Next Avenue - Kerry Hannon - Most Recent An RSS feed of the most recent articles by Kerry Hannon. http://www.nextavenue.org/ en http://www.nextavenue.org/sites/all/themes/nextavenue/images/rss-na-logo.png http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/experts/2621/rss.xml Should Women Invest in the New "Women's" Fund? http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/should-women-invest-new-womens-fund Kerry Hannon has analyzed the new Pax Ellevate Global Women&#39;s Index Fund and thinks there are better ways for women to support female business leaders. Kerry Hannon Thinkstock August 13, 2014, 8:22 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/experts/2621/rss.xml Here's to 40 Women Over 40 http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/heres-40-women-over-40 The new 40 Over 40 list is filled with impressive, inspiring women. But there&#39;s one problem with it. Kerry Hannon Photo from fortyover40.com July 30, 2014, 9:13 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/experts/2621/rss.xml Women and Money Management: A Sad Story http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/women-and-money-management-sad-story The new Prudential survey about women and money made personal-finance writer Kerry Hannon want to bang her head on her desk. Kerry Hannon Thinkstock July 15, 2014, 9:23 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/experts/2621/rss.xml The Big Money Mistake Divorcing Women Make http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/big-money-mistake-divorcing-women-make Here are six tips to get the retirement plan funds you deserve in a settlement. Kerry Hannon Thinkstock June 30, 2014, 9:15 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/experts/2621/rss.xml Hopeful Money News About Boomer Couples http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/hopeful-money-news-about-boomer-couples Personal finance expert Kerry Hannon offers tips based on Money magazine&#39;s big survey of married couples and their money. Kerry Hannon Thinkstock June 18, 2014, 8:43 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/experts/2621/rss.xml 8 Money and Work Tips for My College-Grad Niece http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/8-money-and-work-tips-my-college-grad-niece Here is helpful advice for you and for the rest of the Class of 2014. Kerry Hannon Photo courtesy Cliff Hackel New grad Caitlin Bonney May 21, 2014, 9:45 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/experts/2621/rss.xml Where Are All the Female Financial Advisers? http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/where-are-all-female-financial-advisers A new CFP Board survey finds a scarcity of female financial advisers. Here&#39;s why and what it means if you want to hire one. Kerry Hannon Courtesy of the CFP Board Eleanor Blayney May 7, 2014, 11:04 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/experts/2621/rss.xml The No. 1 Way Women Can Succeed More at Work http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/no-1-way-women-can-succeed-more-work The authors of &#39;The Confidence Code&#39; say women need more confidence to be more successful at work. Kerry Hannon Photo by Marissa Rauch 'The Confidence Code' co-authors Claire Shipman and Katty Kay April 22, 2014, 10:25 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/experts/2621/rss.xml 11 Places to Find Money to Start A Business http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/11-places-find-money-start-business Here are 11 places you can get money to start a business in midlife. Kerry Hannon Thinkstock April 9, 2014, 8:37 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/experts/2621/rss.xml Taking a Second Look at Midlifers' Second Acts http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/taking-second-look-midlifers-second-acts For her updated version of &#39;What&#39;s Next?&#39; author Kerry Hannon finds out what happened to the career-switching boomers she wrote about in the first edition. Kerry Hannon Photo courtesy of Lisa Eaves Lisa Eaves, from Fannie Mae job to acupuncturist April 1, 2014, 9:26 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/experts/2621/rss.xml Shrewd Money Advice for Women Over 50 http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/shrewd-money-advice-women-over-50 Carrie Schwab-Pomerantz, author of &#39;The Charles Schwab Guide to Finances After Fifty, offers shrewd money tips to women in their 50s and 60s. Kerry Hannon Thinkstock March 17, 2014, 9:44 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/experts/2621/rss.xml Women and Long-Term Care Insurance http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/women-and-long-term-care-insurance Now that some long-term care insurers are charging women more than men, here&#39;s a female shopper&#39;s guide. Kerry Hannon Thinkstock February 19, 2014, 2:27 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/experts/2621/rss.xml Credit Card Challenges Boomer Women Are Facing http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/credit-card-challenges-boomer-women-are-facing