Next Avenue - Chris Farrell - Most Recent An RSS feed of the most recent articles by Chris Farrell. http://www.nextavenue.org/ en http://www.nextavenue.org/sites/all/themes/nextavenue/images/rss-na-logo.png http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/experts/2343/rss.xml To Find an Encore Career Job, Try a Matchmaker http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-10/find-encore-career-job-try-matchmaker Sign up with a machmaking enterprise and you could be paired up with a company or nonprofit needing people over 50 to do fulfilling, paid part-time work. Chris Farrell Thinkstock October 15, 2014, 9:24 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/experts/2343/rss.xml Second Career? They're on Their Third and Fourth http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-09/second-career-theyre-their-third-and-fourth The author of 'Unretirement' profiles two women who have had multiple careers and the smart steps they took along the way. Chris Farrell Thinkstock September 30, 2014, 5:46 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/experts/2343/rss.xml When You're Bored Silly In Retirement http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-09/when-youre-bored-silly-retirement It's easy to find yourself bored in retirement if you haven't planned out your transition. Here's what three retirees did when they grew restless and how you can eschew ennui. Chris Farrell Thinkstock September 18, 2014, 9:16 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/experts/2343/rss.xml 4 Ways to Fix the U.S. Retirement System http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-09/4-ways-fix-us-retirement-system Chris Farrell, author of 'Unretirement,' says these tweaks would help you work longer, full-time or part-time, if you want. Chris Farrell Thinkstock September 10, 2014, 8:38 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/experts/2343/rss.xml How to Phase Into Retirement at Your Job http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-09/how-phase-retirement-your-job More and more firms are letting older workers phase into retirement. Here's how to try to get your boss to let you do it. Chris Farrell Thinkstock September 3, 2014, 9:16 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/experts/2343/rss.xml Becoming a Farmer In Retirement http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-08/becoming-farmer-retirement Some boomers are becoming farmers in retirement, either because they love the idea or they need the money. Here's a look at three of them, plus advice if you're considering making this switch for your Unretirement. Chris Farrell Photo courtesy Chris Farrell Judy Yang and David Massey August 20, 2014, 11:11 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/experts/2343/rss.xml How to Dip Your Toe Into the Encore Career Waters http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-08/how-dip-your-toe-encore-career-waters The Encore Fellowships Network, from Encore.org, lets you try out a second act with purpose for six months to a year and get paid to do it. Chris Farrell Photo courtesy Dave Dardis Former IBM'er Dave Dardis started a new chapter after his Encore Fellowship August 13, 2014, 8:27 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/experts/2343/rss.xml How to Shift From Full-Time Work to Part-Time http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-07/how-shift-full-time-work-part-time Here's how to transition to retirement by switching from a full-time job to a part-time job in the field you've worked in throughout your career. Chris Farrell Photo courtesy Fay Putnam Singer Fay Putnam is now a voice coach in retirement July 29, 2014, 4:37 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/experts/2343/rss.xml 3 Essential Tips to Switch to a Second Career http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-07/3-essential-tips-switch-second-career This nurse started a yoga studio in her 50s and has three tips for midlife entrepreneur wannabes. Chris Farrell Photo courtesy Liz Campbell Former nurse, now yoga studio owner Liz Campbell July 16, 2014, 8:36 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/experts/2343/rss.xml The 2 Keys to a Successful Midlife Career Transition http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-07/2-keys-successful-midlife-career-transition If you start talking to people with jobs you might like and begin living frugally, you'll make the transition easier and more enjoyable. Chris Farrell Thinkstock July 3, 2014, 9:07 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/experts/2343/rss.xml Plotting Your Next Move for 'Unretirement' http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-06/plotting-your-next-move-unretirement Advice from Chris Farrell on what to do, and when, to write your next chapter. Chris Farrell Photo courtesy of Cynthia Lennartson Texas librarian Cynthia Lennartson June 17, 2014, 12:17 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/experts/2343/rss.xml Why I'm Not Buying the Retirement Gloom http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-06/unretirement-why-im-not-buying-retirement-gloom In the sometimes exciting, sometimes scary Unretirement movement, you are your best investment. Chris Farrell Thinkstock June 4, 2014, 11:58 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/experts/2343/rss.xml For Many Boomer Immigrants, Rough Times Ahead http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-05/many-boomer-immigrants-rough-times-ahead