Next Avenue - Caregiving - Most Recent An RSS feed of the Caregiving channel for Next Avenue. http://www.nextavenue.org/ en http://www.nextavenue.org/sites/all/themes/nextavenue/images/rss-na-logo.png http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/caregiving-rss.xml Here's How Much Caregivers Pay Out-of-Pocket http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/heres-how-much-caregivers-pay-out-pocket A new survey from Caring.com shows how kicking in to help a family member can derail your retirement. Here's where caregivers can find help. Thinkstock September 15, 2014, 4:41 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/caregiving-rss.xml A Wife's Death Means a New Beginning http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/wifes-death-means-new-beginning The author is still numb after two years of intensive caregiving and by his wife's passing, but energized by the possibility of starting a new life. Dan Browning Photos courtesy Dan Browning August 20, 2014, 3:48 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/caregiving-rss.xml Help Parents Avoid Unwanted Medical Treatment http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/help-parents-avoid-unwanted-medical-treatment A new study shows older Americans aren’t getting the type of care they want at life’s end. Thinkstock August 19, 2014, 5:44 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/caregiving-rss.xml Healing A Broken Pelvis http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-08/healing-broken-pelvis Another type of fracture, just inches away from the hip, is becoming more common. Pelvic fractures can be just as devastating as hip fractures, and often take longer to heal. A broken pelvis brought one North Texas family closer together. Photo courtesy KERA Yu-ying Lee with her husband Chung Hwa Lee. She's 91, but she bounced back from a broken pelvis. August 17, 2014, 12:10 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/caregiving-rss.xml The Cost of Replacing a Broken Hip? It Depends http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-08/cost-replacing-broken-hip-it-depends Finding out the price of a new car or a new phone isn’t so hard. But how about the price of a new hip? The cost of medical procedures like hip replacements can vary by thousands of dollars – even tens of thousands of dollars. Thinkstock August 16, 2014, 11:33 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/caregiving-rss.xml How Broken Hips Get Fixed: Then and Now http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-08/how-broken-hips-get-fixed-then-and-now Every year, 300,000 Americans who are 65 and older break a hip. Nearly all of those fractures are treated with surgery. Repairing a broken hip has come a long way in the last century — from ivory and rubber to precision titanium implants. Technology will change how surgeons fix fractures in the future. Thinkstock August 16, 2014, 10:57 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/caregiving-rss.xml When Should You Seek More Family Help? http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-08/when-should-you-seek-more-family-help Primary caregivers may need to call in the cavalry. Here’s what to do. Eileen Beal iStock August 12, 2014, 5:25 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/caregiving-rss.xml Making Your Home Fall-Proof http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-08/making-your-home-fall-proof Home design and technology have changed dramatically over the last two decades, making it easier than ever to “age in place.” Photo courtesy KERA Fracturing a hip no longer means being forced into a nursing home. August 7, 2014, 9:51 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/caregiving-rss.xml The Broken Hip: Preventing the Fall http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-08/broken-hip-preventing-fall Nearly all hip fractures are the result of falls and those who do fall are afraid of falling again. But high-tech gear is helping some people get over their fear of falling — and helping others prevent future falls. Photo courtesy KERA Older North Texans learn stretching techniques at University of Texas at Arlington August 7, 2014, 9:05 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/caregiving-rss.xml The Broken Hip: Caregiving From Afar http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-08/broken-hip-caregiving-afar Many adult children have to care for their parents from a distance. The task is stressful, both emotionally and financially. Here’s how one family manages to go the distance. Photo courtesy KERA Earl Schmalz, a 92-year-old WWII veteran, was living on his own in Dallas — until he fell and broke his hip last year. August 2, 2014, 9:45 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/caregiving-rss.xml The Broken Hip: A Fast Decline http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-08/broken-hip-fast-decline A fall from a chair or a bed may not seem like a death sentence — but, for an older person, it can be. Photo courtesy KERA Jeanette M. landed in a Dallas rehabilitation facility after she fell and broker her hip August 1, 2014, 9:07 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/caregiving-rss.xml When One Spouse Is Healthy and the Other Isn't http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/when-one-spouse-healthy-and-other-isnt How couples cope with health differences that could divide them. Thinkstock July 24, 2014, 1:03 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/caregiving-rss.xml When You Want to Live Among Your Tribe http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/when-you-want-live-among-your-tribe Here's a look at three affinity communities that are based on the shared interests of their residents. Beth Baker Thinkstock July 18, 2014, 12:17 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/caregiving-rss.xml Sizing Up a Continuing Care Retirement Community http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/sizing-continuing-care-retirement-community How to find a fun and financially sound continuing care retirement community. July 18, 2014, 11:13 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/caregiving-rss.xml Choosing Death: Aid in Dying Gains Support http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/choosing-death-aid-dying-gains-support The deaths of John Rehm and Nelson Mandela bring attention to the Aid in Dying movement. Richard Harris Thinkstock July 17, 2014, 7:22 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/caregiving-rss.xml When Should You Push For a Geriatric Assessment? http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-07/when-should-you-push-geriatric-assessment Taking a team approach can net the best results for your parents. Eileen Beal Thinkstock July 16, 2014, 3:01 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/caregiving-rss.xml The Art of Caring for Older Patients http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-07/art-caring-older-patients A geriatrician says doctors should pay less attention to the numbers and more attention to the patient. Michael Wasserman, M.D. iStock July 14, 2014, 9:17 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/caregiving-rss.xml 5 Steps to Combat and Prevent Elder Abuse http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/5-steps-combat-and-prevent-elder-abuse A new federal report offers recommendations to curb this massive problem affecting 5 million Americans per year. Thinkstock July 9, 2014, 2:41 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/caregiving-rss.xml 4 Tips to Help You Age in Place http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-06/4-tips-help-you-age-place What to budget for when you want to stay in your home for the long haul. Amy Hoak Thinkstock June 27, 2014, 3:31 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/caregiving-rss.xml When Should You Step In to Help Your Parents? http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-06/when-should-you-step-help-your-parents They may brush off your offers, so do some digging to suss out their true needs. Eileen Beal Thinkstock June 25, 2014, 12:02 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/caregiving-rss.xml Casey Kasem’s Legacy for Caregivers http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/casey-kasem%E2%80%99s-legacy-caregivers The beloved DJ became a lightning rod in a messy family dispute. Here's what you can learn from that story. Sherri Snelling Facebook June 24, 2014, 4:50 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/caregiving-rss.xml Caring for Roger Ebert: An Inspiring Documentary http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-06/caring-roger-ebert-inspiring-documentary The late film critic Roger Ebert and his wife are subjects of an inspiring documentary about how they faced his cancer together. Chris Hewitt ©Kevin Horan/Courtesy Kartemquin Films Film critic Roger Ebert at work June 24, 2014, 12:52 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/caregiving-rss.xml Hospice Abuses: A Must-Read Expose http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/hospice-abuses-must-read-expose A compelling report on corruption in the hospice industry helps patients and families. Thinkstock June 19, 2014, 5:49 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/caregiving-rss.xml Has Your Elderly Parent Become Your Midlife Crisis? http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-06/has-your-elderly-parent-become-your-midlife-crisis How to balance your needs at midlife with those of an aging parent. LuAnn Smith, MyElderCareConsultant.com Thinkstock June 19, 2014, 2:07 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/caregiving-rss.xml 3 Innovative Ways to Age in Place http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/3-innovative-ways-age-place Boomers and their parents are finding new ways to live at home longer. Thinkstock June 11, 2014, 9:59 am