Next Avenue - Work & Purpose - Most Recent An RSS feed of the Work & Purpose channel for Next Avenue. http://www.nextavenue.org/ en http://www.nextavenue.org/sites/all/themes/nextavenue/images/rss-na-logo.png http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/work-and-purpose-rss.xml When You Feel Like the Oldest Person at Work http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-10/when-you-feel-oldest-person-work An intergenerational workplace expert says you should get over it and offers tips for boomers whose colleagues are members of Gen X and Gen Y. Phyllis Weiss Haserot Thinkstock October 20, 2014, 9:55 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/work-and-purpose-rss.xml 8 Great Apps to Help You Land a Job http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/8-great-apps-help-you-land-job These free tools for your smartphone let you network, search postings and stay organized. Nancy Collamer Thinkstock October 17, 2014, 11:49 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/work-and-purpose-rss.xml 5 Secrets to Transform Your Experience of Aging http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-10/5-secrets-transform-your-experience-aging Ed Merck, author of Sailing the Mystery, says his five secrets will help you shift from a sense of loss as you grow older to a sense of gain. Ed Merck Thinkstock October 16, 2014, 5:50 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/work-and-purpose-rss.xml To Find an Encore Career Job, Try a Matchmaker http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-10/find-encore-career-job-try-matchmaker Sign up with a machmaking enterprise and you could be paired up with a company or nonprofit needing people over 50 to do fulfilling, paid part-time work. Chris Farrell Thinkstock October 15, 2014, 9:24 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/work-and-purpose-rss.xml The Worst Resume Mistakes You Can Make http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-10/worst-resume-mistakes-you-can-make For a no-fail resume, focus on your target audience.  Miriam Salpeter Thinkstock October 10, 2014, 2:28 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/work-and-purpose-rss.xml Overcome 3 Obstacles to Start a Business After 50 http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-10/overcome-3-obstacles-start-business-after-50 An expert's practical advice on how to conquer your fears of launching a business in midlife. Linda Singer Thinkstock October 3, 2014, 11:19 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/work-and-purpose-rss.xml 8 Rules for Getting Hired Today http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/8-rules-getting-hired-today At the iRelaunch conference, top recruiters offered this timely advice for job seekers. Nancy Collamer Thinkstock October 3, 2014, 11:14 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/work-and-purpose-rss.xml Second Career? They're on Their Third and Fourth http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-09/second-career-theyre-their-third-and-fourth The author of 'Unretirement' profiles two women who have had multiple careers and the smart steps they took along the way. Chris Farrell Thinkstock September 30, 2014, 5:46 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/work-and-purpose-rss.xml Why Work/Life Balance Is Folly http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/why-worklife-balance-folly Wharton professor Stewart Friedman, author of the new book 'Leading the Life You Want,' explains how to achieve success at work without shortchanging those you care about most. Thinkstock September 30, 2014, 5:41 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/work-and-purpose-rss.xml 6 Hiring Managers Spill Their Secrets http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-09/6-hiring-managers-spill-their-secrets What do hiring managers look for? Here's what they say it takes to get the job. Jill Jacinto Thinkstock September 30, 2014, 5:02 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/work-and-purpose-rss.xml Taking a Gap Year at 50: One Couple's Experience http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-09/taking-gap-year-50-one-couples-experience Lori Osterberg and her husband decided it was time for a new adventure, so they've downsized, relocated and begun taking the plunge. Lori Osterberg Thinkstock September 29, 2014, 7:58 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/work-and-purpose-rss.xml How I Found My Encore Career (and Why You Should) http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-09/how-i-found-my-encore-career-and-why-you-should Former nonprofit CEO Judy Nelson explains how she left punishing commutes and stress for a fulfulling career as an executive coach. Judy Nelson Thinkstock September 26, 2014, 7:33 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/work-and-purpose-rss.xml How a Job Club Can Help You Find Work