Next Avenue - Work & Purpose - Most Recent An RSS feed of the Work & Purpose channel for Next Avenue. http://www.nextavenue.org/ en http://www.nextavenue.org/sites/all/themes/nextavenue/images/rss-na-logo.png http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/work-and-purpose-rss.xml How to Balance Work and Caregiving Responsibilities http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-10/how-balance-work-and-caregiving-responsibilities Four in 10 working Americans have provided care to aging loved ones in the last five years. While the toll can be severe, there are resources to help. Kathy Kelly Thinkstock October 27, 2014, 11:44 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/work-and-purpose-rss.xml Encore Career Movement Confronts 3 Big Questions http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/encore-career-movement-confronts-3-big-questions At the Encore.org conference, Encore 2014, leaders of the movement to foster second acts for the greater good discussed how to get bigger and stronger. Thinkstock October 27, 2014, 9:57 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/work-and-purpose-rss.xml Purpose Prize Winner Helps the Blind Get Hired http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/purpose-prize-winner-helps-blind-get-hired Kate Williams, 72, became blind in midlife and just won the prestigious award for her work providing effective career counseling to others with her disability. Kerry Hannon Photos courtesy Kate Williams October 27, 2014, 9:47 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/work-and-purpose-rss.xml Splitting Work and Fun in Retirement http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-10/splitting-work-and-fun-retirement Peter Millon and John Kerr split their retirement days between part-time work they love and pursuing their passions in the off-hours. Chris Farrell Photo courtesy of Peter Millon Peter Millon, skiing October 27, 2014, 9:44 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/work-and-purpose-rss.xml My Encore Career: What I Did Right and Wrong http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-10/launching-my-encore-career-what-i-did-right-and-wrong Judy Nelson, a former nonprofit CEO, became an executive coach in her encore career. Here, she talks about the smart decisions she made during the transition and the mistakes she regrets. Judy Nelson Thinkstock October 27, 2014, 9:40 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/work-and-purpose-rss.xml 5 Ways to Infuse Meaning in Your Second Act http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-10/5-ways-infuse-meaning-your-second-act Bruce Rosenstein, author of 'Create Your Future the Peter Drucker Way' explains why you can learn from Drucker, Bonnie Raitt, Alvin Toffler and others. Bruce Rosenstein Thinkstock October 27, 2014, 7:57 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/work-and-purpose-rss.xml Reverse Mentors: How Women Can Help Each Other http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/reverse-mentors-how-women-can-help-each-other Kerry Hannon talks with Ipsos Girls' Lounge founder Shelley Zalis about how older women can find matches with younger women so both of their careers will benefit. Kerry Hannon Thinkstock October 23, 2014, 7:52 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/work-and-purpose-rss.xml Read This Before You Cut and Paste a Cover Letter http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-10/read-you-cut-and-paste-cover-letter Your cover letter is key when applying for a job. Avoid these six common mistakes that could land yours in an employer's trash bin. Jill Jacinto Thinkstock October 22, 2014, 1:38 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/work-and-purpose-rss.xml Why Learning a Language Could Save Your Career http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-10/why-learning-language-could-save-your-career Being fluent in another language can help you stand out at work or find a job. Here are the in-demand languages and how to learn a foreign tongue in midlife. Clair Jones Thinkstock October 21, 2014, 2:52 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/work-and-purpose-rss.xml Purpose Prize Winners: Doing Great Work After 60 http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/purpose-prize-winners-doing-great-work-after-60 These six men and women have been honored by Encore.org for leading extraordinary encore careers and are receiving prizes of $25,000 and $100,000. Photo and videos courtesy of Encore.org David Campbell, 2014 Winner of The Purpose Prize for Future Promise, sponsored by Symetra October 21, 2014, 1:46 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/work-and-purpose-rss.xml When You Feel Like the Oldest Person at Work http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-10/when-you-feel-oldest-person-work An intergenerational workplace expert says you should get over it and offers tips for boomers whose colleagues are members of Gen X and Gen Y. Phyllis Weiss Haserot Thinkstock October 20, 2014, 9:55 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/work-and-purpose-rss.xml 8 Great Apps to Help You Land a Job http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/8-great-apps-help-you-land-job