearable. Sally Stich Thinkstock October 20, 2014, 2:02 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml Why Smart People Fall for Investment Scams http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-10/why-smart-people-fall-investment-scams The authors of 'Financial Serial Killers,' Tom Ajamie and Bruce Kelly, explain what makes us fall for financial frauds and offer seven questions you need to ask to avoid getting duped. Tom Ajamie and Bruce Kelly Thinkstock October 19, 2014, 4:47 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml The 12 Best, New Fall Books http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-10/12-best-new-fall-books Here are one reviewer's top picks from authors like Ian McEwan, Stephen King, and more. Sloane Tanen Thinkstock October 17, 2014, 1:18 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml Beware Direct-to-Consumer Breast Cancer Tests http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-10/beware-direct-consumer-breast-cancer-tests Alternative detection devices are unproven. Rita Rubin Thinkstock October 17, 2014, 12:40 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml Joan Lunden's Daughters' Advice on Battling Cancer http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/joan-lundens-daughters-advice-battling-cancer When the diagnosis came, her daughters came together to rally and care for her. Here's their advice for other young adults who find themselves in a similar  position. Photo courtesy Joan Lunden October 17, 2014, 12:26 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml 8 Great Apps to Help You Land a Job http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/8-great-apps-help-you-land-job These free tools for your smartphone let you network, search postings and stay organized. Nancy Collamer Thinkstock October 17, 2014, 11:49 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml Why You Should Begin Year-End Retirement Planning http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-10/why-you-should-begin-year-end-retirement-planning Don't wait. Now's the time to start your end-of-year retirement planning. Here's a 10-point checklist to guide you. Robert Powell Thinkstock October 17, 2014, 9:09 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml 5 Secrets to Transform Your Experience of Aging http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-10/5-secrets-transform-your-experience-aging Ed Merck, author of Sailing the Mystery, says his five secrets will help you shift from a sense of loss as you grow older to a sense of gain. Ed Merck Thinkstock October 16, 2014, 5:50 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml Cleaning Out My Mother’s Apartment http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/cleaning-out-my-mother%E2%80%99s-apartment This author describes how keeping her mother's possessions makes her seem near. Jacqueline Damian Artist: Norma (Toni) Damian October 16, 2014, 5:39 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml 11 Inspiring Quotes for Caregivers http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/11-inspiring-quotes-caregivers Words to bring strength and wisdom, and alleviate worry. October 15, 2014, 4:26 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml To Find an Encore Career Job, Try a Matchmaker http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-10/find-encore-career-job-try-matchmaker Sign up with a machmaking enterprise and you could be paired up with a company or nonprofit needing people over 50 to do fulfilling, paid part-time work. Chris Farrell Thinkstock October 15, 2014, 9:24 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml How to Lead Breakthrough Change at Work http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/how-lead-breakthrough-change-work David Pottruck, a former CEO of Schwab and author of Stacking the Deck: How to Lead Breakthrough Change Against Any Odds, offers advice for managers and employees who work for them. Photo courtesy David S. Pottruck October 15, 2014, 9:19 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml A Beautiful Backyard Cottage for Mom and Dad http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/beautiful-backyard-cottage-mom-and-dad Developers and architects are dreaming up better multigenerational living options that are adaptable as families change. Beth Baker Photo courtesy Ross Wells Frank and Karen Gallant wanted to live close to their son and his family — but not under the same roof. October 14, 2014, 2:55 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml What You Should Tell Your Heirs While You're Around http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-10/what-you-should-tell-your-heirs-while-youre-around Here's why you should let your eventual heirs know before you die what they can expect to inherit. Elizabeth O'Brien Thinkstock October 14, 2014, 2:19 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml 4 Lessons To Finding Lasting Love http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/4-lessons-finding-lasting-love A journey of discovery led this author to find her partner and to learn four essential lessons that made this partnership work. Marlayna Glynn Brown Thinkstock October 13, 2014, 3:36 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml Why We Get Headaches and How to Prevent Them http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-10/why-we-get-headaches-and-how-prevent-them Here are the best ways to prevent migraines, plus signs that your headache could be something worse. Beth Levine Thinkstock October 13, 2014, 3:16 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml Flu Shots: Answers to 5 Pressing Questions http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/flu-shots-answers-5-pressing-questions An expert provides a primer, and actress Judith Light provides the star power. Thinkstock October 13, 2014, 2:44 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml Take This Investing IQ Quiz to See What You Know http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-10/take-investing-iq-quiz-see-what-you-know Your answers to this 10-question quiz from Walter Updegrave of RealDealRetirement.com will show you whether you need to bone up about investing. Walter Updegrave Thinkstock October 13, 2014, 2:03 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml An 'Angie's List' for Finding Help to Age In Place http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/angies-list-finding-help-age-place If you plan to stay in your home after you retire, you should check out this great new tool to help you do it. Illustrations from Aging in Place October 13, 2014, 10:25 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml Nearing Retirement? Time to Tackle Your Debt http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-10/nearing-retirement-time-tackle-your-debt Voya Retirement Coach Marilyn Timbers says it's important to consider these three things to help you become debt-free in retirement. Marilyn Timbers, Voya Retirement Coach Thinkstock October 13, 2014, 8:45 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml Caring for Your Aging Parents From a Distance http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/caring-your-aging-parents-distance The National Caregiver Alliance offers four tips to make the challenge more manageable. Leah Eskenazi Thinkstock October 13, 2014, 8:43 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml What to Do When You Inherit Your Parent's House http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-10/what-do-when-you-inherit-your-parents-house When you inherit your parent's home, you have three choices: you could sell it, you could move into it or you could rent it out. Here's advice for each scenario. Craig Venezia Thinkstock October 13, 2014, 8:38 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml The Worst Resume Mistakes You Can Make http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-10/worst-resume-mistakes-you-can-make For a no-fail resume, focus on your target audience.  Miriam Salpeter Thinkstock October 10, 2014, 2:28 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml 4 Money Moves to Outsmart Your Brain http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/4-money-moves-outsmart-your-brain The 'Thinking Money' TV show says we're wired to spend, but its behavioral economists show viewers how to get around that. Thinkstock October 10, 2014, 8:28 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/articles-rss.xml Why Are Women Still Hitting a Glass Ceiling? http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-10/why-are-women-still-hitting-glass-ceiling Noted leadership and transitions coach Beverly Jones has some answers and four pieces of advice for working women. Beverly Jones Thinkstock October 10, 2014, 8:24 am