Next Avenue - Living & Learning - Most Recent An RSS feed of the Living & Learning channel for Next Avenue. http://www.nextavenue.org/ en http://www.nextavenue.org/sites/all/themes/nextavenue/images/rss-na-logo.png http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/living-and-learning-rss.xml A Look Back at Women of the Class of 1969 http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/look-back-women-class-1969 The new film, &#39;Women of &#39;69, Unboxed,&#39; documents Skidmore College&#39;s class of 1969, focusing on its women at that tumultuous time and now. Linda Bernstein April 24, 2015, 10:18 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/living-and-learning-rss.xml Digital Detox: 8 Places to Unplug and Unwind http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2015-04/digital-detox-8-places-unplug-and-unwind Seeking a getaway from electronics? Check out these eight ideas for places to go to unplug and unwind on vacation. Irene S. Levine Photo courtesy of Rosewood Little Dix Bay Rosewood Little Dix Bay, Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands April 23, 2015, 9:57 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/living-and-learning-rss.xml How I Learned to Appreciate 'The Sound of Music' http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/how-i-learned-appreciate-sound-music After refusing to watch The Sound of Music, he finally caved and found new respect for the movie on its 50th anniversary. Kevin Kusinitz Photo from Creative Commons April 23, 2015, 9:53 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/living-and-learning-rss.xml 4 Things I Wish I'd Known Before Retiring Abroad http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2015-04/4-things-i-wish-id-known-retiring-abroad Jonathan Look chucked it all at age 50, in 2012, to begin retiring all over the world. Here&#39;s what he wishes he&#39;d known before starting this chapter of his life. Jonathan Look Photo courtesy of Jonathan Look Sarah and Me at Tigers Nest in Bhutan April 23, 2015, 9:00 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/living-and-learning-rss.xml Extraordinary ‘Last Days in Vietnam’ Resonates Now http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2015-04/extraordinary-%E2%80%98last-days-vietnam%E2%80%99-resonates-now It has been 40 years since U.S. forces made a frantic exit from Vietnam amid chaos. Rory Kennedy&#39;s excellent &#39;Last Days in Vietnam&#39; PBS documentary tells the story and premieres on TV Tuesday April 28. Doug Bradley Photo courtesy of Craig Compiano/USS KIRK Association April 22, 2015, 4:33 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/living-and-learning-rss.xml What Not to Say to Your Friends http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2015-04/what-not-say-your-friends Giving advice to our pals is not always the best strategy. Here&#39;s why, plus the exceptions to these rules. Linda Bernstein Thinkstock April 22, 2015, 3:27 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/living-and-learning-rss.xml The Risks of Co-Signing a Loan With Your Kid http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2015-04/risks-co-signing-loan-your-kid Nick Clements of Magnifymoney.com explains how you could be in trouble if you co-sign a loan with your child or relative and he or she doesn&#39;t pay up. Nick Clements Thinkstock April 22, 2015, 8:55 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/living-and-learning-rss.xml 8 Ways to Cope When You're Overwhelmed http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2015-04/8-ways-cope-when-youre-overwhelmed Between constant babysitting for her grandkids and caregiving for her aging husband, one woman divulges her secrets to staying sane. George Schofield, Ph.D. Pixland April 20, 2015, 6:52 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/living-and-learning-rss.xml 5 Reasons We Love Meryl Streep http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/5-reasons-we-love-meryl-streep Meryl Streep once again shows us how amazing she is by using her voice to defy ageism and sexism. Photo by Kevin Winter/Getty Images April 20, 2015, 3:12 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/living-and-learning-rss.xml The Most Livable Cities in America http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/most-livable-cities-america Here&#39;s a guide to AARP&#39;s new Livability Index, which ranks the nation&#39;s cities, counties, states and neighborhoods, but not necessarily the way you may think Thinkstock April 20, 2015, 8:56 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/living-and-learning-rss.xml Don't Let 'Chemistry' Fool You in Later Life http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2015-04/dont-let-chemistry-fool-you-later-life Can it be true love if you don&#39;t feel anything right away? This writer and therapist gives an emphatic yes. Jed Diamond Thinkstock April 17, 2015, 2:55 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/living-and-learning-rss.xml Why Character Is Key to a Life of Consequence http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2015-04/why-character-key-life-consequence