These free tools for your smartphone let you network, search postings and stay organized. Nancy Collamer Thinkstock October 17, 2014, 11:49 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/work-and-purpose-rss.xml 5 Secrets to Transform Your Experience of Aging http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-10/5-secrets-transform-your-experience-aging Ed Merck, author of Sailing the Mystery, says his five secrets will help you shift from a sense of loss as you grow older to a sense of gain. Ed Merck Thinkstock October 16, 2014, 5:50 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/work-and-purpose-rss.xml To Find an Encore Career Job, Try a Matchmaker http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-10/find-encore-career-job-try-matchmaker Sign up with a machmaking enterprise and you could be paired up with a company or nonprofit needing people over 50 to do fulfilling, paid part-time work. Chris Farrell Thinkstock October 15, 2014, 9:24 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/work-and-purpose-rss.xml The Worst Resume Mistakes You Can Make http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-10/worst-resume-mistakes-you-can-make For a no-fail resume, focus on your target audience.  Miriam Salpeter Thinkstock October 10, 2014, 2:28 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/work-and-purpose-rss.xml Overcome 3 Obstacles to Start a Business After 50 http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-10/overcome-3-obstacles-start-business-after-50 An expert's practical advice on how to conquer your fears of launching a business in midlife. Linda Singer Thinkstock October 3, 2014, 11:19 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/work-and-purpose-rss.xml 8 Rules for Getting Hired Today http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/8-rules-getting-hired-today At the iRelaunch conference, top recruiters offered this timely advice for job seekers. Nancy Collamer Thinkstock October 3, 2014, 11:14 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/work-and-purpose-rss.xml Second Career? They're on Their Third and Fourth http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-09/second-career-theyre-their-third-and-fourth The author of 'Unretirement' profiles two women who have had multiple careers and the smart steps they took along the way. Chris Farrell Thinkstock September 30, 2014, 5:46 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/work-and-purpose-rss.xml Why Work/Life Balance Is Folly http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/why-worklife-balance-folly Wharton professor Stewart Friedman, author of the new book 'Leading the Life You Want,' explains how to achieve success at work without shortchanging those you care about most. Thinkstock September 30, 2014, 5:41 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/work-and-purpose-rss.xml 6 Hiring Managers Spill Their Secrets http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-09/6-hiring-managers-spill-their-secrets What do hiring managers look for? Here's what they say it takes to get the job. Jill Jacinto Thinkstock September 30, 2014, 5:02 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/work-and-purpose-rss.xml Taking a Gap Year at 50: One Couple's Experience http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-09/taking-gap-year-50-one-couples-experience Lori Osterberg and her husband decided it was time for a new adventure, so they've downsized, relocated and begun taking the plunge. Lori Osterberg Thinkstock September 29, 2014, 7:58 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/work-and-purpose-rss.xml How I Found My Encore Career (and Why You Should) http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-09/how-i-found-my-encore-career-and-why-you-should Former nonprofit CEO Judy Nelson explains how she left punishing commutes and stress for a fulfulling career as an executive coach. Judy Nelson Thinkstock September 26, 2014, 7:33 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/work-and-purpose-rss.xml How a Job Club Can Help You Find Work http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-09/how-job-club-can-help-you-find-work Have you considered joining a job club to find work? Find out how one might help in your search. Susan P. Joyce Thinkstock September 24, 2014, 11:46 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/work-and-purpose-rss.xml Teen Girls Starting an Assisted Living Business http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-09/teen-girls-dream-starting-assisted-living-business At the Entrepreneurs in Training program of Barnard College's Athena Center for Leadership Studies, three young women learned business smarts and improv skills. Elizabeth Isele Thinkstock September 22, 2014, 2:15 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/work-and-purpose-rss.xml These 50+ Folks Hope For a One-Way Ticket to Mars http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-09/these-50-folks-are-hoping-ticket-mars These older men and women explain why they've applied to the Mars One program and hope to be chosen to colonize the Red Planet in 2024. Stephen L. Antczak Thinkstock September 22, 2014, 2:07 pm