Next Avenue - Health & Well-Being - Most Recent An RSS feed of the Health & Well-Being channel for Next Avenue. http://www.nextavenue.org/ en http://www.nextavenue.org/sites/all/themes/nextavenue/images/rss-na-logo.png http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/health-and-well-being-rss.xml Why Boomers Are a Boon to the U.S. Economy http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-07/why-boomers-are-boon-us-economy Lincoln Caplan says the widely-used "dependency ratio" is inaccurate and that other measures are better gauges of demographics and aging in America. Lincoln Caplan Thinkstock July 22, 2014, 8:37 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/health-and-well-being-rss.xml Are Your Friends Bad For Your Health? http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-07/are-your-friends-bad-your-health 4 ways to handle toxic behaviors and protect your health. Linda Melone Thinkstock July 21, 2014, 4:02 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/health-and-well-being-rss.xml Fiftysomething Diet: 5 Healthy Summer Treats http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/fiftysomething-diet-5-healthy-summer-treats Beat the heat with these cool and refreshing recipes. Maureen Callahan July 17, 2014, 3:43 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/health-and-well-being-rss.xml When Should You Push For a Geriatric Assessment? http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-07/when-should-you-push-geriatric-assessment Taking a team approach can net the best results for your parents. Eileen Beal Thinkstock July 16, 2014, 3:01 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/health-and-well-being-rss.xml Brain Games that Could Pay Off in Retirement http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-07/brain-games-could-pay-retirement Some activities and exercises show promise in fighting dementia. Elizabeth O'Brien iStock July 14, 2014, 9:49 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/health-and-well-being-rss.xml The Art of Caring for Older Patients http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-07/art-caring-older-patients A geriatrician says doctors should pay less attention to the numbers and more attention to the patient. Michael Wasserman, M.D. iStock July 14, 2014, 9:17 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/health-and-well-being-rss.xml 10 Ways to Live Longer and Better http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-07/10-ways-live-longer-and-better A doctor shares his tips for aging well. Stephen G. Jones, M.D. Thinkstock July 11, 2014, 11:38 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/health-and-well-being-rss.xml 5 Causes of Foot Pain and How to Fix Them http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-07/5-causes-foot-pain-and-how-fix-them Walking doesn't have to be painful. A podiatrist weighs in on the easiest solutions to each problem. Beth Levine July 11, 2014, 9:17 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/health-and-well-being-rss.xml Surprising Factors Affecting Workout Energy After 50 http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-07/surprising-factors-affecting-workout-energy-after-50 Fix these seven issues to beat fatigue and revive your fitness routine. Linda Melone Thinkstock July 10, 2014, 11:44 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/health-and-well-being-rss.xml How Long Should You Get Health Screenings? http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-07/how-long-should-you-get-health-screenings After a certain age, some of the screening may not offer you any benefit. Rita Rubin Thinkstock July 9, 2014, 5:08 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/health-and-well-being-rss.xml 4 Ways to Keep Your Parents (And You) Safe http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/4-ways-keep-your-parents-and-you-safe The U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission has a new focus on people 65 and older and here are ways to prevent home accidents where they're at particular risk. Caroline Mayer Thinkstock July 6, 2014, 10:17 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/health-and-well-being-rss.xml New Rules to Help Avoid Outliving Your Money http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/new-rules-may-help-you-outlive-your-money The Treasury Department's rules could make employers more willing to offer employees with 401(k) plans longevity annuities, sometimes called longevity insurance or deferred-income annuities. Thinkstock July 2, 2014, 10:07 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/health-and-well-being-rss.xml Marijuana Is a Boomer Business http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-07/marijuana-boomer-business At the Cannabis Business Summit in Colorado, boomers met up to see where cause met commerce and to learn about the profits of pot. Robyn Griggs Lawrence Photos by Povy Kendal Atchison, povy.com Peter Stoyt showed greenhouse solutions for cannabis growers, with tomato plants. July 1, 2014, 12:04 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/health-and-well-being-rss.xml Suicide Risk in the Elderly http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/suicide-risk-elderly Watch for these warning signs for suicide in the elderly and take them seriously. Marlayna Glynn Brown Thinkstock June 30, 2014, 4:56 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/health-and-well-being-rss.xml Who Are Americans 65 and Older? http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-06/who-are-americans-65-and-older Here are eight intriguing findings from a new U.S. Census report on them. Thinkstock June 30, 2014, 2:57 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/health-and-well-being-rss.xml 7 Steps to a Healthier Barbecue http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/7-steps-healthier-barbecue Here's how to make the best Fourth of July cookout ever. Maureen Callahan Thinkstock June 26, 2014, 10:33 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/health-and-well-being-rss.xml The Healthiest States for Retirees http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-06/healthiest-states-retirees A survey ranks the states based on health and lifestyle statistics for those over 65. Elizabeth O'Brien Thinkstock June 26, 2014, 9:08 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/health-and-well-being-rss.xml 7 Everyday Habits That Can Cause Cancer http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-06/7-everyday-habits-can-cause-cancer Even if you don't smoke and do stay out of the sun, these actions might be increasing your cancer risk. Beth Levine June 25, 2014, 11:07 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/health-and-well-being-rss.xml 3 Festive Drinks for a Fun July 4th http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-06/3-festive-drinks-fun-july-4th These fun, festive Fourth of July drink recipes will make you the toast of your summer gatherings. Bryce Kirchoff June 19, 2014, 8:07 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/health-and-well-being-rss.xml What’s Best at Midlife: Cardio or Weights? http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-06/what%E2%80%99s-best-midlife-cardio-or-weights Here's what you need to know about both sides to determine your optimal fitness plan. Linda Melone Thinkstock June 17, 2014, 5:34 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/health-and-well-being-rss.xml When Music Becomes Your Medicine http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/when-music-becomes-your-medicine Playing an instrument provides people with health issues surprising physical and emotional benefits. Bart Astor Photo courtesy KXAN TV, Austin, Texas Irene Strait, a COPD patient, plays the harmonica as part of her therapy. June 16, 2014, 6:02 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/health-and-well-being-rss.xml 9 Things Your Doctor Wants to Tell You http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-06/9-things-your-doctor-wants-tell-you Become an ace in the examination room and get more from your office visits with these physician-approved tips. Andrea Atkins June 15, 2014, 1:54 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/health-and-well-being-rss.xml Swimming Buddies Build Strong Bonds and Bodies http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-06/swimming-buddies-building-stronger-bonds-and-bodies These pool workout buddies found friendship and support, a factor for longevity. Gayle Golden Thinkstock June 13, 2014, 12:10 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/health-and-well-being-rss.xml Fiftysomething Diet: Do You Need to Detox? http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/fiftysomething-diet-do-you-need-detox These are three questions you should be ask yourself before trying a fast or a cleanse. Maureen Callahan Thinkstock June 12, 2014, 4:23 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/health-and-well-being-rss.xml 3 Innovative Ways to Age in Place http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/3-innovative-ways-age-place Boomers and their parents are finding new ways to live at home longer. Thinkstock June 11, 2014, 9:59 am