Do you have your personal priorities straight? PBS NewsHour talks with David Brooks about his new book, <em>The Road to Character</em>. Photo from PBS NewsHour David Brooks April 17, 2015, 10:23 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/living-and-learning-rss.xml Should Your High School Senior Take a Gap Year? http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/should-your-high-school-senior-take-gap-year For some kids, it&#39;s beneficial to take a gap year after high school before heading to college. Elizabeth Fishel and Jeffrey Arnett Thinkstock April 17, 2015, 9:41 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/living-and-learning-rss.xml 3 Fun New Guides to Dating, Sex and Romance http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2015-04/3-fun-new-guides-dating-sex-and-romance Here are three good, new books on how to navigate the world of dating, sex and romance after 50. April Braswell Thinkstock April 17, 2015, 9:39 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/living-and-learning-rss.xml How I Became the Guy Who Talks to His Dog http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2015-04/how-i-became-guy-who-talks-his-dog When this writer was younger, he always laughed at the older men who talked to their dogs. Now he&#39;s that guy and is not ashamed of it. Peter Gerstenzang Thinkstock April 16, 2015, 9:14 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/living-and-learning-rss.xml 5 Must-Have Apps for Your Phone and Tablet http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/5-must-have-apps-your-phone-and-tablet Health, knowledge, money and fun &#8212; all at your fingertips. iStock April 16, 2015, 1:16 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/living-and-learning-rss.xml 6 Reasons a Volunteer Vacation is Better Than a Cruise http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2015-04/6-reasons-volunteer-vacation-better-cruise While a relaxing cruise is great, a volunteer vacation allows you to give back, learn and find your purpose. Susan Shain Photo by Justin Sullivan/Getty Images April 15, 2015, 4:43 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/living-and-learning-rss.xml Updating the Hated Hospital Gown http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2015-04/updating-hated-hospital-gown Hospitals are hearing from patients: We hate those uncomfortable, embarrassing gowns! And some are listening. Shefali Luthra Thinkstock April 15, 2015, 2:49 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/living-and-learning-rss.xml 2015 Clutter Challenge: One Room at a Time http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/2015-clutter-challenge-one-room-time Really? Is it time to declutter again? &#160;If only we had some way to make it interesting ... Thinkstock April 14, 2015, 11:16 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/living-and-learning-rss.xml Aging Out of My Bra http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2015-04/aging-out-my-bra Elisabeth Dale, an expert on breasts, finds it difficult to find pretty, feminine and well-fitting bras. Here, she offers four reasons why lingerie brands should target women over 50. Elisabeth Dale Thinkstock April 14, 2015, 10:36 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/living-and-learning-rss.xml The Day I Almost Committed Suicide http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/day-i-almost-committed-suicide Motivational speaker S.L. Young shares his near-suicide story to help others. S.L. Young Thinkstock April 14, 2015, 10:32 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/living-and-learning-rss.xml Supporting Grown Kids Delays Boomers' Retirement http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/supporting-grown-kids-delays-boomers-retirement A new survey from Hearts &#38; Wallets reveals the hidden cost of being the bank of mom and dad. Here&#39;s what boomer parents should do. Thinkstock April 14, 2015, 9:13 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/living-and-learning-rss.xml Nursing Home Gives Students Rent-Free Housing http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2015-04/dutch-nursing-home-offers-rent-free-housing-students This Dutch intergenerational program benefits both students and aging residents. Carey Reed Photo courtesy of Humanitas Student Onno Selbach interacts with two nursing home residents at Humanitas in the Netherlands April 13, 2015, 1:33 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/living-and-learning-rss.xml Aging Out: Children, Autism and Caregiving http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/aging-out-children-autism-and-caregiving When services for those with autism stop at age 21, what are the parents to do? Thinkstock April 13, 2015, 1:29 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/living-and-learning-rss.xml Writer Anne Lamott’s Insights on Turning 61 http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/writer-anne-lamott%E2%80%99s-insights-turning-61 Inspiring nuggets from writer Anne Lamott&#8217;s viral essay on turning 61. Photo by Sam Lamott April 10, 2015, 1:46 pm