Next Avenue - Kerry Hannon - Most Recent An RSS feed of the most recent articles by Kerry Hannon. http://www.nextavenue.org/ en http://www.nextavenue.org/sites/all/themes/nextavenue/images/rss-na-logo.png http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/experts/2621/rss.xml Why 50+ Women Should Take Control of Their Money http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/why-50-women-should-take-control-their-money It's not too late for women over 50 to start managing their financial future. Here's why they should and how to get started. Kerry Hannon Thinkstock April 2, 2015, 4:06 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/experts/2621/rss.xml 10 Tips for Working for a Younger Boss http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/10-tips-working-younger-boss Kerry Hannon just published the book 'Love Your Job' and offers advice from it on how to work with a younger boss effectively and happily. Kerry Hannon Thinkstock April 1, 2015, 8:52 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/experts/2621/rss.xml Why We Need to Get Rid of Senior Centers http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/why-we-need-get-rid-senior-centers Traditional senior centers are stifling, stodgy and just for old people. Thankfully, there's a growing movement to make the relics multigenerational. Kerry Hannon Photo courtesy of My Second Home At My Second Home, old and young collaborate March 18, 2015, 9:14 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/experts/2621/rss.xml How to Have the 'What's Next?' Talk With Your Boss http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/how-have-whats-next-talk-your-boss In this excerpt from her new book, 'Love Your Job,' Kerry Hannon shows you how to get your boss to make work better for you through a new opportunity, a promotion or a more flexible schedule. Kerry Hannon Thinkstock March 3, 2015, 8:44 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/experts/2621/rss.xml Women Over 50: It's Time to Get Bolder http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/women-over-50-its-time-get-bolder These sites and groups can help women over 50 network together and chart new paths. Plus, Live Bold's co-founder Enid Weishaus has three pieces of advice. Kerry Hannon Enid Weishaus February 25, 2015, 9:00 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/experts/2621/rss.xml Money: The Subject Women Don't Want to Discuss http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/money-subject-women-dont-want-discuss A new Fidelity survey of women finds they'd rather talk about health than wealth with their significant others and blogger Kerry Hannon has some advice. Kerry Hannon Thinkstock February 11, 2015, 8:33 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/experts/2621/rss.xml 7 Tips for Women Who Want to Start a Business http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/7-tips-women-who-want-start-business Jeanne Sullivan, a noted venture capitalist and expert on female entrepreneurs, offers advice to help women raise the money they need to launch and grow businesses. Kerry Hannon Jeanne Sullivan January 26, 2015, 3:13 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/experts/2621/rss.xml When Men Take Off Time for Their Family http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/when-men-take-time-their-family When Starbucks COO Troy Alstead said he'd take an extended leave to spend time with his family, tongues wagged. Here's what experts say about family leaves and how to get your boss to let you have more family time. Kerry Hannon Photo courtesy of Starbucks Starbucks COO Troy Alstead is taking an extended family leave January 15, 2015, 9:21 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/experts/2621/rss.xml What I Learned About Money and More in 2014 http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/what-i-learned-about-money-and-more-2014 Kerry Hannon looks back at 2014, sums up trends and offers great advice on everything from buying insurance to loving your work more. Kerry Hannon Thinkstock December 30, 2014, 1:32 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/experts/2621/rss.xml Holiday Gifts: 3 Wise Ways to Give Kids Money http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/holiday-gifts-3-wise-ways-give-kids-money These three methods — buying U.S. savings bonds, putting money into a child's 529 plan and funding a Roth IRA for him or her  — will let you help pay for college or retirement. They might teach some money lessons, too. Kerry Hannon Thinkstock December 17, 2014, 9:10 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/experts/2621/rss.xml How to Start a Charity for a Cause You Care About http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/how-start-charity-cause-you-care-about Molly MacDonald started The Pink Fund to provide financial aid to other women with breast cancer. Here's her advice if you want to launch a nonprofit in midlife. Kerry Hannon Photo courtesy of The Pink Fund Molly MacDonald, founder of The Pink Fund November 24, 2014, 9:11 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/experts/2621/rss.xml How to Love Your Job Even If You Don't Like It http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/how-love-your-job-even-if-you-dont-it In this sneak preview of her forthcoming book, author Kerry Hannon offers 10 easy ways to do it. Kerry