Many boomer immigrants face rough times ahead because their savings are low and family needs are high. Chris Farrell Photo coutesy Ramon Leon Ramon Leon, 50, says he needs to work at least another 20 years May 14, 2014, 9:11 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/experts/2343/rss.xml It's Time for a Rewrite Moment for Retirement http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-01/its-time-rewrite-moment-retirement Chris Farrell says it's time for a "rewrite moment" for retirement and explains how the story is evolving. Chris Farrell Thinkstock January 10, 2014, 2:19 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/experts/2343/rss.xml The 'Safety First' Guide to Retirement Withdrawals http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2013-08/safety-first-guide-retirement-withdrawals When determining how much of your savings to withdraw each year in retirement, focus on how much you’ll need to maintain your standard of living. Chris Farrell Thinkstock August 30, 2013, 6:34 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/experts/2343/rss.xml Smart Money Moves, Now That Interest Rates Are Rising http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2013-06/smart-money-moves-now-interest-rates-are-rising Here’s what rising interest rates mean for you as a saver, investor and borrower. Chris Farrell iStockphoto/ThinkStock June 21, 2013, 2:24 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/experts/2343/rss.xml Where to Get Help Launching Your Encore Career http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2013-06/where-get-help-launching-your-encore-career Informal and formal networks can help launch your encore career. Here’s how to tap into them. Chris Farrell Fuse / Thinkstock June 12, 2013, 4:59 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/experts/2343/rss.xml Pay Down Debt or Save? The Spock vs. McCoy Debate http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2013-04/pay-down-debt-or-save-spock-vs-mccoy-debate Here’s how "Star Trek" fans nearing retirement can decide whether to increase savings or focus on paying off loans and credit cards. Chris Farrell iStockPhoto/ThinkStock April 29, 2013, 8:09 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/experts/2343/rss.xml The Retirement Topic Nobody Likes to Talk About http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2013-04/retirement-topic-nobody-likes-talk-about Chris Farrell explains why there’s so much advice on how to invest for retirement but so little on how to spend more wisely. Chris Farrell iStockphoto/ThinkStock April 4, 2013, 2:34 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/experts/2343/rss.xml Record Stock Market and Your Retirement Portfolio http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2013-03/record-stock-market-and-your-retirement-portfolio Now that the stock market has hit a record high, here’s what you should be doing with your retirement portfolio. Chris Farrell iStockPhoto/ThinkStock March 6, 2013, 6:04 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/experts/2343/rss.xml Do You Know the New Retirement Mantra? http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2013-03/do-you-know-new-retirement-mantra Chris Farrell says retirement planning is no longer all about saving and investing. The new mantra is about work in retirement: encore jobs, networking and delaying filing for Social Security benefits. Chris Farrell Hemera/Thinkstock March 1, 2013, 2:55 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/experts/2343/rss.xml The Growing Danger of Penny Stocks http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2013-02/growing-danger-penny-stocks Penny stock schemes are proliferating, but smart investors should steer clear of hyped shares selling for less than $1. Chris Farrell Comstock/Thinkstock February 6, 2013, 4:20 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/experts/2343/rss.xml Money Rules of Thumb You Need to Follow (and Ignore!) http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2012-12/money-rules-thumb-you-need-follow-and-ignore Rules of thumb are easy to dismiss, says Chris Farrell. They’re the Rodney Dangerfields of money management: They get no respect. They’re gross simplifications that don’t deal with the complexity of individual and family circumstances. Some caustic financial planners call them “rules of dumb.”  Chris Farrell iStockphoto/ThinkStock December 18, 2012, 9:31 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/experts/2343/rss.xml Long-Term Care Insurance: A Tricky Purchase Gets Trickier http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2012-11/long-term-care-insurance-tricky-purchase-gets-trickier Chris Farrell offers advice on how to buy long-term care insurance at a time when companies are quitting the market or raising premiums. Chris Farrell Stockbyte/ThinkStock November 29, 2012, 12:43 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/experts/2343/rss.xml The 7 Best Books for Your Money and Career http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2012-10/7-best-books-your-money-and-career Over the years I’ve collected many books on personal finance, investing, economics and work. So I was excited when my Next Avenue editor suggested I write a column highlighting excellent money and career books for boomers. Question was: What criteria to use in choosing them? Chris Farrell Zoonar/Thinkstock October 22, 2012, 2:56 pm