Next Avenue - Caregiving - Most Recent An RSS feed of the Caregiving channel for Next Avenue. http://www.nextavenue.org/ en http://www.nextavenue.org/sites/all/themes/nextavenue/images/rss-na-logo.png http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/caregiving-rss.xml We Are Not Caring for Our Family Caregivers http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/we-are-not-caring-our-family-caregivers Unpaid family caregivers should get the credit and support they deserve, an AARP leader says. Thinkstock April 17, 2015, 11:36 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/caregiving-rss.xml Student Inventors Tackle Elder Mobility Hurdles http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2015-04/student-inventors-tackle-elder-mobility-hurdles Young winners of this year's Stanford Longevity Design Challenge went straight to would-be users for inspiration. Rhoda Fukushima Photo by Frazier Phillips First-place winners Nicholas Steigmann and Maiya Jensen of California College of the Arts. April 15, 2015, 11:43 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/caregiving-rss.xml Improving Paid Caregivers’ Work Lives http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/improving-paid-caregivers%E2%80%99-work-lives While home care workers have one of the fastest growing jobs in the U.S., they receive paltry pay and have difficult conditions. We must figure out how to compensate them. Beth Baker Thinkstock April 15, 2015, 10:25 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/caregiving-rss.xml How a Lap Dog Is Helping Nursing Home Residents http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2015-04/video-how-lap-dog-helping-nursing-home-residents A nursing home in St. Paul, Minn. benefits from a 5-year-old teacup poodle named Nala. April 13, 2015, 9:54 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/caregiving-rss.xml Nursing Home Gives Students Rent-Free Housing http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2015-04/dutch-nursing-home-offers-rent-free-housing-students This Dutch intergenerational program benefits both students and aging residents. Carey Reed Photo courtesy of Humanitas Student Onno Selbach interacts with two nursing home residents at Humanitas in the Netherlands April 13, 2015, 1:33 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/caregiving-rss.xml Aging Out: Children, Autism and Caregiving http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/aging-out-children-autism-and-caregiving When services for those with autism stop at age 21, what are the parents to do? Thinkstock April 13, 2015, 1:29 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/caregiving-rss.xml How Sharing a Life Story Helps Dementia Caregivers http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/how-sharing-life-story-helps-dementia-caregivers Personal information lets other caregivers connect with your loved one who has dementia. Mike Good Thinkstock April 10, 2015, 10:23 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/caregiving-rss.xml A New Era: Companies Supporting Caregivers http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/new-era-companies-supporting-caregivers Those in the Sandwich Generation may find help on the horizon for balancing caregiving and work. Sherri Snelling Thinkstock April 9, 2015, 2:09 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/caregiving-rss.xml Boomers, Millennials & the Long-Term Care Divide http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/boomers-millennials-long-term-care-divide A new Genworth survey finds that Millennials fear the burden will fall to them to pay long-term costs for loved ones. Also, Genworth released its annual data on the cost of nursing homes, assisted living and home care. Thinkstock April 9, 2015, 8:35 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/caregiving-rss.xml America's Family Caregivers Need Assistance http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2015-04/americas-family-caregivers-need-assistance The amount of money and time Americans are devoting to assisting their elderly parents and relatives is huge, growing and often ignored. Chris Farrell Thinkstock April 8, 2015, 8:53 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/caregiving-rss.xml Conference on Aging Visits Phoenix and Seattle http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/conference-aging-visits-phoenix-and-seattle The White House Conference on Aging is taking it on the road, asking aging experts in five cities what's needed to support older Americans. Here's a report from this week's forums in Phoenix and Seattle. Nora Super, Executive Director of the White House Conference on Aging, welcomes participants in Phoenix. April 2, 2015, 11:27 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/caregiving-rss.xml How Do You Want to Die? http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2015-04/how-do-you-want-die A growing national movement to normalize end-of-life discussions among family and friends has gained traction in recent months. Thinkstock April 2, 2015, 10:46 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/caregiving-rss.xml How to Help Mom and Dad Move to a New