Next Avenue - Caregiving - Most Recent An RSS feed of the Caregiving channel for Next Avenue. http://www.nextavenue.org/ en http://www.nextavenue.org/sites/all/themes/nextavenue/images/rss-na-logo.png http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/caregiving-rss.xml Joan Lunden's Daughters' Advice on Battling Cancer http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/joan-lundens-daughters-advice-battling-cancer When the diagnosis came, her daughters came together to rally and care for her. Here's their advice for other young adults who find themselves in a similar  position. Photo courtesy Joan Lunden October 17, 2014, 12:26 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/caregiving-rss.xml 11 Inspiring Quotes for Caregivers http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/11-inspiring-quotes-caregivers Words to bring strength and wisdom, and alleviate worry. October 15, 2014, 4:26 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/caregiving-rss.xml An 'Angie's List' for Finding Help to Age In Place http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/angies-list-finding-help-age-place If you plan to stay in your home after you retire, you should check out this great new tool to help you do it. Illustrations from Aging in Place October 13, 2014, 10:25 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/caregiving-rss.xml Caring for Your Aging Parents From a Distance http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/caring-your-aging-parents-distance The National Caregiver Alliance offers four tips to make the challenge more manageable. Leah Eskenazi Thinkstock October 13, 2014, 8:43 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/caregiving-rss.xml Joan Lunden on Challenges, Guilt and Caregiving http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/joan-lunden-challenges-guilt-and-caregiving Here's how her optimistic nature makes Lunden a role model for anyone who is caregiving or fighting cancer. Sherri Snelling Photo from JoanLunden.com October 3, 2014, 3:43 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/caregiving-rss.xml What a Second Marriage Could Cost You http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-10/what-second-marriage-could-cost-you Before tying the knot again, you may want to consider these four financial implications. Michael Smith Thinkstock October 1, 2014, 11:37 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/caregiving-rss.xml Free E-Book: The Aging Well Revolution http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-09/free-e-book-aging-well-revolution How and where will we live as we age? Who will take care of us when we need help? This free ebook gathers ideas and information about how to live independently for as long as possible. September 29, 2014, 9:47 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/caregiving-rss.xml Why Elder Care in America Isn't Working http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/why-elder-care-america-isnt-working The author argues we should focus less on caution and more on caring, pointing out how risk aversion results in older people being deprived of activities and subjected to unnecessary suffering. Robert L. Kane MD Thinkstock September 23, 2014, 3:08 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/caregiving-rss.xml Checklist for Finding the Right Retirement Community http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-09/checklist-finding-right-retirement-community An expert weighs in with the top 3 things to consider in finding the right retirement community Emily Wilson Thinkstock September 19, 2014, 3:09 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/caregiving-rss.xml 5 Tips for a Smooth Move from Rehab to Home http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-09/5-tips-smooth-move-rehab-home Here's how to help a loved one get settled in back at home after a stay in rehab. Tammy Luther Thinkstock September 19, 2014, 2:00 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/caregiving-rss.xml Dying In America: Care Should Be Kinder http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/dying-america-care-should-be-kinder The new Dying in America Report points out the flaws of how the U.S. health care system delivers care to the elderly. Robert L. Kane MD Thinkstock September 18, 2014, 12:25 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/caregiving-rss.xml When Should You Be the 'Bad Guy’ With Your Parents? http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-09/when-should-you-be-bad-guy%E2%80%99-your-parents These five situations require you to intervene on your parent’s behalf. Eileen Beal Thinkstock September 17, 2014, 6:30 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/caregiving-rss.xml Here's How Much Caregivers Pay Out-of-Pocket http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/heres-how-much-caregivers-pay-out-pocket A new survey from Caring.com shows how kicking in to help a family member can derail your retirement. Here's where caregivers can find help. Thinkstock September 15, 2014, 4:41 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/caregiving-rss.xml