Next Avenue - Health & Well-Being - Most Recent An RSS feed of the Health & Well-Being channel for Next Avenue. http://www.nextavenue.org/ en http://www.nextavenue.org/sites/all/themes/nextavenue/images/rss-na-logo.png http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/health-and-well-being-rss.xml 7 Brain-Boosting Effects of Exercise http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-09/7-brain-boosting-effects-exercise Research shows that working up a sweat makes you smarter, less forgetful and happier. Linda Melone, CSCS Thinkstock September 16, 2014, 4:48 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/health-and-well-being-rss.xml Think Twice Before You Text That Message http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/think-twice-you-text-message A hand surgeon explains the dangers of texting — and why it's worse for boomers. Deborah Quilter Thinkstock September 15, 2014, 4:07 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/health-and-well-being-rss.xml Fiftysomething Diet: 6 Steps to a Healthier Fall Soup http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/fiftysomething-diet-6-steps-healthier-fall-soup It's the perfect time for a bowl of warm soup. Here's our foolproof formula that lets you cook and serve it in 30 minutes. Maureen Callahan Thinkstock September 11, 2014, 3:22 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/health-and-well-being-rss.xml Inside the Mind of Alzheimer’s http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/inside-mind-alzheimer%E2%80%99s Journalist Greg O'Brien documents his battle with the brain-wasting disease in his book, 'On Pluto. Thinkstock September 10, 2014, 7:47 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/health-and-well-being-rss.xml Joan Rivers' Death: Facts About Vocal Cord Surgery http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-09/joan-rivers-death-facts-about-vocal-cord-surgery Joan Rivers’ death points the spotlight on vocal cord surgery and voice treatments that are often sought out by older people. Michelle V. Rafter Getty Images Entertainment September 5, 2014, 4:50 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/health-and-well-being-rss.xml 8 Herbs and Spices That Fight Disease http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-09/8-herbs-and-spices-fight-disease Cooking with these seasonings regularly can protect you from Parkinson's, Alzheimer's, eye disease and more. Deborah Long September 5, 2014, 3:05 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/health-and-well-being-rss.xml Are Too Many People Having Spine Surgery? http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-09/are-too-many-people-having-spine-surgery Spine surgeon Dr. David Hanscom weighs in on the overuse of back surgery. Dr. David Hanscom Thinkstock September 5, 2014, 2:43 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/health-and-well-being-rss.xml How Chemicals in Plastic Lower Testosterone http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/how-chemicals-plastic-lower-testosterone Here's how to protect yourself from chemicals that lower testosterone. Thinkstock September 5, 2014, 12:24 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/health-and-well-being-rss.xml DIY Personal Training: Your Money-Saving Guide http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-09/diy-personal-training-your-money-saving-guide Here are six ways to get the benefits of a personal trainer without the price tag. Linda Melone Thinkstock September 5, 2014, 10:55 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/health-and-well-being-rss.xml 7 Things Skinny People Eat All The Time http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-09/7-things-skinny-people-eat-all-time Include these foods in your diet to make you feel full and boost your metabolism for overall health perks and weight loss. Beth Howard September 4, 2014, 5:02 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/health-and-well-being-rss.xml Why This Fictional Web Series Strikes a Nerve http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-09/why-fictional-web-series-strikes-nerve Broadway performer Stacia Fernandez uses her comic chops to take on ageism and hopes that her show, 'Middle (St)age,' will show the value of age. Chris Hewitt Photo from Middle (St)age/Stage 17 September 4, 2014, 3:08 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/health-and-well-being-rss.xml TED Talk: How to Live Passionately at Any Age http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/ted-talk-how-live-passionately-any-age Author Isabel Allende's new TED talk is about living passionately at any age. September 4, 2014, 12:02 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/health-and-well-being-rss.xml Why Letting Go Is the Path to Happiness http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/why-letting-go-path-happiness Dr. Judith Orloff, the author of 'The Ecstasy of Surrender' says that letting go will make you more fulfilled and has anti-aging benefits, too. Thinkstock September 2, 2014, 3:41 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/health-and-well-being-rss.xml The True Power of Oldness http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/true-power-oldness An Australian ad campaign aims to shed light on age discrimination in the workplace.  August 29, 2014, 1:58 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/health-and-well-being-rss.xml 6 Beliefs that Sabotage Your Health http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-08/6-beliefs-sabotage-your-health Think that health advice applies to everyone but you? Time to reconsider. Linda Melone Thinkstock August 28, 2014, 6:30 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/health-and-well-being-rss.xml Try This Simple Trick to Drink Less Wine http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/try-simple-trick-drink-less-wine Studies show that sticking to a “rule of thumb” when pouring a glass of wine encourages people to pour less. Thinkstock August 27, 2014, 4:20 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/health-and-well-being-rss.xml What’s That You Said About New Hearing Aids? http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-08/what%E2%80%99s-you-said-about-new-hearing-aids Apple and traditional hearing aid devicemakers have partnered to improve technologies. Julio Ojeda-Zapata Thinkstock August 27, 2014, 3:30 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/health-and-well-being-rss.xml Beyond the Corn Dog: 7 Unusual Fair Foods http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-08/beyond-corn-dog-7-unusual-fair-foods Festival food has come a long way from popcorn and cotton candy. Running the gamut from goofy to gourmet, here are seven of our favorites. Jill Yanish August 26, 2014, 2:35 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/health-and-well-being-rss.xml Paul McCartney, Speaking Words of Wisdom http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/paul-mccartney-speaking-words-wisdom This author gleaned six life and work lessons from the latest show of the legendary Beatle. Photo by Neilson Barnard/Getty Images August 25, 2014, 4:09 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/health-and-well-being-rss.xml Top Chefs' Tips for the Late Summer Harvest http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/top-chefs-tips-late-summer-harvest Backyard gardeners rejoice! Eight of the country’s top chefs offer advice on how to enjoy oh so many zucchinis, tomatoes, apples, and more. Photo courtesy Rebecca Katz August 22, 2014, 6:07 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/health-and-well-being-rss.xml 6 Surprising Things That Raise Your Skin Cancer Risk http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-08/6-surprising-things-raise-your-skin-cancer-risk Skipping sunscreen and hitting the tanning beds aren't the only ways to increase your risk. Get to know all the risk factors, plus how you can stay cancer-free Beth Levine Thinkstock August 21, 2014, 5:24 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/health-and-well-being-rss.xml The Pain-Reducing Power of Water Workouts http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/pain-reducing-power-water-workouts Here's how to get a more intense workout, and less joint pain, with high intensity interval training in the water. Thinkstock August 19, 2014, 5:57 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/health-and-well-being-rss.xml Help Parents Avoid Unwanted Medical Treatment http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/help-parents-avoid-unwanted-medical-treatment A new study shows older Americans aren’t getting the type of care they want at life’s end. Thinkstock August 19, 2014, 5:44 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/health-and-well-being-rss.xml Great Ways to Lose Weight Without Really Trying http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-08/great-ways-lose-weight-without-really-trying Put your weight loss on autopilot with these easy tips for dropping 10 pounds or more. Beth Howard Thinkstock August 19, 2014, 5:15 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/health-and-well-being-rss.xml How to Discover Yourself by Exploring Your Past http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/how-discover-yourself-exploring-your-past London photographer Chino Otsuka finds a way to make sense of the past and reconcile it with the present  Imagine Finding Me, © Chino Otsuka 1976 & 2005, Japan August 18, 2014, 8:10 pm