http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-09/how-job-club-can-help-you-find-work Have you considered joining a job club to find work? Find out how one might help in your search. Susan P. Joyce Thinkstock September 24, 2014, 11:46 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/work-and-purpose-rss.xml Teen Girls Starting an Assisted Living Business http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-09/teen-girls-dream-starting-assisted-living-business At the Entrepreneurs in Training program of Barnard College's Athena Center for Leadership Studies, three young women learned business smarts and improv skills. Elizabeth Isele Thinkstock September 22, 2014, 2:15 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/work-and-purpose-rss.xml These 50+ Folks Hope For a One-Way Ticket to Mars http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-09/these-50-folks-are-hoping-ticket-mars These older men and women explain why they've applied to the Mars One program and hope to be chosen to colonize the Red Planet in 2024. Stephen L. Antczak Thinkstock September 22, 2014, 2:07 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/work-and-purpose-rss.xml Why So Many Job Postings Are So Ridiculous http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/why-so-many-job-postings-are-so-ridiculous Career coach Nancy Collamer explains why some job postings have impossible qualifications and when to apply anyway. Nancy Collamer Thinkstock September 19, 2014, 9:21 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/work-and-purpose-rss.xml 8 Job Search Tips for Unemployed Executives http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-09/8-job-search-tips-unemployed-executives This advice from Howard Seidel, a career consultant for executives at Essex Partners, can help out-of-work managers land offers. Howard Seidel Thinkstock September 19, 2014, 9:16 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/work-and-purpose-rss.xml 6 Ways to Boost Your Confidence at Work http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-09/6-ways-boost-your-confidence-work Afraid to ask for that raise or give a presentation? Take these six steps to boost your confidence. Jill Jacinto Thinkstock September 18, 2014, 10:48 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/work-and-purpose-rss.xml How to Tamp Down Your Type A Excesses at Work http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-09/how-tamp-down-your-type-excesses-work If you're a Type A at work, here's how to use your drive without driving others away. Carol Kopp Thinkstock September 12, 2014, 2:04 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/work-and-purpose-rss.xml Soldiers Are Marching Back to School http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/soldiers-are-marching-back-school Colleges and universities are developing efforts to attract post-911 veterans and help them stay in school. Here are three ideas to help vets connect on campus. Doug Bradley Thinkstock September 11, 2014, 10:21 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/work-and-purpose-rss.xml What Life Coaches Won't Tell You http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-09/10-things-life-coaches-wont-tell-you Life coaches are there to help, but are they qualified? Here's what to look for if you want to hire a life coach. Elizabeth O'Brien Thinkstock September 9, 2014, 4:25 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/work-and-purpose-rss.xml Are Women Too Timid When They Job Search? http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/are-women-too-timid-when-they-job-search Career leadership coach Tara Sophia Mohr found out why women don't apply for jobs they see and offers advice. Kerry Hannon Thinkstock September 9, 2014, 8:18 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/work-and-purpose-rss.xml Secrets of Successful Small Business Owners http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-09/secrets-successful-small-business-owners Michael Glauser, co-founder and chairman of My New Enterprise, biked cross-country to interview entrepreneurs. Here's what the older owners had in common. Michael Glauser Photo courtesy Michael Glauser September 8, 2014, 5:27 pm http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/work-and-purpose-rss.xml What Do Job Interviewers Really Look For? http://www.nextavenue.org/article/2014-09/what-do-job-interviewers-really-look Here are three ways to prepare so you will ace the interview and boost your chances of getting hired. Shelley Huber Thinkstock September 8, 2014, 9:11 am http://www.nextavenue.org/feeds/work-and-purpose-rss.xml 8 Tips for Hiring and Using a Career Coach http://www.nextavenue.org/blog/8-tips-hiring-and-using-career-coach Career coach Nancy Collamer offers the best ways to work with a pro to help your job search or to change your career direction. Nancy Collamer Thinkstock September 5, 2014, 9:01 am