A Wife's Death Means a New Beginning http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/wifes-death-means-new-beginning The author is still numb after two years of intensive caregiving and by his wife's passing, but energized by the possibility of starting a new life. Dan Browning Photos courtesy Dan Browning August 20, 2014, 3:48 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/caregiving-rss.xml Help Parents Avoid Unwanted Medical Treatment http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/help-parents-avoid-unwanted-medical-treatment A new study shows older Americans aren’t getting the type of care they want at life’s end. Thinkstock August 19, 2014, 5:44 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/caregiving-rss.xml Healing A Broken Pelvis http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-08/healing-broken-pelvis Another type of fracture, just inches away from the hip, is becoming more common. Pelvic fractures can be just as devastating as hip fractures, and often take longer to heal. A broken pelvis brought one North Texas family closer together. Photo courtesy KERA Yu-ying Lee with her husband Chung Hwa Lee. She's 91, but she bounced back from a broken pelvis. August 17, 2014, 12:10 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/caregiving-rss.xml The Cost of Replacing a Broken Hip? It Depends http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-08/cost-replacing-broken-hip-it-depends Finding out the price of a new car or a new phone isn’t so hard. But how about the price of a new hip? The cost of medical procedures like hip replacements can vary by thousands of dollars – even tens of thousands of dollars. Thinkstock August 16, 2014, 11:33 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/caregiving-rss.xml How Broken Hips Get Fixed: Then and Now http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-08/how-broken-hips-get-fixed-then-and-now Every year, 300,000 Americans who are 65 and older break a hip. Nearly all of those fractures are treated with surgery. Repairing a broken hip has come a long way in the last century — from ivory and rubber to precision titanium implants. Technology will change how surgeons fix fractures in the future. Thinkstock August 16, 2014, 10:57 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/caregiving-rss.xml When Should You Seek More Family Help? http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-08/when-should-you-seek-more-family-help Primary caregivers may need to call in the cavalry. Here’s what to do. Eileen Beal iStock August 12, 2014, 5:25 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/caregiving-rss.xml Making Your Home Fall-Proof http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-08/making-your-home-fall-proof Home design and technology have changed dramatically over the last two decades, making it easier than ever to “age in place.” Photo courtesy KERA Fracturing a hip no longer means being forced into a nursing home. August 7, 2014, 9:51 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/caregiving-rss.xml The Broken Hip: Preventing the Fall http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-08/broken-hip-preventing-fall Nearly all hip fractures are the result of falls and those who do fall are afraid of falling again. But high-tech gear is helping some people get over their fear of falling — and helping others prevent future falls. Photo courtesy KERA Older North Texans learn stretching techniques at University of Texas at Arlington August 7, 2014, 9:05 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/caregiving-rss.xml The Broken Hip: Caregiving From Afar http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-08/broken-hip-caregiving-afar Many adult children have to care for their parents from a distance. The task is stressful, both emotionally and financially. Here’s how one family manages to go the distance. Photo courtesy KERA Earl Schmalz, a 92-year-old WWII veteran, was living on his own in Dallas — until he fell and broke his hip last year. August 2, 2014, 9:45 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/caregiving-rss.xml The Broken Hip: A Fast Decline http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-08/broken-hip-fast-decline A fall from a chair or a bed may not seem like a death sentence — but, for an older person, it can be. Photo courtesy KERA Jeanette M. landed in a Dallas rehabilitation facility after she fell and broker her hip August 1, 2014, 9:07 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/caregiving-rss.xml When One Spouse Is Healthy and the Other Isn't http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/when-one-spouse-healthy-and-other-isnt How couples cope with health differences that could divide them. Thinkstock July 24, 2014, 1:03 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/caregiving-rss.xml When You Want to Live Among Your Tribe http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/when-you-want-live-among-your-tribe Here's a look at three affinity communities that are based on the shared interests of their residents. Beth Baker Thinkstock July 18, 2014, 12:17 pm