A new study raises serious concerns about the ways boomer women handle credit cards. An expert offers advice for them. Kerry Hannon Thinkstock February 5, 2014, 12:37 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/experts/2621/rss.xml What Works for Women at Work Today http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/what-works-women-work-today The authors of <em>What Works for Women at Work</em> offer advice for dealing with bias in the office. Kerry Hannon Photo by Margot Hartford of Margot Hartford Photography Co-authors Rachel Dempsey and Joan C. Williams January 22, 2014, 9:13 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/experts/2621/rss.xml When a Money Writer's Health Policy Was Canceled http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/when-money-writers-health-policy-was-canceled After money writer Kerry Hannon learned her health insurance policy was cancelled, she jumped into action. Here&#39;s her advice if you must shop for coverage. Kerry Hannon Thinkstock January 8, 2014, 3:31 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/experts/2621/rss.xml Get More Out of Life as a 'New Senior Woman' http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/get-more-out-life-new-senior-woman The co-author of &#39;The New Senior Woman&#39; reveals what she learned interviewing 200 vibrant older women across America Kerry Hannon Courtesy of Kerry Hannon Kerry Hannon and her mom December 16, 2013, 2:39 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/experts/2621/rss.xml Purpose Prize Winner Fights for Caregivers http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/purpose-prize-winner-fights-caregivers Barbara Young, a winner of the Purpose Prize, helped nannies get better pay and benefits. Her new goal: better working conditions for aides to the elderly. Kerry Hannon Photo Courtesy of Encore.org December 6, 2013, 9:24 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/experts/2621/rss.xml One Woman's Zeal to Get Female Staffers to Save http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/one-womans-zeal-get-female-staffers-save One firm&#39;s workshops got its females to save more for retirement and offer smart ideas for women everywhere. Kerry Hannon Photo courtesy of Annette Grabow Annette Grabow, Manager of Retirement Benefits, M.A. Mortenson Co. November 8, 2013, 7:09 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/experts/2621/rss.xml How to Mentor Women Vets Who'd Love Your Help http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/how-mentor-women-vets-whod-love-your-help The group known as Joining Forces Mentoring Plus assists female veterans, spouses and caregivers with their careers. Kerry Hannon Thinkstock November 1, 2013, 12:13 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/experts/2621/rss.xml Mika Brzezinski's Mentoring Gesture Left Me Cold http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/mika-brzezinskis-mentoring-gesture-left-me-cold A recent gesture by TV&#39;s Mika Brzezinski got me thinking about how and when midlife women should assist younger ones. I have four suggestions. Kerry Hannon From nbcnews.com October 11, 2013, 10:43 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/experts/2621/rss.xml The One Way Women Can Stress Less at Work http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/one-way-women-can-stress-less-work Debora Spar, the author of &#39;Wonder Women,&#39; says women can stress less at work if they start &#34;satisficing.&#34; Kerry Hannon Thinkstock September 25, 2013, 11:24 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/experts/2621/rss.xml A New Approach to Owning Stocks in Retirement http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/new-approach-owning-stocks-retirement A new, provocative study says you should start retirement with about 20 percent in stocks and then gradually add to that amount. Kerry Hannon Thinkstock September 20, 2013, 1:27 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/experts/2621/rss.xml The Diana Nyad Swim: 7 Career Lessons for Women http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/diana-nyad-swim-7-career-lessons-women Diana Nyad&#8217;s amazing&#160;swimming feat offers these seven career lessons for boomer women. Kerry Hannon Courtesy diananyad.com Diana Nyad September 3, 2013, 11:33 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/experts/2621/rss.xml 10 Ways to Cut the Cost of Going Back to College http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/10-ways-cut-cost-going-back-college These tips can you help you save on tuition when going back to college in midlife. Kerry Hannon Thinkstock August 30, 2013, 6:31 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/experts/2621/rss.xml Women: Are You Prepared for a Money Emergency? http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/women-are-you-prepared-money-emergency Many women don&#39;t have enough in emergency savings. Here&#8217;s how to be ready for that rainy day. Kerry Hannon Thinkstock August 16, 2013, 1:41 pm