Next Avenue - Work & Purpose - Most Recent An RSS feed of the Work & Purpose channel for Next Avenue. http://www.nextavenue.org/ en http://www.nextavenue.org/sites/all/themes/nextavenue/images/rss-na-logo.png http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/work-and-purpose-rss.xml Alternative Paths to an Encore Career http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/alternative-paths-encore-career You don't have to start a nonprofit to launch an encore career. To begin doing good work on a smaller scale, check out these resources. Nancy Collamer Thinkstock November 17, 2014, 7:57 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/work-and-purpose-rss.xml How to Love Your Job Even If You Don't Like It http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/how-love-your-job-even-if-you-dont-it In this sneak preview of her forthcoming book, author Kerry Hannon offers 10 easy ways to do it. Kerry Hannon Thinkstock November 14, 2014, 8:35 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/work-and-purpose-rss.xml How I Turned A Love of Guitars Into a Second Career http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-11/how-i-turned-love-guitars-second-career Former film and video editor Charles Gelber reinvented himself as a vintage guitar expert and, for his second career, opened OK Guitars out of an old train car in Kent, Conn. Here's how he did it.  Charles Gelber Photo courtesy of OK Guitars November 13, 2014, 12:47 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/work-and-purpose-rss.xml The Peace Corps Wants You, Boomers! http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/peace-corps-wants-you-boomers The Peace Corps is actively seeking 50+ volunteers because it prizes their skills and experience. Applying has become much easier and you can now say where you want to go and what you want to do. Photo from flickr.com/peacecorps Peace Corps Director Carrie Hessler-Radelet November 13, 2014, 8:24 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/work-and-purpose-rss.xml Job Search: 5 Ways to Turn Your Age Into an Asset http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-11/job-search-5-ways-turn-your-age-asset Recruiter Jeff Lipschultz tells older job applicants how to convince hiring managers that their years of experience is a plus, not a minus. Jeff Lipschultz Thinkstock November 12, 2014, 11:01 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/work-and-purpose-rss.xml What to Do Before You Switch Jobs http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-11/what-do-you-switch-jobs Are you looking for a career change? Before leaving one job for another, take these five steps.  Sital S. Patel Thinkstock November 10, 2014, 11:29 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/work-and-purpose-rss.xml The Joy of Pursuing a Personal Quest http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-11/joy-pursuing-personal-quest In his new book, 'The Happiness of Pursuit,' Chris Guillebeau describes his personal quest to visit every country in the world. Here, writer Josh Kaufman offers his 10 takeaways from the book. Josh Kaufman Thinkstock November 7, 2014, 9:21 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/work-and-purpose-rss.xml Wanted: Aging-in-Place Entrepreneurs and Staffers http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-11/wanted-aging-place-entrepreneurs-and-staffers Most people want to age in place, which means opportunities for small businesses to help them. Here's where the opportunities are for would-be entrepreneurs and employees and how to find them. Rosanna Fay Thinkstock November 5, 2014, 6:16 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/work-and-purpose-rss.xml The 4 Secrets of an Attention-Getting Resume http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-11/4-secrets-attention-getting-resume Resume adviser Joe Konop says following his four rules will increase the chances of getting yours read. Joe Konop Thinkstock November 5, 2014, 8:45 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/work-and-purpose-rss.xml Firms to Their Pre-retirees: Lots O' Luck http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/firms-their-pre-retirees-lots-o-luck A new survey by The Conference Board and Encore.org finds that very few employers are helping their older workers transition to their next act. But Intel, IBM, HP, Procter & Gamble, Boeing and Eli Lilly are exceptions. Thinkstock November 3, 2014, 4:54 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/work-and-purpose-rss.xml Rejected For a Job at The Container Store http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-11/rejected-job-container-store Bestselling author Deborah Copaken was stunned by the news, which came after she lost her job, was diagnosed with breast cancer and separated from her husband. Here's what happened next. Deborah Copaken Thinkstock November 3, 2014, 4:52 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/work-and-purpose-rss.xml 5 Tips for Declaring Your Work Independence http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/5-tips-declaring-your-work-independence The annual State of Independence Report is out and career coach Nancy Collamer offers five takeaways for people considering going out on their own. Nancy Collamer Thinkstock November 3, 2014, 8:46 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/work-and-purpose-rss.xml How to Balance Work and Caregiving Responsibilities