Next Avenue - Money & Security - Most Recent An RSS feed of the Money & Security channel for Next Avenue. http://www.nextavenue.org/ en http://www.nextavenue.org/sites/all/themes/nextavenue/images/rss-na-logo.png http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml Young Prizewinners Help People With Dementia http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/young-prizewinners-help-people-dementia These three student teams won the Stanford Design Challenge, devising products to help people with cognitive impairment. Photo courtesy Taste+ These Taste+ spoons won second place in the Stanford Design Challenge April 23, 2014, 6:20 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml How to Tap Home Equity Without Owing Interest http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-04/how-tap-home-equity-without-owing-interest EquityKey and FirstREX will give you home-equity cash and won&#39;t charge interest if you&#39;ll share some of the home&#39;s appreciation when you sell. Kenneth Harney Thinkstock April 23, 2014, 10:51 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml Retirement Investors: Use a Tactical Strategy http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-04/why-retirement-investors-should-use-tactical-strategy A tactical bucket strategy can help you invest for retirement by preserving capital and avoiding market drops. Drew Horter Thinkstock April 22, 2014, 2:03 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml The Good News About College Costs http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/good-news-about-college-costs Tales of $60,000-a-year college tuition price tags are scary. But in reality, there&#8217;s help to make higher education more affordable.<br /> Elizabeth Fishel and Jeffrey Arnett Thinkstock April 22, 2014, 1:41 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml The 10 Most Popular U.S. Cities for Retirement http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-04/10-most-popular-us-cities-retirement Today&#39;s retirees are following the sun, or at least thinking about it.&#160; Thinkstock April 21, 2014, 10:11 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml How to Retire All Over the World http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-04/how-retire-all-over-world Lynne Martin (author of &#39;Home Sweet Anywhere&#39;) and her husband Tim sold their home, liquidated their belongings and now retire all over the world, going from one country to the next. You can, too. Irene S. Levine Photo courtesy of Lynne Martin Lynne and Tim Martin live "home-free" around the globe April 19, 2014, 5:24 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml How to Guard Against a Wolf of Wall Street http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-04/how-guard-against-wolf-wall-street Tim McCarthy, author of &#39;The Safe Investor,&#39; explains how to guard yourself against a Wolf of Wall Street. Tim McCarthy Photo by Spencer Platt/Getty Images April 18, 2014, 10:39 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml How Apple Cake Saved Her From Foreclosure http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-04/how-apple-cake-saved-her-foreclosure Angela Logan baked apple cakes furiously to stave off foreclosure. Now her story is a made-for-TV movie, &#39;Apple Mortgage Cake.&#39; Barbara Bedway Courtesy UPtv.com Kimberly Elise as Angela Logan in 'Apple Mortgage Cake' April 16, 2014, 5:48 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml What Pre-Retirees Should Be Asking About Taxes http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-04/what-pre-retirees-arent-asking-about-taxes-should With April 15 over, it&#39;s a good time for pre-retirees to ask themselves these key questions about their retirement plans so they&#39;ll make tax-savvy decisions. Holly Kylen Thinkstock April 15, 2014, 2:54 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml When Magazines You Don't Want Clog Your Mailbox http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/when-magazines-you-dont-want-clog-your-mailbox If you&#39;ve been receiving magazines you never ordered, it may be due to something you did while shopping online. How to prevent that goof and what to do to get the magazines to stop coming. Caroline Mayer Thinkstock April 15, 2014, 10:58 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml Determine Your Hierarchy of Needs for Retirement http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-04/determine-your-hierarchy-needs-retirement The author of &#39;The New Retirementality&#39; created a hierarchy of financial needs for retirement to help you meet your goals Mitch Anthony April 15, 2014, 8:34 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml Who'll Provide Care When Military Caregivers Can't? http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-04/who-will-provide-care-when-military-caregivers-cant Many military caregivers are the parents of the wounded warriors, in their 50s and 60s. Who&#39;ll take over when they can&#39;t provide care? Richard Harris Photo by Karanja Gacuca Michelle Obama at White House event honoring military caregivers April 14, 2014, 9:48 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml Get Rid of Telemarketers — for Good! http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-04/get-rid-telemarketers-%E2%80%94-good Signed up for the National Do Not Call Registry but still get hounded by telemarketers? Stop the ringy-dingys for good with these smart tips. Christina Couch iStockphoto April 13, 2014, 10:54 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml The Little-Known Obamacare Catch-22 http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-04/little-known-obamacare-catch-22 Tell President Obama to close the gap in Obamacare.&#160; Donna Ballman Thinkstock April 11, 2014, 4:40 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml Saving for Retirement? Retrain Your Brain http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-04/saving-retirement-retrain-your-brain The author of &#39;The Joy of Financial Security, Donna Skeels Cygan, says you can&#39;t let your emotions cloud your financial judgment. Anne Tergesen Thinkstock April 11, 2014, 3:28 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml How to Tap Your Retirement Investment Accounts http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-04/how-tap-your-retirement-investment-accounts Be strategic in deciding which of your retirement funds to tap. Andrea Coombes Thinkstock April 11, 2014, 2:53 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml 8 Ways to Derail Your Retirement http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-04/8-ways-derail-your-retirement Here&#39;s how to avoid eight easy ways to derail your retirement. Kenn Tacchino Thinkstock April 11, 2014, 10:39 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml Are You Set to Pay a $262,800 Nursing Home Bill? http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/are-you-set-pay-262800-nursing-home-bill The Genworth Cost of Care Survey 2014 is now out, showing the median cost for a nursing home, assisted living facility and home care. Thinkstock April 11, 2014, 9:34 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml What Kind of Inheritance Do You Owe Your Kids? http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-04/what-kind-inheritance-do-you-owe-your-kids How much of an inheritance to leave your kids is up to you, but if you want to leave them anything, you need to make some plans. Bart Astor Thinkstock April 11, 2014, 9:33 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml Is Too Much of Your Retirement Money in Stocks? http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/too-much-your-retirement-money-stocks Many pre-retirees now have 100 percent of the IRA money in stocks. But that may not be as dangerous as it sounds. Thinkstock April 10, 2014, 5:53 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml Imagining Retirement for Mad Men's Don Draper http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-04/imagining-retirement-mad-mens-don-draper With Mad Men&#39;s final season beginning on Sunday and ending next year, here&#39;s what Don Draper&#39;s retirement might look like in 2015. Greg Daugherty Photo by Michael Yarish/AMC If Don Draper was a retiree today... April 10, 2014, 9:02 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml How Your 401(k) Could Disinherit Your Kids http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-04/how-your-401k-could-disinherit-your-kids Even with a will, your retirement account could go to the wrong person. Matthew Heimer Thinkstock April 9, 2014, 4:08 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml Why You Just Might Want to Retire in Alaska http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-04/why-you-just-might-want-retire-alaska A new study by the National Institute for Retirement Security finds that cold-weather states such as Alaska, Wyoming, Minnesota and North Dakota are the most financially secure states for retirees. Elizabeth Shell, PBS NewsHour Thinkstock April 9, 2014, 8:41 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml Americans' Ostrich Approach to Estate Planning http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/americans-ostrich-approach-estate-planning Most Americans don&#39;t have a will, which can be a mistake in many ways. Thinkstock April 8, 2014, 2:51 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml How Boomers Feel About Retirement Now http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/how-boomers-feel-about-retirement-now A new survey of boomers from the Insured Retirement Institute finds a combination of optimism and shrinking confidence. Thinkstock April 7, 2014, 9:54 am