Home http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/how-help-mom-and-dad-move-new-home Leaving the family home for an assisted living community or nursing home can be traumatic for your parents. Here are five ways to make it less upsetting. Thinkstock April 1, 2015, 10:08 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/caregiving-rss.xml Why the U.S. Must Care for Its Elders Better http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/why-us-must-care-its-elders-better 'Aging in America' author Ai-Jen Poo says America needs to be better prepared to care for its aging population. Thinkstock March 30, 2015, 12:55 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/caregiving-rss.xml This New Program Trains Dementia Care Coaches http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2015-03/new-program-trains-dementia-care-coaches Dementia care coaches are helping relieve the strain on the heath care system by providing support to those with Alzheimer’s and their caregivers. Heidi Raschke Thinkstock March 26, 2015, 11:10 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/caregiving-rss.xml How to Spot Signs of Elder Abuse http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2015-03/how-spot-signs-elder-abuse Five million Americans fall victim to some form of elder abuse each year. Pay attention for these common signs that abuse may be happening. Jacob Edward Thinkstock March 24, 2015, 11:51 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/caregiving-rss.xml Do You Really Want to Age in Place? http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/do-you-really-want-age-place Think you know what it takes to age in place? A new guide for boomers, their parents and caregivers explains the pros and cons of various housing options for older adults. March 20, 2015, 8:37 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/caregiving-rss.xml Why America Needs More Geriatricians http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/why-america-needs-more-geriatricians The number of geriatricians in the U.S. is dwindling at at time when we need them most. Robert L. Kane MD Thinkstock March 19, 2015, 10:27 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/caregiving-rss.xml This Mother-Son Memoir Is Both Funny and Tender http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2015-03/mother-son-memoir-both-funny-and-tender The new book 'Bettyville' traces a son's return home to live with his 90-something mom to be her caregiver, which is filled with both funny and tender moments. Judith Graham Betty Hodgman March 19, 2015, 10:24 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/caregiving-rss.xml When Menopause and Caregiving Collide http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/when-menopause-and-caregiving-collide Women often face two big events simultaneously: entering menopause and becoming caregivers to their parents. Here's how to handle the collision of these two life passages. Sherri Snelling Thinkstock March 18, 2015, 10:02 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/caregiving-rss.xml Why We Need to Get Rid of Senior Centers http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/why-we-need-get-rid-senior-centers Traditional senior centers are stifling, stodgy and just for old people. Thankfully, there's a growing movement to make the relics multigenerational. Kerry Hannon Photo courtesy of My Second Home At My Second Home, old and young collaborate March 18, 2015, 9:14 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/caregiving-rss.xml Finding Healing from Dementia Outdoors http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/finding-healing-dementia-outdoors Being outdoors is an instinctual need, which is why it's important that those suffering from dementia aren't solely confined to the indoors. Mike Good Thinkstock March 17, 2015, 10:14 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/caregiving-rss.xml Talking With Loved Ones About How They Want to Die http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2015-03/talking-loved-ones-about-how-they-want-die Having a conversation with a loved one about how he or she wants to die can be difficult, but it can save heartache and guilt later on, says Dr. Angelo Volandes in his new book, The Conversation. Angelo E. Volandes, MD Thinkstock March 16, 2015, 4:00 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/caregiving-rss.xml New Tech Devices Will Help Boomers Age in Place http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/new-tech-devices-will-help-boomers-age-place New monitoring products are designed to appeal to a tech-savvy generation of elders to help them age in place. Beth Baker Photo courtesy of Clair Garman Clair Garman designed a web-based system to look out for a friend living alone. March 16, 2015, 2:40 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/caregiving-rss.xml Creating Your Own Retirement Community http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/creating-your-own-retirement-community Friends of all ages are moving into the same condo or apartment building, allowing people to create their own retirement community. Beth Baker March 5, 2015, 3:35 pm