Next Avenue - Health & Well-Being - Most Recent An RSS feed of the Health & Well-Being channel for Next Avenue. http://www.nextavenue.org/ en http://www.nextavenue.org/sites/all/themes/nextavenue/images/rss-na-logo.png http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/health-and-well-being-rss.xml What Is Gout and Why Is It Undertreated? http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-12/what-gout-and-why-it-undertreated Gout, dubbed as the &#34;disease of kings,&#34; afflicts those in midlife most. Here are its causes and cures. Stephen L. Antczak Thinkstock December 19, 2014, 12:48 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/health-and-well-being-rss.xml Posture Tips to Help You Feel Younger http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-12/posture-tips-help-you-feel-younger Paying attention to your body&#39;s alignment now can save you from serious health problems down the road. Beth Levine Thinkstock December 18, 2014, 2:49 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/health-and-well-being-rss.xml The Burden of Secrets: Overcoming Depression http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/burden-secrets-overcoming-depression This motivational speaker shares his depression and near-suicide story and identifies seven steps to healing. S.L. Young Thinkstock December 17, 2014, 2:30 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/health-and-well-being-rss.xml Should You Get the Pneumonia Vaccine? http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-12/should-you-get-pneumonia-vaccine You or your parents may need to because new guidelines say people 65 and older need two shots to ward off this serious disease.<br /> Stephen Antczak Thinkstock December 15, 2014, 6:08 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/health-and-well-being-rss.xml Your Living Will: What If You Change Your Mind? http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-12/your-living-will-what-if-you-change-your-mind Have you checked your living will lately to be sure you are still good with those decisions? Here&#39;s a guide to reviewing your paperwork. Elizabeth O'Brien Thinkstock December 15, 2014, 11:27 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/health-and-well-being-rss.xml 9 Ways to Protect Yourself From Falls This Winter http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-12/9-ways-protect-yourself-falls-winter These nine tips will help you overcome the fear of slipping and hurting yourself this winter. Sheryl Kraft Thinkstock December 12, 2014, 4:14 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/health-and-well-being-rss.xml Do Men or Women Worry More About Retirement? http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-12/who%E2%80%99s-more-worried-about-retirement-men-or-women A new survey by Financial Engines founds that men are more anxious about getting older than women are. Anne Tergesen Thinkstock December 9, 2014, 11:57 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/health-and-well-being-rss.xml The Man Who 'Grew Young at 70' http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-12/man-who-grew-young-70 Sanford Bennett, the father of eternal youth, wrote a strange book in 1912 &#8212; Old Age: Its Cause and Prevention &#8212; claiming to have become a younger man at age 70 through his peculiar fitness regime. Greg Daugherty Photos from Old Age: Its Cause and Prevention Photo caption in book: Note the smooth throat lines December 9, 2014, 9:30 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/health-and-well-being-rss.xml The Good News: 70 Is Not the New 60 http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-12/good-news-70-not-new-60 Why this author argues that being 70 has its benefits and should not be considered &#34;the new 60. Barbara Rady Kazdan Photo courtesy of Barbara Kazdan December 8, 2014, 5:32 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/health-and-well-being-rss.xml 7 Most Common Workout Mistakes Beginners Make http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-12/7-most-common-workout-mistakes-beginners-make Trying to get into an exercise routine in midlife? Avoid these seven common workout mistakes that beginners make. Linda Melone Thinkstock December 8, 2014, 3:27 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/health-and-well-being-rss.xml My Self-Challenge: Ten 5K Races for Turning 50 http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/my-self-challenge-ten-5k-races-turning-50 One Next Avenue writer decided to run 50 kilometers to mark her 50th birthday and raise some money along the way. Here are her six tips if you want to mark a milestone. Photo by Liza Hogan A family selfie taken after the author (right) finished the last of her 10 races. December 8, 2014, 1:01 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/health-and-well-being-rss.xml The Shift That Will Utterly Transform Society http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/shift-will-utterly-transform-society A PBS film will investigate what&#39;s happening to the growing aging population and urges society to stop seeing boomers as &#8220;the pig in the python.