Hannon Thinkstock November 14, 2014, 8:35 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/experts/2621/rss.xml Purpose Prize Winner Helps the Blind Get Hired http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/purpose-prize-winner-helps-blind-get-hired Kate Williams, 72, became blind in midlife and just won the prestigious award for her work providing effective career counseling to others with her disability. Kerry Hannon Photos courtesy Kate Williams October 27, 2014, 9:47 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/experts/2621/rss.xml Reverse Mentors: How Women Can Help Each Other http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/reverse-mentors-how-women-can-help-each-other Kerry Hannon talks with Ipsos Girls' Lounge founder Shelley Zalis about how older women can find matches with younger women so both of their careers will benefit. Kerry Hannon Thinkstock October 23, 2014, 7:52 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/experts/2621/rss.xml 5 Career Lessons From a Pioneer Female Astronaut http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/5-career-lessons-pioneer-female-astronaut Dr. Rhea Seddon was one of NASA's first female astronauts and is featured in the new PBS documentary, 'MAKERS: Women In Space.' Here, she offers tips for women based on her extraordinary career. Kerry Hannon Courtesy of MAKERS Dr. Rhea Seddon, one of NASA's first female astronauts October 7, 2014, 6:07 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/experts/2621/rss.xml Your Guide to the New Social Security Statements http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/your-guide-new-social-security-statements The Social Security Administration has started mailing benefit estimate statements to millions of Americans, for the first time since 2011. If you get one, here's how to read it, fix it and use it in your retirement plans. Kerry Hannon Thinkstock September 24, 2014, 8:09 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/experts/2621/rss.xml Are Women Too Timid When They Job Search? http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/are-women-too-timid-when-they-job-search Career leadership coach Tara Sophia Mohr found out why women don't apply for jobs they see and offers advice. Kerry Hannon Thinkstock September 9, 2014, 8:18 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/experts/2621/rss.xml Riding in the World's Toughest Horse Race at 61 http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/riding-worlds-toughest-horse-race-61 Barbara Smith's Mongol Derby adventure offers lessons to others in their 50s and 60s. Kerry Hannon Photos courtesy of Barbara Smith, Richard Dunwoody and The Adventurists Barbara Smith in The Mongol Derby August 27, 2014, 7:55 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/experts/2621/rss.xml Should Women Invest in the New "Women's" Fund? http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/should-women-invest-new-womens-fund Kerry Hannon has analyzed the new Pax Ellevate Global Women's Index Fund and thinks there are better ways for women to support female business leaders. Kerry Hannon Thinkstock August 13, 2014, 8:22 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/experts/2621/rss.xml Here's to 40 Women Over 40 http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/heres-40-women-over-40 The new 40 Over 40 list is filled with impressive, inspiring women. But there's one problem with it. Kerry Hannon Photo from fortyover40.com July 30, 2014, 9:13 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/experts/2621/rss.xml 4 Ways Women Can Manage Their Money Better http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/women-and-money-management-sad-story The new Prudential survey about women and money made personal-finance writer Kerry Hannon want to bang her head on her desk. Kerry Hannon Thinkstock July 15, 2014, 9:23 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/experts/2621/rss.xml The Big Money Mistake Divorcing Women Make http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/big-money-mistake-divorcing-women-make Here are six tips to get the retirement plan funds you deserve in a settlement. Kerry Hannon Thinkstock June 30, 2014, 9:15 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/experts/2621/rss.xml Hopeful Money News About Boomer Couples http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/hopeful-money-news-about-boomer-couples Personal finance expert Kerry Hannon offers tips based on Money magazine's big survey of married couples and their money. Kerry Hannon Thinkstock June 18, 2014, 8:43 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/experts/2621/rss.xml 8 Money and Work Tips for My College-Grad Niece http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/8-money-and-work-tips-my-college-grad-niece Here is helpful advice for you and for the rest of the Class of 2014. Kerry Hannon Photo courtesy Cliff Hackel New grad Caitlin Bonney May 21, 2014, 9:45 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/experts/2621/rss.xml Where Are All the Female Financial Advisers? http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/where-are-all-female-financial-advisers A new CFP Board survey finds a scarcity of female financial advisers. Here's why and what it means if you want to hire one. Kerry Hannon Courtesy of the CFP Board Eleanor Blayney May 7, 2014, 11:04 am