Next Avenue - Health & Well-Being - Most Recent An RSS feed of the Health & Well-Being channel for Next Avenue. http://www.nextavenue.org/ en http://www.nextavenue.org/sites/all/themes/nextavenue/images/rss-na-logo.png http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/health-and-well-being-rss.xml The Revolutionary Norman Lear, On Life http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/revolutionary-norman-lear-life At 92, TV giant Norman Lear lives with no regrets, is pitching new scripts and finds joy in the small things, like his breakfast omelette. Richard Harris Photos by David Pepper Norman Lear October 21, 2014, 5:45 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/health-and-well-being-rss.xml When Your Adult Child Has a Mental Health Issue http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/when-your-adult-child-has-mental-health-issue It's hard to help your grown children when they're struggling with mental health conditions, especially if they're no longer living with you. Here's how parents can offer support and stay connected. Elizabeth Fishel and Jeffrey Arnett Thinkstock October 21, 2014, 3:31 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/health-and-well-being-rss.xml How Denial Kept Him From Confronting His Weight http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/how-denial-kept-him-confronting-his-weight Here's what finally drove this man to face his lifelong struggle with obesity and take action. Kevin McGrath Photos courtesy Kevin McGrath Kevin and his brother, Steve, skiing Colorado in 1981 October 20, 2014, 11:07 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/health-and-well-being-rss.xml Beware Direct-to-Consumer Breast Cancer Tests http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-10/beware-direct-consumer-breast-cancer-tests Alternative detection devices are unproven. Rita Rubin Thinkstock October 17, 2014, 12:40 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/health-and-well-being-rss.xml 5 Secrets to Transform Your Experience of Aging http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-10/5-secrets-transform-your-experience-aging Ed Merck, author of Sailing the Mystery, says his five secrets will help you shift from a sense of loss as you grow older to a sense of gain. Ed Merck Thinkstock October 16, 2014, 5:50 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/health-and-well-being-rss.xml Why We Get Headaches and How to Prevent Them http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-10/why-we-get-headaches-and-how-prevent-them Here are the best ways to prevent migraines, plus signs that your headache could be something worse. Beth Levine Thinkstock October 13, 2014, 3:16 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/health-and-well-being-rss.xml Flu Shots: Answers to 5 Pressing Questions http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/flu-shots-answers-5-pressing-questions An expert provides a primer, and actress Judith Light provides the star power. Thinkstock October 13, 2014, 2:44 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/health-and-well-being-rss.xml Secrets From the Island Where People Forget to Die http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/secrets-island-where-people-forget-die Here's advice for longevity from an ancestral islander. Thinkstock October 9, 2014, 2:48 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/health-and-well-being-rss.xml The Health Hazards of Sitting Too Much http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-10/health-hazards-sitting-too-much The dangers of sitting are increasingly well-documented. Here's what to do to make yourself get up and move around. Jeanne Dorin Thinkstock October 7, 2014, 3:51 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/health-and-well-being-rss.xml 3 Recipes to Capture the Flavors of Fall http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/3-recipes-capture-flavors-fall Fall is the perfect time to whip up delicious goodies that capture the flavors of the season. Enjoy a taste of autumn with these easy recipes. Meggan Hill October 7, 2014, 12:19 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/health-and-well-being-rss.xml 7 Little Things You Can Do to Empower Yourself http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-10/7-little-things-you-can-do-empower-yourself Try these easy, intuitive tricks to feel powerful. Jackie Dishner October 6, 2014, 3:46 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/health-and-well-being-rss.xml The Best Exercise to Protect Your Bones http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-10/best-exercise-protect-your-bones High-impact activities, like jumping jacks, can keep your bones strong and guard against fractures. Sally Wadyka Thinkstock October 6, 2014, 2:43 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/health-and-well-being-rss.xml Joan Lunden on Challenges, Guilt and Caregiving http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/joan-lunden-challenges-guilt-and-caregiving Here's how her optimistic nature makes Lunden a role model for anyone who is caregiving or fighting cancer. Sherri Snelling Photo from JoanLunden.com October 3, 2014, 3:43 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/health-and-well-being-rss.xml Die at 75? No, Thank You http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/die-75-no-thank-you This author, who is almost 75 years old, argues against distinguished physician Ezekiel Emanuel's article about wanting to die at age 75. Robert L. Kane MD Thinkstock October 3, 2014, 12:37 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/health-and-well-being-rss.xml 4 New Novels With One Theme: Dementia http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-10/4-new-novels-one-theme-dementia Dementia is plot-changing both in literature and life. Here are four new books that center around this brain-wasting disease. Chris Hewitt Thinkstock October 2, 2014, 4:38 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/health-and-well-being-rss.xml 6 Food Cures That Really Work http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-10/6-food-cures-really-work If aches and pains have got you down, try one of these little-known food fixes for fast relief. Jessica Dysart October 1, 2014, 4:32 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/health-and-well-being-rss.xml Is Age 75 the 'Right' Time to Die? http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/age-75-right-time-die This writer responds to the buzzy and provocative Atlantic article about how much life is enough. Jacqueline Damian Thinkstock October 1, 2014, 3:51 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/health-and-well-being-rss.xml Fiftysomething Diet: Should You Go Gluten-Free? http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/fiftysomething-diet-should-you-go-gluten-free Before you hop on the bandwagon of going gluten-free, here's what you need to know about this food craze. Maureen Callahan Thinkstock October 1, 2014, 3:12 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/health-and-well-being-rss.xml Why Are You Tired All The Time? http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-09/why-are-you-tired-all-time Do you find yourself fatigued due to stress? Here's what to do about pervasive, amorphous exhaustion. Jeanne Dorin Thinkstock September 30, 2014, 4:23 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/health-and-well-being-rss.xml Free E-Book: The Aging Well Revolution http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-09/free-e-book-aging-well-revolution How and where will we live as we age? Who will take care of us when we need help? This free ebook gathers ideas and information about how to live independently for as long as possible. September 29, 2014, 9:47 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/health-and-well-being-rss.xml Training Youth Back into Your Body http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/training-youth-back-your-body Taking care of your fascia can bring back “bounce” and ease chronic pain. Thinkstock September 23, 2014, 5:26 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/health-and-well-being-rss.xml Why Elder Care in America Isn't Working http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/why-elder-care-america-isnt-working The author argues we should focus less on caution and more on caring, pointing out how risk aversion results in older people being deprived of activities and subjected to unnecessary suffering. Robert L. Kane MD Thinkstock September 23, 2014, 3:08 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/health-and-well-being-rss.xml 8 Essential Health Checks for Women Over 50 http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-09/8-essential-health-checks-women-over-50 How to feel your best and keep your body healthy in your fifth decade and beyond. Beth Levine September 23, 2014, 12:15 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/health-and-well-being-rss.xml Is Being Bald a Clue to Cancer? http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/being-bald-clue-cancer Male pattern baldness in midlife may illuminate prostate risks. Thinkstock September 23, 2014, 11:45 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/health-and-well-being-rss.xml Domestic Violence Can Worsen as Couples Age http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/domestic-violence-can-worsen-couples-age Abusers’ desire to exert power and control rarely lets up with age. Here's what victims can do if they're in a dangerous relationship. Diana Reese Thinkstock September 18, 2014, 4:28 pm