http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-10/how-balance-work-and-caregiving-responsibilities Four in 10 working Americans have provided care to aging loved ones in the last five years. While the toll can be severe, there are resources to help. Kathy Kelly Thinkstock October 27, 2014, 11:44 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/work-and-purpose-rss.xml Encore Career Movement Confronts 3 Big Questions http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/encore-career-movement-confronts-3-big-questions At the Encore.org conference, Encore 2014, leaders of the movement to foster second acts for the greater good discussed how to get bigger and stronger. Thinkstock October 27, 2014, 9:57 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/work-and-purpose-rss.xml Purpose Prize Winner Helps the Blind Get Hired http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/purpose-prize-winner-helps-blind-get-hired Kate Williams, 72, became blind in midlife and just won the prestigious award for her work providing effective career counseling to others with her disability. Kerry Hannon Photos courtesy Kate Williams October 27, 2014, 9:47 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/work-and-purpose-rss.xml Splitting Work and Fun in Retirement http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-10/splitting-work-and-fun-retirement Peter Millon and John Kerr split their retirement days between part-time work they love and pursuing their passions in the off-hours. Chris Farrell Photo courtesy of Peter Millon Peter Millon, skiing October 27, 2014, 9:44 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/work-and-purpose-rss.xml My Encore Career: What I Did Right and Wrong http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-10/launching-my-encore-career-what-i-did-right-and-wrong Judy Nelson, a former nonprofit CEO, became an executive coach in her encore career. Here, she talks about the smart decisions she made during the transition and the mistakes she regrets. Judy Nelson Thinkstock October 27, 2014, 9:40 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/work-and-purpose-rss.xml 5 Ways to Infuse Meaning in Your Second Act http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-10/5-ways-infuse-meaning-your-second-act Bruce Rosenstein, author of 'Create Your Future the Peter Drucker Way' explains why you can learn from Drucker, Bonnie Raitt, Alvin Toffler and others. Bruce Rosenstein Thinkstock October 27, 2014, 7:57 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/work-and-purpose-rss.xml Reverse Mentors: How Women Can Help Each Other http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/reverse-mentors-how-women-can-help-each-other Kerry Hannon talks with Ipsos Girls' Lounge founder Shelley Zalis about how older women can find matches with younger women so both of their careers will benefit. Kerry Hannon Thinkstock October 23, 2014, 7:52 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/work-and-purpose-rss.xml Read This Before You Cut and Paste a Cover Letter http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-10/read-you-cut-and-paste-cover-letter Your cover letter is key when applying for a job. Avoid these six common mistakes that could land yours in an employer's trash bin. Jill Jacinto Thinkstock October 22, 2014, 1:38 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/work-and-purpose-rss.xml Why Learning a Language Could Save Your Career http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-10/why-learning-language-could-save-your-career Being fluent in another language can help you stand out at work or find a job. Here are the in-demand languages and how to learn a foreign tongue in midlife. Clair Jones Thinkstock October 21, 2014, 2:52 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/work-and-purpose-rss.xml Purpose Prize Winners: Doing Great Work After 60 http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/purpose-prize-winners-doing-great-work-after-60 These six men and women have been honored by Encore.org for leading extraordinary encore careers and are receiving prizes of $25,000 and $100,000. Photo and videos courtesy of Encore.org David Campbell, 2014 Winner of The Purpose Prize for Future Promise, sponsored by Symetra October 21, 2014, 1:46 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/work-and-purpose-rss.xml When You Feel Like the Oldest Person at Work http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-10/when-you-feel-oldest-person-work An intergenerational workplace expert says you should get over it and offers tips for boomers whose colleagues are members of Gen X and Gen Y. Phyllis Weiss Haserot Thinkstock October 20, 2014, 9:55 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/work-and-purpose-rss.xml 8 Great Apps to Help You Land a Job http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/8-great-apps-help-you-land-job These free tools for your smartphone let you network, search postings and stay organized. Nancy Collamer Thinkstock October 17, 2014, 11:49 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/work-and-purpose-rss.xml 5 Secrets to Transform Your Experience of Aging http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-10/5-secrets-transform-your-experience-aging Ed Merck, author of Sailing the Mystery, says his five secrets will help you shift from a sense of loss as you grow older to a sense of gain. Ed Merck Thinkstock October 16, 2014, 5:50 pm