&#8221; December 4, 2014, 3:08 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/health-and-well-being-rss.xml Could Your Mom or Dad Be Malnourished? http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-12/could-your-mom-or-dad-be-malnourished Malnutrition is a common but underdiagnosed problem in older adults. Here are seven simple ways to make sure your parent is getting enough nourishment. Rita Rubin Thinkstock December 3, 2014, 2:47 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/health-and-well-being-rss.xml 5 Biggest Vision Questions, Answered http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-12/5-biggest-vision-questions-answered Find out whether or not carrots really do improve vision, the best way to relieve dry eyes and more. Beth Levine Thinkstock December 2, 2014, 5:40 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/health-and-well-being-rss.xml Tablet Under the Tree? Heed This Health Advice http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/tablet-under-tree-heed-health-advice Here are eight ways to avoid injury, sleeplessness and even depression that can result from using an electronic tablet. Deborah Quilter Thinkstock December 2, 2014, 2:15 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/health-and-well-being-rss.xml 5 Ways Sexuality is Alive (and Lively) As We Age http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-12/5-ways-sexuality-alive-and-lively-we-age Finding her grandma&#39;s risqu&#233; photos made the author re-think sex and aging, leading her to reflect how sexuality is alive and well in later years. Barbara McNally Thinkstock December 1, 2014, 3:43 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/health-and-well-being-rss.xml Why You Should Stop Stressing Over Stress http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-11/why-you-should-stop-stressing-over-stress Science supports living for today and turning to friends and family to reduce stress. Here&#39;s how to do it. Jeanne Dorin Thinkstock November 26, 2014, 2:10 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/health-and-well-being-rss.xml 8 Big Excuses That Kill Your Motivation to Exercise http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-11/8-big-excuses-kill-your-motivation-exercise Use these easy 10-minute tips to help you get motivated to lose weight. Jackie Dishner Thinkstock November 26, 2014, 12:36 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/health-and-well-being-rss.xml Are You Having a Midlife Crisis or a U-curve? http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/are-you-having-midlife-crisis-or-u-curve Before you make any radical lchanges at midlife, consider that any &#34;crisis&#34; you&#39;re having may simply may be the bottom of a happiness &#34;U-curve.&#34; Thinkstock November 26, 2014, 12:08 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/health-and-well-being-rss.xml Giving Thanks for a New, Thinner Body http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/giving-thanks-new-thinner-body Kevin McGrath offers his Thanksgiving thoughts about his recent weight loss surgery and how it&#39;s changing the holiday for him. Kevin McGrath Photo courtesy Kevin McGrath Kevin, Mom and daughter Vika, Thanksgiving 2007 November 26, 2014, 10:06 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/health-and-well-being-rss.xml Fun Ways to Burn Off Thanksgiving Dinner http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-11/fun-ways-burn-thanksgiving-dinner Here&#39;s a look at how many calories are in classic Thanksgiving Day dinner main dishes and sides and some exercises to balance out the caloric overload. Linda Melone Thinkstock November 24, 2014, 2:33 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/health-and-well-being-rss.xml Turkey With a Twist: Rethinking Thanksgiving http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/turkey-twist-rethinking-thanksgiving How have your Thanksgiving gatherings changed over the years? &#160;See how Next Avenue readers say they have adapted to changing families and needs. (Photo courtesy of Pamela Hastings) Reader Pamela Hastings hosted a Mexican-themed Thanksgiving with a piƱata. November 20, 2014, 9:40 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/health-and-well-being-rss.xml Why You Should Get Microsoft's New Fitness Band http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-11/why-you-should-get-microsofts-new-fitness-band Here are the pluses and minuses of the new wearable gadget that tracks fitness. Julio Ojeda-Zapata Photos from Microsoft.com November 14, 2014, 10:24 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/health-and-well-being-rss.xml Jerry Seinfeld's Autism Announcement Creates a Stir http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-11/jerry-seinfelds-autism-announcement-creates-stir Seinfeld&#39;s revelation of his self-diagnosis of autism has shocked many people, drawing both praise and criticism. Beth Arky Photo by Andrew H. Walker/Getty Images for Mercedes-Benz Jerry Seinfeld November 13, 2014, 12:13 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/health-and-well-being-rss.xml 7 Tips to Get the Most From Your Moisturizer http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-11/7-tips-get-most-your-moisturizer You might be surprised to learn that you could be moisturizing better &#8212; and get through the winter without chapped, dry skin. Dawn Wilder Thinkstock November 11, 2014, 5:09 pm