Next Avenue - Caregiving - Most Recent An RSS feed of the Caregiving channel for Next Avenue. http://www.nextavenue.org/ en http://www.nextavenue.org/sites/all/themes/nextavenue/images/rss-na-logo.png http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/caregiving-rss.xml Who'll Provide Care When Military Caregivers Can't? http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-04/who-will-provide-care-when-military-caregivers-cant Many military caregivers are the parents of the wounded warriors, in their 50s and 60s. Who&#39;ll take over when they can&#39;t provide care? Richard Harris Photo by Karanja Gacuca Michelle Obama at White House event honoring military caregivers April 14, 2014, 9:48 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/caregiving-rss.xml Why Now Is the Time to Leave Guilt Behind http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-04/why-now-time-leave-guilt-behind It&#39;s important to take care of yourself when caring for someone else. Your health may depend on it. Lorie Parch Thinkstock April 11, 2014, 12:30 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/caregiving-rss.xml How This Wife Unlocked Her Husband's Dementia http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/how-wife-unlocked-her-husbands-dementia A son&#8217;s film and a daughter&#8217;s tribute show how their mother found ways to connect with their father while he battled dementia and how you can do the same with a loved one. Jody Gastfriend April 10, 2014, 1:57 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/caregiving-rss.xml A Daughter Finds Peace in Her Mother’s Death http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/daughter-finds-peace-her-mother%E2%80%99s-death One daughter shares her journey caring for her mom suffering from dementia. Claudia Nierenberg Thinkstock April 9, 2014, 5:03 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/caregiving-rss.xml A Caregiver's Guide to Planning a Funeral http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/caregivers-guide-planning-funeral There are 150 decisions to make when your loved one dies, so try to secure most of them by planning in advance and comparing prices. Dan Browning Thinkstock March 31, 2014, 3:35 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/caregiving-rss.xml Understanding the Tax Rules for Caregivers http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-03/understanding-tax-rules-caregivers These are the key tax rules for hiring a caregiver to assist your elderly parent. Stephanie Breedlove Thinkstock March 31, 2014, 3:32 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/caregiving-rss.xml Caregiving Is a Corporate Issue http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/caregiving-corporate-issue The number of caregivers is exploding, and businesses need to step up and meet their employees&#39; needs with compassion.<br /> Sherri Snelling Thinkstock March 26, 2014, 11:57 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/caregiving-rss.xml The Alzheimer’s Epidemic Hits Women Hardest http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/alzheimer%E2%80%99s-epidemic-hits-women-hardest A new study shows that women have a greater chance for developing Alzheimer&#39;s than men and are more likely to serve as caregivers for someone with the disease. Sherri Snelling Thinkstock March 24, 2014, 3:04 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/caregiving-rss.xml Empty Nester Remodels: Make the Most of Your Home http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-03/empty-nester-remodels-making-most-your-home Here are ideas for empty nesters to remodel their homes after their kids have moved out. April Dykman, Improvement Center Thinkstock March 13, 2014, 9:43 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/caregiving-rss.xml A Husband Weighs the Toughest Decisions http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/husband-weighs-toughest-decisions A wife is suffering from the form of dementia known as FTD and her husband must decide whether to prolong her life, which may mean increased suffering for her. Dan Browning Photo courtesy Dan Browning Liz Cummings Browning playing the piano March 12, 2014, 3:42 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/caregiving-rss.xml Avoid Your Own $80,000 Facebook Mistake http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-03/avoid-your-own-80000-facebook-mistake Oversharing online can cost you if you forget who may be reading your posts.