Next Avenue - Money & Security - Most Recent An RSS feed of the Money & Security channel for Next Avenue. http://www.nextavenue.org/ en http://www.nextavenue.org/sites/all/themes/nextavenue/images/rss-na-logo.png http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml What to Do When the Stock Market Crashes http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-07/what-do-when-stock-market-crashes The answer, says this expert, depends on whether you're 10 or more years from retirement or not. William Cowie Thinkstock July 23, 2014, 8:35 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml 5 Must-Know Retirement Savings Concepts http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-07/5-must-know-retirement-savings-concepts Understanding these five concepts will help you grow your retirement investments. Robert Powell Thinkstock July 22, 2014, 4:02 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml Help for Older Americans With Money Struggles http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/help-older-americans-money-struggles The free EconomicCheckUp site, from the National Council on Aging, has saved users thousands of dollars. From benefitscheckup.org July 22, 2014, 8:39 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml Why Boomers Are a Boon to the U.S. Economy http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-07/why-boomers-are-boon-us-economy Lincoln Caplan says the widely-used "dependency ratio" is inaccurate and that other measures are better gauges of demographics and aging in America. Lincoln Caplan Thinkstock July 22, 2014, 8:37 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml Medicare Eases Rule for Hospice Patients http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-07/medicare-eases-rule-hospice-patients Medicare just changed its rules in a way that will let hospice patients get coverage for some medications more quickly and efficiently. Bob Rosenblatt Thinkstock July 21, 2014, 8:37 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml How to Filter the Financial Noise in Retirement http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-07/how-filter-financial-noise-retirement Financial adviser Ron Kelemen, author of The Confident Retirement Journey, offers 10 ways to avoid making bad investing moves due to what you hear and read in the media. Ron Kelemen Thinkstock July 21, 2014, 8:32 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml Sizing Up a Continuing Care Retirement Community http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/sizing-continuing-care-retirement-community How to find a fun and financially sound continuing care retirement community. July 18, 2014, 11:13 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml Best and Worst Customer Service in America http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/best-and-worst-customer-service Here are the results of the Temkin customer-service rankings along with four tips on how to get better treatment. Caroline Mayer Thinkstock July 18, 2014, 9:51 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml 2 New Reverse Mortgage Rules for Couples http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/2-new-reverse-mortgage-rules-couples The new HUD rules will prevent some spouses whose names aren't on the loans from facing foreclosure but couples could now see smaller loan proceeds, too. Thinkstock July 17, 2014, 8:30 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml 3 Essential Tips to Switch to a Second Career http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-07/3-essential-tips-switch-second-career This nurse started a yoga studio in her 50s and has three tips for midlife entrepreneur wannabes. Chris Farrell Photo courtesy Liz Campbell Former nurse, now yoga studio owner Liz Campbell July 16, 2014, 8:36 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml Why New Zealand's Retirement System Works So Well http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-07/whats-so-great-about-new-zealands-retirement-system Its KiwiSaver program has drawn more than three times as many people as expected and has some features worth emulating. Richard Harris Thinkstock July 16, 2014, 8:33 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml How to Invest Like a Rich Person http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-07/how-invest-rich-person The divide between rich and poor investors is deep and has a lot to do with whether you're an optimist or a pessimist. Here's how to invest like an optimistic rich investor. Paul Merriman Thinkstock July 16, 2014, 8:30 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml Women and Money Management: A Sad Story http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/women-and-money-management-sad-story The new Prudential survey about women and money made personal-finance writer Kerry Hannon want to bang her head on her desk. Kerry Hannon Thinkstock July 15, 2014, 9:23 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml The 10 Best Urban Places to Retire in America http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-07/10-best-urban-places-retire-america This NerdWallet.com survey rated the 75 biggest cities on the presence of retirees, affordability, weather and walkability. Sreekar Jasthi Thinkstock July 15, 2014, 9:22 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml As Savers, the Boomers' Kids Are All Right http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/savers-boomers-kids-are-all-right A Transamerica survey says Millennials have started saving for retirement early and well. The catch is: they need to have jobs with 401(k) plans. iStock July 14, 2014, 8:55 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml The 4 Biggest 401(k) Mistakes People Make http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-07/4-biggest-401k-mistakes-people-make These goofs can mean the difference between having a great retirement and a financially-shaky one. Wayne Connors Thinkstock July 10, 2014, 7:57 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml Why Single Women Should Relocate to Mexico http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-07/why-single-women-should-relocate-mexico Kerry Baker is in the process of doing it and says Mexico is a great, affordable place to plan your next act. Kerry Baker Photo courtesy Kerry Baker The view from Kerry Baker's Mexican apartment July 10, 2014, 7:52 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml 27 Ways to Trick Yourself Into Saving Money http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-07/27-ways-trick-yourself-saving-money Most of these money-saving tactics don’t hurt a bit. Some might even make you healthier. Donna Freedman July 9, 2014, 10:07 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml 5 Steps to Combat and Prevent Elder Abuse http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/5-steps-combat-and-prevent-elder-abuse A new federal report offers recommendations to curb this massive problem affecting 5 million Americans per year. Thinkstock July 9, 2014, 2:41 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml The New Generation Gap Is All About Money http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/new-generation-gap-all-about-money A new Fidelity Investments survey finds many parents aren't talking about their finances and futures with their grown kids, leading to confusion and different expectations. Thinkstock July 8, 2014, 1:56 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml 4 Ways to Keep Your Parents (And You) Safe http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/4-ways-keep-your-parents-and-you-safe The U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission has a new focus on people 65 and older and here are ways to prevent home accidents where they're at particular risk. Caroline Mayer Thinkstock July 6, 2014, 10:17 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml The 2 Keys to a Successful Midlife Career Transition http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-07/2-keys-successful-midlife-career-transition If you start talking to people with jobs you might like and begin living frugally, you'll make the transition easier and more enjoyable. Chris Farrell Thinkstock July 3, 2014, 9:07 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml New Rules to Help Avoid Outliving Your Money http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/new-rules-may-help-you-outlive-your-money The Treasury Department's rules could make employers more willing to offer employees with 401(k) plans longevity annuities, sometimes called longevity insurance or deferred-income annuities. Thinkstock July 2, 2014, 10:07 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml The Big Money Mistake Divorcing Women Make http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/big-money-mistake-divorcing-women-make Here are six tips to get the retirement plan funds you deserve in a settlement. Kerry Hannon Thinkstock June 30, 2014, 9:15 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/money-and-security-rss.xml 4 Ways to Jumpstart Your Retirement Savings http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-06/4-ways-jumpstart-your-retirement-savings Struggling to catch up? Here’s how to get your retirement nest egg back on track. Elizabeth O'Brien Thinkstock June 27, 2014, 4:02 pm