Next Avenue - Money & Security - Most Recent An RSS feed of the Money & Security channel for Next Avenue. http://www.nextavenue.org/ en http://www.nextavenue.org/sites/all/themes/nextavenue/images/rss-na-logo.png http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml Why Smart People Fall for Investment Scams http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-10/why-smart-people-fall-investment-scams The authors of 'Financial Serial Killers,' Tom Ajamie and Bruce Kelly, explain what makes us fall for financial frauds and offer seven questions you need to ask to avoid getting duped. Tom Ajamie and Bruce Kelly Thinkstock October 19, 2014, 4:47 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml Why You Should Begin Year-End Retirement Planning http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-10/why-you-should-begin-year-end-retirement-planning Don't wait. Now's the time to start your end-of-year retirement planning. Here's a 10-point checklist to guide you. Robert Powell Thinkstock October 17, 2014, 9:09 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml What You Should Tell Your Heirs While You're Around http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-10/what-you-should-tell-your-heirs-while-youre-around Here's why you should let your eventual heirs know before you die what they can expect to inherit. Elizabeth O'Brien Thinkstock October 14, 2014, 2:19 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml Take This Investing IQ Quiz to See What You Know http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-10/take-investing-iq-quiz-see-what-you-know Your answers to this 10-question quiz from Walter Updegrave of RealDealRetirement.com will show you whether you need to bone up about investing. Walter Updegrave Thinkstock October 13, 2014, 2:03 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml Nearing Retirement? Time to Tackle Your Debt http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-10/nearing-retirement-time-tackle-your-debt Voya Retirement Coach Marilyn Timbers says it's important to consider these three things to help you become debt-free in retirement. Marilyn Timbers, Voya Retirement Coach Thinkstock October 13, 2014, 8:45 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml Caring for Your Aging Parents From a Distance http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/caring-your-aging-parents-distance The National Caregiver Alliance offers four tips to make the challenge more manageable. Leah Eskenazi Thinkstock October 13, 2014, 8:43 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml What to Do When You Inherit Your Parent's House http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-10/what-do-when-you-inherit-your-parents-house When you inherit your parent's home, you have three choices: you could sell it, you could move into it or you could rent it out. Here's advice for each scenario. Craig Venezia Thinkstock October 13, 2014, 8:38 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml 4 Money Moves to Outsmart Your Brain http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/4-money-moves-outsmart-your-brain The 'Thinking Money' TV show says we're wired to spend, but its behavioral economists show viewers how to get around that. Thinkstock October 10, 2014, 8:28 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml 4 Scams That Target Boomers http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-10/4-scams-target-boomers Think you're too smart for a scamster? See if you'd fall for one of these frauds. Glenn Ruffenach Thinkstock October 8, 2014, 3:05 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml Retired on $30,000 a Year and Loving It http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-10/retired-30000-year-and-loving-it Billy and Akaisha Kaderli tell how they retired at 38 in 1991 and travel around the world by managing expenses shrewdly. Billy and Akaisha Kaderli Photo courtesy Billy and Akaisha Kaderli October 8, 2014, 11:27 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml How a Parent's Hospital Discharge Can Go Awry http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-10/how-parents-hospital-discharge-can-go-awry Here's what you need to know, and do, to be sure your parent is not pushed out of a hospital prematurely. Jacob Edward Thinkstock October 8, 2014, 11:24 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml Medical Bills: Even Worse Than You Thought http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/medical-bills-even-worse-you-thought A survey and research by NerdWallet Health finds that medical bills are often confusing and wrong, but its expert offers tips to deal with them. Thinkstock October 6, 2014, 12:10 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml Medicare Open Enrollment: How to Shop Smart http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-10/medicare-open-enrollment-how-shop-smart The National Council on Aging offers four tips for buying or switching Medicare Part D and Medicare Advantage plans during the upcoming open enrollment season. Brandy Bauer Thinkstock October 6, 2014, 12:08 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml When Alzheimer's Strikes: Losing Your Money Mind http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/when-alzheimers-strikes-losing-your-money-mind Experts at the Transamerica/MIT AgeLab symposium, Financial Planning in the Shadow of Dementia, offered smart advice for financial advisers and loved ones of their clients. Thinkstock October 6, 2014, 12:06 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml 4 Rules to Prevent Problems for Your Aging Parent http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-10/4-rules-prevent-problems-your-aging-parent This cautionary tale shows what happens when adult children don't meet with their parents to make key financial, legal and housing decisions together. George H. Schofield, Ph.D. Thinkstock October 6, 2014, 12:03 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml How to Avoid Family Feuds Over Your Inheritance http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-10/how-avoid-family-feuds-over-your-inheritance Estate battles result in lost inheritances for most families, a new study shows. How to make sure your family isn't one of them.  Glenn Ruffenach Thinkstock October 6, 2014, 10:53 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml Social Security's Trickiest Claiming Rule http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-10/social-securitys-trickiest-claiming-rule Here's how Social Security's Family Maximum Benefit ceiling works and how to get around this rule. Philip Moeller Thinkstock October 3, 2014, 11:17 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml What a Second Marriage Could Cost You http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-10/what-second-marriage-could-cost-you Before tying the knot again, you may want to consider these four financial implications. Michael Smith Thinkstock October 1, 2014, 11:37 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml Retirement Planning: Men Can Learn From Women http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-10/retirement-planning-what-men-can-learn-women Walter Updegrave, of RealDealRetirement.com, shows the ways women do a better job than men preparing for their financial futures and why men should emulate them. Walter Updegrave Thinkstock October 1, 2014, 10:20 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml Your Pet and Your Estate: No Joke http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/lessons-pet-owners-bacall-and-rivers Joan Rivers and Lauren Bacall left money for their beloved pooches. If you own a pet, you should make plans, too. Thinkstock September 29, 2014, 8:34 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml 8 Medical Bill Errors You Need to Watch For http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-09/8-medical-bill-errors-you-need-watch Mistakes on hospital and doctor bills are all too common. Here's how to prevent paying higher health costs than you actually owe. Andrew Fitch Thinkstock September 29, 2014, 8:20 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml When Comparison Shopping Is Worth Your Time http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-09/when-comparison-shopping-worth-your-time Insurance.com ranked five big-ticket items for how much each can save you per minute of comparison shopping. Donna Freedman Thinkstock September 29, 2014, 8:09 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml 9 Steps to a Successful Retirement Plan http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-09/9-steps-successful-retirement-plan Retirement expert Philip Moeller shares his strategy to meet your financial goals and have a fulfulling life in retirement. Philip Moeller Thinkstock September 26, 2014, 7:49 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml Is Your 401(k) Plan Too Stock Heavy? http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-09/your-401k-plan-too-stock-heavy Financial adviser Michelle Brennan Hall says your age should be just one factor in asset allocation and that many pre-retirees and retirees should continue owning stock. Michelle Brennan Hall Thinkstock September 24, 2014, 2:17 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml The No. 1 Flaw in America's Biggest 401(k) Plans http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-09/no-1-flaw-americas-biggest-401k-plans Retirement analyst Paull Merriman studied the 100 biggest 401(k) plans and found that the majority are lacking one important thing. Paul Merriman Thinkstock September 24, 2014, 10:38 am