&#160; Miriam Salpeter Photo Illustration by Justin Sullivan/Getty Images March 12, 2014, 3:18 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/caregiving-rss.xml Dementia, a Disease of the Family http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/dementia-disease-family With his wife suffering from the FTD form of Alzheimer&#39;s, this husband talks with his children about how their relationship with their mom has changed. Dan Browning Photo courtesy Dan Browning March 6, 2014, 1:44 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/caregiving-rss.xml Glen Campbell's Farewell Tour, With Alzheimer's http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/glen-campbells-farewell-tour-alzheimers A poignant documentary chronicles Glen Campbell&#39;s final tour with his family by his side during his battle with Alzheimer&#39;s. Sherri Snelling Photos courtesy The Brokaw Company and Dave Kaplan Management March 5, 2014, 2:44 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/caregiving-rss.xml Seeking Comfort and Peace for Dementia http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/seeking-comfort-and-peace-dementia More devastating news for a wife diagnosed with FTD (frontotemporal dementia) leaves her family scrambling to arrange for hospice care. Dan Browning Photo courtesy Dan Browning Liz Cummings Browning February 27, 2014, 4:57 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/caregiving-rss.xml Treatment for This Dementia Is On the Horizon http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/treatment-dementia-horizon Dr. Bruce Miller and Dr. Bradley Boeve, participants at an upcoming conference on frontotemporal dementia (FTD), explain why they&#39;re excited about research and potential for treatment. Dan Browning Thinkstock February 26, 2014, 10:51 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/caregiving-rss.xml Caring for a Relative? You Might Get Tax Breaks http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-02/caring-relative-you-might-get-tax-breaks Paying for an older person&#8217;s care could earn you tax deductions, but beware the pitfalls. Elizabeth O'Brien Thinkstock February 25, 2014, 10:31 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/caregiving-rss.xml Kicked Out of Day Care at 52 http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/kicked-out-day-care-age-52 After this woman suffering from the FTD form of dementia was placed in adult day care, she got the boot. Her family then had to find in-home care. Dan Browning Photo courtesy Dan Browning Liz Cummings Browning February 21, 2014, 1:39 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/caregiving-rss.xml One Daughter's Caregiving Regrets http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/one-daughters-caregiving-regrets The author helped her dad, but wishes she&#8217;d laughed and loved even more as she cared for him. Donna Jackel Thinkstock February 21, 2014, 11:04 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/caregiving-rss.xml Bringing Someone With Dementia Back to Life http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/bringing-someone-dementia-back-life <em>Alive Inside</em>, winner of Sundance&#8217;s 2014 Audience Award, shows how music reawakens the brain. Thinkstock February 18, 2014, 4:14 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/caregiving-rss.xml Dealing With an Incurable Disease http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/dealing-incurable-disease One daughter shares how she found information and support about her dad&#39;s rare multiple myeloma diagnosis. Diana Reese Thinkstock February 18, 2014, 4:00 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/caregiving-rss.xml The Scariest Dementia Symptom http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/scariest-dementia-symptom Frontotemporal dementia (FTD) has many disturbing symptoms, and one family is facing the scariest of them &#8212; wandering. Dan Browning Photo courtesy Dan Browning February 12, 2014, 3:19 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/caregiving-rss.xml How to Craft Your Memoir http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-02/how-craft-your-memoir An expert in life transitions and elder care offers tips for crafting a meaningful memoir to preserve your parent&#39;s memories &#8212; or yours. Bart Astor Thinkstock February 10, 2014, 4:09 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/caregiving-rss.xml Saying Goodbye to the Band http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/saying-goodbye-band A family deals with the losses caused by FTD, a form of dementia that often strikes early, including the wife&#39;s long-time singing career. Dan Browning Photo courtesy Dan Browning February 5, 2014, 4:19 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/caregiving-rss.xml Should You Retire to College? http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-02/should-you-retire-college Retirement communities based on college campuses are now targeting boomers. How to find out if they&#39;d be a fit for you. Frank Jossi From Facebook.com/KendalatOberlin February 4, 2014, 7:23 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/caregiving-rss.xml Ask the Expert: Caring for Your Aging Parent http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-01/ask-expert-caring-your-aging-parent She wrote the book on eldercare, and then her mother got sick. Heidi Raschke Thinkstock January 27, 2014, 9:02 pm