Next Avenue - Money & Security - Most Recent An RSS feed of the Money & Security channel for Next Avenue. http://www.nextavenue.org/ en http://www.nextavenue.org/sites/all/themes/nextavenue/images/rss-na-logo.png http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml How Apple Cake Saved Her From Foreclosure http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-04/how-apple-cake-saved-her-foreclosure Angela Logan baked apple cakes furiously to stave off foreclosure. Now her story is a made-for-TV movie, 'Apple Mortgage Cake.' Barbara Bedway Courtesy UPtv.com Kimberly Elise as Angela Logan in 'Apple Mortgage Cake' April 16, 2014, 5:48 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml What Pre-Retirees Should Be Asking About Taxes http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-04/what-pre-retirees-arent-asking-about-taxes-should With April 15 over, it's a good time for pre-retirees to ask themselves these key questions about their retirement plans so they'll make tax-savvy decisions. Holly Kylen Thinkstock April 15, 2014, 2:54 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml When Magazines You Don't Want Clog Your Mailbox http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/when-magazines-you-dont-want-clog-your-mailbox If you've been receiving magazines you never ordered, it may be due to something you did while shopping online. How to prevent that goof and what to do to get the magazines to stop coming. Caroline Mayer Thinkstock April 15, 2014, 10:58 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml Determine Your Hierarchy of Needs for Retirement http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-04/determine-your-hierarchy-needs-retirement The author of 'The New Retirementality' created a hierarchy of financial needs for retirement to help you meet your goals Mitch Anthony April 15, 2014, 8:34 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml Who'll Provide Care When Military Caregivers Can't? http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-04/who-will-provide-care-when-military-caregivers-cant Many military caregivers are the parents of the wounded warriors, in their 50s and 60s. Who'll take over when they can't provide care? Richard Harris Photo by Karanja Gacuca Michelle Obama at White House event honoring military caregivers April 14, 2014, 9:48 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml The Little-Known Obamacare Catch-22 http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-04/little-known-obamacare-catch-22 Tell President Obama to close the gap in Obamacare.  Donna Ballman Thinkstock April 11, 2014, 4:40 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml Saving for Retirement? Retrain Your Brain http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-04/saving-retirement-retrain-your-brain The author of 'The Joy of Financial Security, Donna Skeels Cygan, says you can't let your emotions cloud your financial judgment. Anne Tergesen Thinkstock April 11, 2014, 3:28 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml How to Tap Your Retirement Investment Accounts http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-04/how-tap-your-retirement-investment-accounts Be strategic in deciding which of your retirement funds to tap. Andrea Coombes Thinkstock April 11, 2014, 2:53 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml 8 Ways to Derail Your Retirement http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-04/8-ways-derail-your-retirement Here's how to avoid eight easy ways to derail your retirement. Kenn Tacchino Thinkstock April 11, 2014, 10:39 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml Are You Set to Pay a $262,800 Nursing Home Bill? http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/are-you-set-pay-262800-nursing-home-bill The Genworth Cost of Care Survey 2014 is now out, showing the median cost for a nursing home, assisted living facility and home care. Thinkstock April 11, 2014, 9:34 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml What Kind of Inheritance Do You Owe Your Kids? http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-04/what-kind-inheritance-do-you-owe-your-kids How much of an inheritance to leave your kids is up to you, but if you want to leave them anything, you need to make some plans. Bart Astor Thinkstock April 11, 2014, 9:33 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml Is Too Much of Your Retirement Money in Stocks? http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/too-much-your-retirement-money-stocks Many pre-retirees now have 100 percent of the IRA money in stocks. But that may not be as dangerous as it sounds. Thinkstock April 10, 2014, 5:53 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml Imagining Retirement for Mad Men's Don Draper http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-04/imagining-retirement-mad-mens-don-draper With Mad Men's final season beginning on Sunday and ending next year, here's what Don Draper's retirement might look like in 2015. Greg Daugherty Photo by Michael Yarish/AMC If Don Draper was a retiree today... April 10, 2014, 9:02 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml How Your 401(k) Could Disinherit Your Kids http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-04/how-your-401k-could-disinherit-your-kids Even with a will, your retirement account could go to the wrong person. Matthew Heimer Thinkstock April 9, 2014, 4:08 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml Why You Just Might Want to Retire in Alaska http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-04/why-you-just-might-want-retire-alaska A new study by the National Institute for Retirement Security finds that cold-weather states such as Alaska, Wyoming, Minnesota and North Dakota are the most financially secure states for retirees. Elizabeth Shell, PBS NewsHour Thinkstock April 9, 2014, 8:41 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml Americans' Ostrich Approach to Estate Planning http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/americans-ostrich-approach-estate-planning Most Americans don't have a will, which can be a mistake in many ways. Thinkstock April 8, 2014, 2:51 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml How Boomers Feel About Retirement Now http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/how-boomers-feel-about-retirement-now A new survey of boomers from the Insured Retirement Institute finds a combination of optimism and shrinking confidence. Thinkstock April 7, 2014, 9:54 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml IRA Rollover Ruling Stuns Advisers and Savers http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-04/ira-rollover-ruling-stuns-advisers-and-savers The Tax Court rules that you soon may rollover only one IRA per year.  Robert Powell Thinkstock April 7, 2014, 9:51 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml How to Get Good Long-Term Care Coverage http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-04/how-get-good-long-term-care-coverage The long-term care insurance industry is in turmoil, so here's what you need to know to buy good coverage. Elizabeth O'Brien Thinkstock April 4, 2014, 4:41 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml Can’t Pay Your Taxes? Here’s What To Do http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-04/can%E2%80%99t-pay-your-taxes-here%E2%80%99s-what-do If you don't have the money to pay your taxes, don't let that keep you from filing your 2013 tax return. Bill Bischoff Thinkstock April 3, 2014, 3:12 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml 10 Great Sites to Find Gigs and Part-Time Work http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/10-great-sites-find-gigs-and-part-time-work These are 10 great sites to find jobs with flexible hours and part-time work in retirement. Nancy Collamer From Directselling411.com, Elance.com and BackDoorJobs.com April 3, 2014, 2:13 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml A Guide to the New Retirement Communities http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/guide-new-retirement-communities The author of 'With a Little Help From Our Friends' discusses the new types of retirement communities, whose focus is on community, not golf. Thinkstock April 2, 2014, 12:13 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml Here's Your Retirement Planning Checklist http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-04/heres-your-retirement-planning-checklist This retirement-planning checklist offers a step-by-step guide to reviewing your savings and income. Art Koff Thinkstock April 1, 2014, 9:54 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml Taking a Second Look at Midlifers' Second Acts http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/taking-second-look-midlifers-second-acts For her updated version of 'What's Next?' author Kerry Hannon finds out what happened to the career-switching boomers she wrote about in the first edition. Kerry Hannon Photo courtesy of Lisa Eaves Lisa Eaves, from Fannie Mae job to acupuncturist April 1, 2014, 9:26 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml Understanding the Tax Rules for Caregivers http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-03/understanding-tax-rules-caregivers These are the key tax rules for hiring a caregiver to assist your elderly parent. Stephanie Breedlove Thinkstock March 31, 2014, 3:32 pm