Next Avenue - Money & Security - Most Recent An RSS feed of the Money & Security channel for Next Avenue. http://www.nextavenue.org/ en http://www.nextavenue.org/sites/all/themes/nextavenue/images/rss-na-logo.png http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml How Boomers Can Avoid Becoming Burdens to Their Kids http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2015-03/how-boomers-can-avoid-becoming-burdens-their-kids These seven money tips could make the adult children of boomers grateful by reducing any financial burden on them. Paul Sisolak Thinkstock March 2, 2015, 8:45 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml 3 Ways to Keep Hazards From Ruining Retirement http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2015-02/3-ways-keep-hazards-ruining-retirement Here's how to prepare yourself for those financial bumps along the road to retirement. Walter Updegrave Thinkstock February 27, 2015, 9:17 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml Sizing Up Fidelity's 10 Percent Match on IRAs http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/sizing-fidelitys-10-percent-match-iras Fidelity is offering to match up to 10 percent of some new IRA contributions and other firms are dangling up to $600 in their IRA promotions. Tread cautiously. Thinkstock February 26, 2015, 9:15 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml For a Fun Job In Retirement, Think Out of the Box http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2015-02/fun-job-retirement-think-out-box If you'd like to work part-time in retirement and enjoy yourself while you do it, Unretirement author Chris Farrell says: consider some of these unusual jobs. Chris Farrell Thinkstock February 26, 2015, 9:11 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml What You Need to Know About the Grandparents Tax http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2015-02/what-you-need-know-about-grandparents-tax How to make sure that your grandchildren receive all that you want to leave them. Bill Bischoff Thinkstock February 25, 2015, 12:58 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml Retirees and Their Homes: They Want It Their Way http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/homes-retirees-i-want-it-my-way A fascinating new survey by Merrill Lynch and Age Wave turns conventional wisdom on its head about the homes people live in during retirement. Thinkstock February 25, 2015, 9:06 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml Why You Might Want to Live In a 'Sane Circle' http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2015-02/why-you-might-want-live-sane-circle This rural Wisconsin couple has a monthly mortgage that's under $1,000, but the husband commutes to work 70 miles each way. Bob Sullivan Thinkstock February 24, 2015, 9:44 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml 5 Lies People Tell Themselves About Saving for Retirement http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2015-02/5-lies-people-tell-themselves-about-saving-retirement Don't kid yourself about saving for retirement. If you've been telling yourself one of these five things, it might be time for a reality check. Chuck Jaffe Thinkstock February 23, 2015, 3:59 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml Will Retirement Advisers Start Putting You First? http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2015-02/will-retirement-advisers-start-putting-you-first The new Obama Administration's "fiduciary standard" proposal would require financial advisers to put investors' interests firsts, but a heated battle is expected. Greg Daugherty Thinkstock February 23, 2015, 11:25 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml The Nursing Home Rating System Gets a Reboot http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/nursing-home-rating-system-gets-reboot Here's why so many nursing homes just fell in the Nursing Home Compare five-star ratings and how to select a nursing home wisely. Thinkstock February 23, 2015, 8:39 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml Harper Lee's Book: Stealth Case of Elder Abuse? http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/harper-lees-book-stealth-case-elder-abuse Speculations rise about the possibility of 'To Kill a Mockingbird' author Harper Lee being a victim of elder abuse, bringing attention to why we must protect the vulnerable and fund The Elder Justice Act. Bob Blancato Photo by Eric Draper/White House February 20, 2015, 12:26 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml The Dollars and Sense of Buying a Vacation Home http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2015-02/dollars-and-sense-buying-vacation-home Be sure you know about the hidden costs of vacation homes before you make a purchase. Craig Venezia Thinkstock February 20, 2015, 9:19 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml Conference on Aging Forums Kick Off in Florida http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/conference-aging-forums-kick-florida Couldn't attend the White House Conference on Aging regional forum in Florida today? Here were the highlights. Thinkstock February 19, 2015, 4:30 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml How to Lose 1,000 Square Feet — and Keep It Off http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2015-02/how-lose-1000-square-feet-%E2%80%94-and-keep-it Moving to a small apartment in San Francisco brought joy, not anguish, to this writer. She shares her secrets. Patricia Corrigan Thinkstock February 19, 2015, 10:20 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml 3 Programs That Save Big Bucks In Retirement http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2015-02/3-programs-can-save-you-big-bucks-retirement Don't miss out on these helpful benefits from the U.S. government and Area Agencies on Aging. Steven Richmond Thinkstock February 19, 2015, 8:42 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml Reverse Mortgages: The Rewards and Risks http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2015-02/reverse-mortgages-rewards-and-risks A reverse mortgage can boost your retirement income and let you stay in your home, but you need to know the drawbacks before taking one. Nick Clements Thinkstock February 18, 2015, 9:48 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml Social Security: Best Ways to Max Out Your Benefit http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/social-security-best-ways-max-out-your-benefit Laurence J. Kotlikoff, co-author of 'Get What's Yours' says claiming Social Security benefits as early as you can is 'crazy.' Thinkstock February 17, 2015, 4:37 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml 4 Ways to Get Help Paying Your Medical Bills http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2015-02/4-ways-get-help-paying-your-medical-bills Nerdwallet.com shows you how to spot medical billing errors, secure discounts on your health care bills and hire a patient advocate. Claire Davidson Thinkstock February 16, 2015, 8:36 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml Downton Abbey Lessons About Women and Money http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2015-02/downton-abbey-lessons-about-women-and-money If you inherited a lot of money, would you ask Mr. Carson of Downton Abbey for advice? Some women might. Simone Pathe Photo courtesy of (C) Nick Briggs/Carnival Film & Television Limited 2014 for MASTERPIECE Daisy, Mr. Mason and Mrs. Patmore February 13, 2015, 1:21 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml Obamacare and Your Taxes: What You Need to Know http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/obamacare-and-your-taxes-what-you-need-know As a result of Obamacare, you may face three new tax forms for your 2014 return — or none at all. Thinkstock February 13, 2015, 9:00 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml 3 Things to Know Before You Trade Down http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2015-02/3-things-know-you-trade-down Walter Updegrave, editor of RealDealRetirement.com, recently downsized from a suburban home to a condo. Here's what he learned along the way. Walter Updegrave Thinkstock February 13, 2015, 8:59 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml Why Elder Financial Abuse is Such a Slippery Crime http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/why-elder-financial-abuse-such-slippery-crime While experts debate the precise size of the problem, no one can deny the pain that financial exploitation of the elderly inflicts. But there are some new, notable efforts to attack the problem. Thinkstock February 12, 2015, 3:41 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml Money: The Subject Women Don't Want to Discuss http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/money-subject-women-dont-want-discuss A new Fidelity survey of women finds they'd rather talk about health than wealth with their significant others and blogger Kerry Hannon has some advice. Kerry Hannon Thinkstock February 11, 2015, 8:33 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml The Trouble With Life Expectancy Calculators http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2015-02/trouble-life-expectancy-calculators When doing your retirement planning, be careful about using calculators that estimate how long you'll live. They can be wildly innacurate. Try these approaches instead.  Robert Powell Thinkstock February 10, 2015, 3:43 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml How to Invest Better By Using Social Media http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/how-invest-better-using-social-media Brian D. Egger wrote 'Social Media Strategies for Investing' partly because he felt too many investors were missing out on good, timely information available through Twitter, LinkedIn and crowdsourcing. Thinkstock February 10, 2015, 9:06 am